Holiday regulations for part-time employees

In order to simplify the public holiday regulations, we recommend that the employer establishes a so-called “public holiday account” for each part-time employee. This will facilitate the calculation.

In Luxembourg, there are 11 public holidays, so in terms of hours, there are 88 hours of time off for a full-time employee. The formula for determining the public holiday account (number of hours of time off) for the part-time employees concerned is as follows:

 

88 / 40 * Y = X

 

88 = Hours of public holidays (annual)

40 = Hours of work per week (rule)

Y = weekly working hours of the respective part-time employee (34, 32, 30, 28, 24, …)

X = hours of the public holiday account (annually)

 

It is also important to determine the average value of daily working time:

 

Hours worked per week / 5 (days) = Z

 

Z = substitute or compensatory leave (in hours)

 

  • If a public holiday falls on a normal weekday on which the part-time employee works more than 4 hours: the working hours are paid normally and are deducted from the public holiday account.
  • If a public holiday falls on a weekday on which the employee works at least 4 hours: the hours worked will be remunerated and deducted from the public holiday account. In addition, this employee is entitled to substitute leave amounting to ½ Z hours. This compensatory leave must be taken within a period of 3 months from the respective public holiday. If the compensatory leave cannot be granted/taken for operational reasons, the employee concerned is entitled to the corresponding remuneration.
  • If a public holiday falls on a weekday on which the employee is not supposed to work or on a Saturday or Sunday, the employee is entitled to Z hours of compensatory leave. This compensatory leave must be taken within a period of 3 months from the respective public holiday. If the compensatory leave cannot be granted/taken for operational reasons, the concerned employee is entitled to the corresponding remuneration.

If the public holiday account is exhausted although one or the other public holiday is still to come, then there is no remuneration for this public holiday. If the public holiday account is not completely exhausted at the end of the year, the employee is either entitled to take these unused hours as compensatory leave or these hours are remunerated.

For better understanding here are some practical examples:

Example 1:

32 hours a week, 8 hours each on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday, Wednesday is free:

The holiday account for such an employee is 70.4 hours. The average daily working time is 6.4 hours.

If a public holiday falls on a Monday, Tuesday, Thursday or Friday, the employee receives his/her normal pay for these 8 hours and 8 hours are deducted from the public holiday account.

If a public holiday falls on Wednesday or Sunday: the employee is entitled to a substitute leave of 6.4 hours. This compensatory leave must be taken within a period of 3 months from the respective public holiday. If the compensatory leave cannot be granted/taken for operational reasons, the concerned employee is entitled to the corresponding remuneration.

 

Example 2:

28 hours a week, 8 hours each on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday, Friday 4 hours, Wednesday off:

The holiday account for such an employee is 61.6 hours. The average daily working time is 5.6 hours.

If a public holiday falls on a Monday, Tuesday or Thursday, the employee receives his/her normal pay for these 8 hours and 8 hours are deducted from the public holiday account.

If a public holiday falls on Wednesday or Sunday: the employee is entitled to substitute leave of 5.6 hours. This compensatory leave must be taken within a period of 3 months from the respective public holiday. If the compensatory leave cannot be granted/taken for operational reasons, the concerned employee is entitled to the corresponding pay.

If a public holiday falls on a Friday, the employee will receive his/her normal pay for these 4 hours and 4 hours will be deducted from the public holiday account. In addition, this employee is entitled to ½ Z compensatory leave, i.e. 2.8 hours. This compensatory leave must be taken within a period of 3 months from the respective public holiday. If the compensatory leave cannot be granted/taken for operational reasons, the concerned employee is entitled to the corresponding pay.

Example 3:

24 hours a week, 8 hours on Monday and Tuesday, 3 hours on Thursday (less than 4 hours) and 5 hours on Friday (more than 4 hours), Wednesday off:

The holiday account for this employee is 52.8 hours. The average daily working time is 4.8 hours.

If a public holiday falls on a Monday or Tuesday, the employee receives his/her normal pay for these 8 hours and 8 hours are deducted from the public holiday account.

If a public holiday falls on Wednesday or Sunday: the employee is entitled to substitute leave in the amount of 4.8 hours. This compensatory leave must be taken within a period of 3 months from the respective public holiday. If the compensatory leave cannot be granted/taken for operational reasons, the concerned employee is entitled to the corresponding pay.

If a public holiday falls on Friday, the employee will receive his/her normal pay for these 5 hours and 5 hours will be deducted from the public holiday account. Any working day which exceeds 4 hours is treated in the same way as an 8-hour day. There is therefore no entitlement to compensatory leave.

If a public holiday falls on a Thursday, the employee receives his/her normal pay for these 3 hours and 3 hours are also deducted from the public holiday account. In addition, this employee is entitled to ½ Z compensatory leave, i.e. 2.4 hours. This compensatory leave must be taken within a period of 3 months from the respective public holiday. If the compensatory leave cannot be granted/taken for operational reasons, the concerned employee is entitled to the corresponding pay.

However, the employer may also apply a different calculation method. There is no uniform calculation. The law only stipulates that public holiday must be prorated to part-time employees.

Réglementation des congés pour les employés à temps partiel

Afin de simplifier la réglementation relative aux jours fériés, nous recommandons à l’employeur d’établir un « compte de jours fériés » pour chaque employé à temps partiel. Cela facilitera le calcul.

Au Luxembourg, il y a 11 jours fériés, ce qui signifie qu’un employé à temps plein dispose de 88 heures de congé. La formule permettant de déterminer le compte de vacances (nombre d’heures de congé) pour les employés à temps partiel concernés est la suivante :

 

88 / 40 * Y = X

 

88 = Heures des jours fériés (annuels)

40 = Heures de travail par semaine (règle)

Y = heures de travail hebdomadaires du salarié à temps partiel concerné (34, 32, 30, 28, 24, …)

X = nombre d’heures du compte de vacances (annuel)

Il est également important de déterminer la valeur moyenne du temps de travail quotidien :

Heures travaillées par semaine / 5 (jours) = Z

Z = congé de remplacement ou compensatoire (en heures)

  • Si un jour férié tombe un jour de semaine normal pendant lequel le salarié à temps partiel travaille plus de 4 heures : les heures travaillées sont payées normalement et sont déduites du compte du jour férié.
  • Si un jour férié tombe un jour de semaine où le salarié travaille au moins 4 heures : les heures travaillées seront rémunérées et déduites du compte du jour férié. En outre, ce salarié a droit à un congé de remplacement d’une durée de ½ Z heures. Ce congé compensatoire doit être pris dans un délai de 3 mois à compter du jour férié concerné. Si le congé compensatoire ne peut être accordé/pris pour des raisons opérationnelles, le salarié concerné a droit à la rémunération correspondante.
  • Si un jour férié tombe un jour de semaine où le salarié est libre ou un samedi ou un dimanche, le salarié a droit à Z heures de congé compensatoire. Ce congé compensatoire doit être pris dans un délai de 3 mois à compter du jour férié concerné. Si le congé compensatoire ne peut être accordé/pris pour des raisons opérationnelles, le salarié concerné a droit à la rémunération correspondante.

Si le compte de jours fériés est épuisé alors que l’un ou l’autre jour férié est encore à venir, il n’y a pas de rémunération pour ce jour férié. Si le compte des jours fériés n’est pas complètement épuisé à la fin de l’année, l’employé a droit à ces heures non utilisées en tant que congé compensatoire ou ces heures sont rémunérées.

Pour clarifier le tout, voici 3 exemples :

Premier exemple :

32 heures par semaine, 8 heures chacune le lundi, mardi, jeudi et vendredi, le mercredi étant libre : Le compte de vacances d’un tel employé est de 70,4 heures. Le temps de travail quotidien moyen est de 6,4 heures.

Si un jour férié tombe un lundi, un mardi, un jeudi ou un vendredi, l’employé reçoit son salaire normal pour ces 8 heures et 8 heures sont déduites du compte du jour férié.

Si un jour férié tombe un mercredi ou un dimanche : le salarié a droit à un congé de remplacement de 6,4 heures. Ce congé compensatoire doit être pris dans un délai de 3 mois à compter du jour férié concerné. Si le congé compensatoire ne peut être accordé/pris pour des raisons opérationnelles, le salarié concerné a droit à la rémunération correspondante.

Deuxième exemple:

28 heures par semaine, 8 heures le lundi, mardi et jeudi, 4 heures le vendredi, mercredi libre : Le compte de vacances d’un tel employé est de 61,6 heures. Le temps de travail quotidien moyen est de 5,6 heures.

Si un jour férié tombe un lundi, un mardi ou un jeudi, l’employé reçoit son salaire normal pour ces 8 heures et 8 heures sont déduites du compte du jour férié.

Si un jour férié tombe un mercredi ou un dimanche : le salarié a droit à un congé de remplacement de 5,6 heures. Ce congé compensatoire doit être pris dans un délai de 3 mois à compter du jour férié concerné. Si le congé compensatoire ne peut être accordé/pris pour des raisons opérationnelles, le salarié concerné a droit à la rémunération correspondante.

Si un jour férié tombe un vendredi, l’employé recevra son salaire normal pour ces 4 heures et 4 heures seront déduites du compte de jour férié. En outre, ce salarié a droit à ½ Z de congé compensatoire, soit 2,8 heures. Ce congé compensatoire doit être pris dans un délai de 3 mois à compter du jour férié concerné. Si le congé compensatoire ne peut être accordé/pris pour des raisons opérationnelles, le salarié concerné a droit à la rémunération correspondante.

Troisième exemple :

24 heures par semaine, 8 heures le lundi et le mardi, 3 heures le jeudi (moins de 4 heures) et 5 heures le vendredi (plus de 4 heures), mercredi libre :

Le compte de vacances de cet employé est de 52,8 heures. Le temps de travail quotidien moyen est de 4,8 heures.

Si un jour férié tombe un lundi ou un mardi, l’employé reçoit son salaire normal pour ces 8 heures et 8 heures sont déduites du compte du jour férié.

Si un jour férié tombe un mercredi ou un dimanche : le salarié a droit à un congé de remplacement à hauteur de 4,8 heures. Ce congé compensatoire doit être pris dans un délai de 3 mois à compter du jour férié concerné. Si le congé compensatoire ne peut être accordé/pris pour des raisons opérationnelles, le salarié concerné a droit à la rémunération correspondante.

Si un jour férié tombe un vendredi, l’employé recevra son salaire normal pour ces 5 heures et 5 heures seront déduites du compte de jour férié. Toute journée de travail qui dépasse 4 heures est assimilée à une journée de 8 heures. Il n’y a donc pas de droit à un congé compensatoire.

Si un jour férié tombe un jeudi, l’employé reçoit son salaire normal pour ces 3 heures et 3 heures sont également déduites du compte du jour férié. En outre, ce salarié a droit à ½ Z de congé compensatoire, soit 2,4 heures. Ce congé compensatoire doit être pris dans un délai de 3 mois à compter du jour férié concerné. Si le congé compensatoire ne peut être accordé/pris pour des raisons opérationnelles, le salarié concerné a droit à la rémunération correspondante.

Toutefois, l’employeur peut également appliquer une méthode de calcul différente. Il n’y a pas de calcul uniforme. La loi stipule seulement que les jours fériés doivent être calculés au prorata pour les employés à temps partiel.