Tax reform 2017 : press release

bettelTAX REFORM: A GENERALLY ENCOURAGING REFORM, BUT STILL VAGUE AND FAR FROM BEING COMPLETE

 

ALEBA has examined the tax reform presented on 29 February by the Bettel government. While these changes are generally positive, it is clear to ALEBA that the reform is insufficiently precise, but equally, the government has avoided taking any great risks.

 

Some positive measures

ALEBA welcomes the measures that will benefit households and families, such as a more equal tax scale, tax credits adapted to income, the increase of the tax-free limit for housing savings plans and private pension plans, as well as reductions of interest rates linked to housing loans. Households on low to medium income will be particularly affected and that can only have a positive impact on their spending power. The confirmation of the abolition of the 0.5% budget balance tax is also clearly good news.

Some measures are still vague

The introduction of individual taxation for married couples is another welcome move, but ALEBA thinks there is still a lack of precision. It allows monthly taxes to be adjusted to match the real situation of each taxpayer, and, in particular, it avoids the payment of quarterly advances. However, substantial questions persist as to practical measures, such as understanding on which tax declaration will children, costs and tax-breaks will be taken into account.

Some measures far from being finished!

For ALEBA it is indispensable that tax contributions be made on the basis of equality. ALEBA regrets that the government did not go further on providing tax advantages for low income single parent families. Also, it could have gone with the grain of changes in society by having an automatic application of tax class 2 for couples in a civil partnership, as is the case for married couples! Similarly, it is a pity that a lack of political courage meant there were no thoughts to abolish, once and for all, the different tax classes to create just one. For ALEBA, greater effort could have been asked of large businesses, not least because the dividend payment season is about to begin.

Of course, ALEBA hasn’t forgotten that these changes also follow much less pleasant moves made by this government. This includes the increase in VAT and the repeated delay of salary indexation, not forgetting the temporary budget balance tax!

It was also regrettable that despite being the premier financial sector union, the Luxembourg economy’s key sector, ALEBA was, once again, neither consulted about nor associated with this reform.

(Luxembourg, 2nd March 2016)

Contacts Presse

Laurent Mertz
Secrétaire Général
47 97 27 44
laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com

Sandra Carvalho
Head of Communications and Strategy
223 228 1
sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu

Réforme fiscale 2017 : communiqué de presse

bettelREFORME FISCALE :
UNE REFORME GLOBALEMENT ENCOURAGEANTE, ENCORE FLOUE ET LOIN D’ÊTRE ABOUTIE

 

L’ALEBA a pris connaissance du contenu de la réforme fiscale présentée ce lundi par le Gouvernement Bettel. Si cette évolution fiscale semble globalement positive, il est évident pour l’ALEBA que la réforme est insuffisamment précise, mais également sans grande prise de risques de la part du Gouvernement.

Des mesures positives…

L’ALEBA salue les mesures favorables aux ménages et aux familles, telles que la mise en place d’un barème plus équitable, les crédits d’impôts adaptés aux revenus, l’augmentation du plafond cotisable de l’épargne logement et de l’abattement pour l’assurance prévoyance-vieillesse, ou encore les déductions des intérêts débiteurs liés à un prêt immobilier. Les ménages à faibles et moyens revenus seront particulièrement concernés et cela ne peut avoir qu’un impact positif sur leur pouvoir d’achat. La confirmation de la suppression de l’impôt d’équilibrage budgétaire de 0.5% est évidemment aussi une bonne nouvelle.

Des mesures encore floues…

L’introduction de l’imposition individuelle pour les couples mariés est également une mesure appréciable, mais elle reste encore bien floue aux yeux de l’ALEBA. En effet, si elle permet une imposition mensuelle ajustée à la situation réelle de chaque contribuable, et évite notamment le paiement des avances trimestrielles, des questions concrètes subsistent dans sa mise en pratique : par exemple, sur quelle déclaration fiscale inscrire les enfants, les charges et abattements du ménage ?

Des mesures loin d’être abouties !

Pour l’ALEBA, il est indispensable que la contribution fiscale soit réellement équitable. L’ALEBA regrette ainsi que le Gouvernement ne soit pas allé plus loin dans l’allègement fiscal des familles monoparentales à faibles revenus, ou, par exemple, de manière à être en ligne avec les évolutions sociétales, dans l’application automatique de la classe d’impôt 2 pour les couples pacsés, comme pour les couples mariés ! De même, il est dommage que le courage politique ait manqué pour réfléchir en profondeur, une bonne fois pour toutes, à la suppression des différentes classes d’impôt au profit d’une classe unique. Pour l’ALEBA, des efforts plus importants auraient également pu être demandés aux grandes entreprises, dans lesquelles la (très bonne saison) des dividendes va bientôt s’ouvrir…

L’ALEBA n’oublie bien entendu pas que les mesures énumérées lundi font suite à d’autres, bien moins agréables, annoncées ou mises en œuvre précédemment par le même Gouvernement, dont l’augmentation de la TVA et un énième report du saut d’index, sans oublier l’instauration de l’impôt d’équilibrage temporaire!!

Dans le contexte de cette réforme, et en tant que premier syndicat du secteur financier, secteur d’activité-clé de l’économie luxembourgeoise, l’ALEBA regrette enfin de n’avoir été une nouvelle fois ni consulté ni associé.

(Luxembourg, le 02 mars 2016)

 

Contacts Presse

Laurent Mertz
Secrétaire Général
47 97 27 44
laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com

Sandra Carvalho
Head of Communications and Strategy
223 228 1
sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu