Symptomatic or positive tested employee: what process should be in place in your business?

We only consider here the professional sphere of the employee.

As a reminder, the symptoms of COVID-19 are:

In a company, if an employee presents one of these symptoms, he must inform the COVID-19 manager within his company. The COVID-19 manager must isolate him from the rest of the staff, and he needs to provide him with a surgical mask or an FFP2 mask ideally without a valve.

The COVID-19 manager must then contact the government helpline (+352 24 76 55 33) and transmit information related to the symptoms and the person’s activity in the company, such as:

– When was the employee present on site?

– With whom and under what circumstances has he been in contact with other people?

– Have the barrier gestures been respected? Distance of 2m, wearing a mask, etc.

The Health Inspectorate (Inspection sanitaire) will provide the employee with a prescription to perform the COVID-19 test. If the test result is:

– Positive: The Health Inspectorate will place the employee in isolation at home and provide a 10-day medical leave. During this period of home confinement, all contact with other people should be avoided and a surgical mask should be worn whenever in the presence of other people.

– Negative: if the employee has no symptoms, he can return to work.

The Health Inspectorate will also question the employee about his private and professional contacts to determine possible contact cases.

If it turns out that there has been high-risk contact with other employees, i.e. face-to-face contact for more than 15 minutes or unprotected physical contact, they are in quarantine at their homes and can work from home, if possible. The Health Inspectorate will provide those persons with an appropriate certificate, if necessary. These persons will have to perform a COVID-19 test on the 6th day after the last contact with the infected employee. If the test result is:

– Positive: The Health Inspectorate will place the employee in isolation at home and provide a 10-day medical leave. During this period of home confinement, all contact with other people should be avoided and a surgical mask should be worn whenever in the presence of other people.

– Negative: if the employee has no symptoms, he can return to work.

Offices must be disinfected.

For more information on isolation and quarantine:

https://covid19.public.lu/fr/sante-protection/quarantaine-isolement-traitement.html

Temporary health recommendations:

https://sante.public.lu/fr/espace-professionnel/recommandations/direction-sante/covid-19-test_david/covid-19/000-covid-191-annexes/recommandations-sanitaires-administratif.pdf

Out of respect for medical confidentiality, the identity of the symptomatic employee and even of the employee who tested positive for COVID-19 should never be disclosed by the employer or the COVID-19 manager to the rest of the staff.

ALEBA’s tips

1. Your ALEBA Safety and Health Representative must be involved in the implementation of these processes and kept informed of the health situation in the company. He/She is also at your disposal for any additional questions, or in case of doubt.

2. In general and depending on the gravity of the situation and its rapid development, ALEBA recommends that each employee scrupulously respects the rules in force in his country of residence and those implemented in his company.

3. The situation is so complicated that, for ALEBA, the common sense of everyone must, at all times, prevail, for their own safety and for that of their colleagues: therefore strictly and always respect barrier gestures and avoid any risky behaviour or situation.

Salarié symptomatique ou testé positif : quel processus doit être en place dans votre entreprise ?

Nous ne considérons ici que la sphère professionnelle du salarié.

Pour rappel, les symptômes de la COVID-19 sont :

En entreprise, si un salarié présente un de ces symptômes, il doit informer le responsable COVID-19 au sein de son entreprise. Celui-ci doit l’isoler du reste des salariés et lui fournir un masque chirurgical ou un masque FFP2 sans valve idéalement.

Le responsable COVID-19 doit ensuite contacter la helpline du gouvernement (+352 24 76 55 33) et transmettre les informations liées aux symptômes et à l’activité de la personne en entreprise, comme p.ex. :

  • Quand le salarié était-il présent sur site ?
  • Avec qui et dans quelles circonstances a-t-il été en contact avec d’autres personnes ?
  • Les gestes barrière ont-ils été respectés ? Distance de 2m, port du masque, etc.

L’Inspection sanitaire délivrera au salarié une ordonnance pour réaliser le test COVID-19. Si le résultat du test est :

  • Positif : l’Inspection sanitaire placera le salarié en isolement à la maison et fournira un arrêt médical de 10 jours. Pendant cette période de confinement à domicile, tout contact doit être évité avec d’autres personnes et un masque chirurgical doit être porté chaque fois qu’il se trouve en présence d’autres personnes.
  • Négatif : si le salarié ne présente plus de symptômes, il peut retourner travailler.

L’Inspection sanitaire questionnera également le salarié sur ses contacts privés et professionnels pour déterminer les cas contacts éventuels.

S’il s’avère qu’il y a eu des contacts à haut risque avec d’autres salariés, c-à-d un contact face-à-face pendant plus de 15 minutes ou un contact physique non protégé, ceux-ci sont placés en quarantaine à leur domicile et peuvent télétravailler, si cela est possible. L’Inspection sanitaire leur fournira un certificat d’arrêt de travail au besoin. Ces sujets devront réaliser un test COVID-19 au 6e jour après le dernier contact avec le salarié infecté. Si le résultat du test est :

  • Positif : l’inspection sanitaire placera le salarié en isolement à la maison et fournira un arrêt médical de 10 jours. Pendant cette période de confinement à domicile, tout contact doit être évité avec d’autres personnes et un masque chirurgical doit être porté chaque fois qu’il se trouve en présence d’autres personnes.
  • Négatif : si le salarié ne présente plus de symptômes, il peut retourner travailler.

Les bureaux doivent être désinfectés.

Pour en savoir plus sur l’isolement et la quarantaine :

https://covid19.public.lu/fr/sante-protection/quarantaine-isolement-traitement.html

Recommandations sanitaires temporaires :

https://sante.public.lu/fr/espace-professionnel/recommandations/direction-sante/covid-19-test_david/covid-19/000-covid-191-annexes/recommandations-sanitaires-administratif.pdf 

Par respect du secret médical, l’identité du salarié symptomatique et même du salarié testé positif au COVID-19 ne devra jamais être divulguée par l’employeur ou le responsable COVID-19 au reste du staff.

 

ALEBA’s tipps

1.     Votre Délégué(e) à la Sécurité et à la Santé ALEBA doit être associé(e) à la mise en place de ces processus, et tenu(e) au courant de la situation sanitaire dans l’entreprise. Il/Elle est également à votre disposition pour toute question complémentaire, ou en cas de doute.

2.     De manière générale, et fonction de la gravité de la situation et de son évolution rapide, l’ALEBA recommande à chaque salarié de scrupuleusement respecter les règles en vigueur dans son pays de résidence et celles de son entreprise.

3.     La situation est à ce point compliquée que, pour l’ALEBA, le bon sens de chacun doit, à tout moment, primer, pour sa propre sécurité et pour celle de ses collègues : respectez donc strictement et toujours les gestes barrière, et évitez tout comportement ou toute situation à risque.