A third social plan for RBC employees has been signed

Luxembourg, 1 April 2021 – The trade unions ALEBA LCGB and OGBL inform that on 31 March 2021 an agreement for a social plan for the employees of RBC Luxembourg was reached.

The unions consider this decision to start negotiations for a new social plan to be indecent vis-à-vis from  the staff, who in the current crisis situation are facing new pressure and concerns, while the last social plan signed in 2019 has not even come to an end.

RBC Luxembourg, a Canadian bank with more than 1,100 employees in Luxembourg, announced at the beginning of March 2021  its intention  to proceed with new redundancies following internal restructuring. After intense but constructive negotiations between the ALEBA, LCGB and OGBL trade unions and the management, a maximum of 241 positions will ultimately be affected by the social plan and the trade unions  managed to obtain, compared to the social plan signed in 2019, significantly improved financial and social compensation to compensate for the loss of employment of the employees concerned.

In order to safeguard the lives of the employees concerned, the unions also managed to obtain additional support measures aimed at maintaining employment. The social plan also provides for measures to enable the employees concerned to adapt their skills to the possible new needs of the financial sector, or to reorient themselves on the labour market.

While the trade unions strongly deplore this unbridled race for profit and to the detriment of RBC employees, the unions have called on management to do everything possible to ensure the sustainability of the Luxembourg site, thus guaranteeing the jobs and lives of the employees.

Press release, Thursday 1 April, 2021

Un 3e plan social pour les salariés de la RBC vient d’être signé

Luxembourg, le 1er avril 2021 – Les syndicats ALEBA, LCGB et OGBL informent qu’en date du 31 mars 2021, un accord pour un plan social a pu être trouvé pour les salariés de RBC Luxembourg.

 Les syndicats estiment cette décision d’entamer des négociations pour un nouveau plan social indécente par rapport au personnel, qui face à la situation de crise actuelle se voit confronté à une nouvelle pression et de nouvelles inquiétudes, alors que le dernier plan social signé en 2019 n’est même pas arrivé à son terme.

RBC Luxembourg, une banque canadienne, qui occupe plus de 1.100 salariés au Luxembourg, avait en effet annoncé début mars 2021, qu’elle allait procéder à de nouveaux licenciements économiques suite à des restructurations internes. Après des négociations intenses mais toutefois dans un climat constructif entre les syndicats ALEBA, LCGB et OGBL et avec la direction, un maximum de 241 postes seront en fin de compte touchés par le plan social et les syndicats ont pu obtenir, par rapport au plan social signé en 2019, des indemnités financières extralégales ainsi que sociales nettement améliorées afin de palier la perte d’emploi des salariés concernés.

Afin de garantir la sauvegarde des existences des salariés concernés, les syndicats ont également pu obtenir des mesures supplémentaires d’accompagnement visant le maintien dans l’emploi. Le plan social prévoit en outre des mesures qui permettront aux salariés concernés l’adaptation de leurs compétences aux éventuels nouveaux besoins du secteur financier ou bien encore la réorientation sur le marché du travail.

Alors que les organisations syndicales déplorent fortement cette course effrénée au profit et au détriment des salariés de RBC, les syndicats ont lancé un appel à la direction de mettre tout en œuvre afin de pérenniser le site du Luxembourg et ainsi garantir les emplois et les existences des salariés.

Communiqué de presse, jeudi 1er avril 2021