Reform of paid leave since April 15, 2018

“Do I have to take two consecutive weeks of paid leave?”

This article comes in response to the Law of 8 April 2018, which entered into force on 15 April 2018 and amended article L.233-8 of the Luxembourg Labour Code.

In its previous form, article L.233-8 of the Labour Code stipulated that, in principle, paid leave needed to be taken in a single block, “unless the employee’s job requirements or their justified requests require it to be split”. In summary, although the idea was to require employees to take leave in a single block, it was easy for employees to split their leave freely (or for employers to object to this single block of leave). The same article specified that where leave is split, one of the fractions of leave must consist of at least 12 consecutive calendar days (ALEBA believes that this limit was applied only in the event that the leave was split at the employer’s discretion).

Since the introduction of the Law of 8 April 2018, the basic requirement to take leave in a single block has been lifted (employees do, however, still retain the right to request to take leave in a single block). Furthermore, the Law now provides for a minimum block of two calendar weeks instead of 12 consecutive days. ALEBA believes that the limit of two calendar weeks theoretically only applies when the employer imposes split leave, it being understood that it is still possible to deviate from the Law in a way that is more favourable to the employee.

It should be noted, however, that employees in the banking sector (and all companies subject to CSSF Circular 12/552 of 11 December 2012 concerning central administration, internal governance and risk management applicable to banks, investment firms and professionals conducting lending operations) are required to take 10 consecutive days of leave per year during which they are prohibited from undertaking any work. This rule was established in order to better detect any instances of fraud.

By Matthias Lindauer, Legal Advisor

Réforme des congés payés depuis le 15 avril 2018

« Suis-je obligé(e) de poser 2 semaines de congés payés consécutives ? »

Cet article fait suite à la loi du 8 avril 2018, entrée en vigueur au 15 avril 2018 et qui a modifié l’article L.233-8 du Code du travail. 

L’ancien article L.233-8 du Code du travail prévoyait que le congé payé devait en principe être pris en un seul bloc, « à moins que les besoins du service ou les désirs justifiés du salarié n’exigent un fractionnement ». En résumé, si le principe était de devoir poser ses congés en un seul bloc, il était loisible au salarié de fractionner librement son congé (ou à l’employeur de s’opposer à ce bloc unique). Le même article précisait qu’en cas de fractionnement, une de ces fractions devait être d’au moins 12 jours calendrier continus (selon l’ALEBA cette limite s’imposait au seul cas où le fractionnement était à l’initiative de l’employeur).

Depuis la loi du 8 avril 2018, l’obligation de principe de poser ses congés en un seul bloc est supprimée (cela reste toutefois un droit pour le salarié de demander à n’avoir ses congés qu’en un seul bloc). En outre, la loi prévoit maintenant un bloc minimum de deux semaines calendaires au lieu de 12 jours continus. Selon l’ALEBA, cette limite de deux semaines calendaires ne s’applique en principe que si l’employeur impose un fractionnement, étant entendu qu’on peut toujours déroger à la loi de manière plus favorable pour le salarié.

Attention toutefois, les salariés du secteur bancaire (et de toutes les entreprises soumises à la circulaire CSSF 12/552 du 11 décembre 2012 concernant l’administration centrale, la gouvernance interne et la gestion des risques des établissements de crédits, des entreprises d’investissement et des professionnels effectuant des opérations de prêt) ont l’obligation de prendre 10 jours de congés consécutifs par an avec interdiction de poser un acte de travail. Cette règle a été instaurée afin de détecter plus facilement d’éventuelles fraudes.

Rédigé par Matthias Lindauer, Legal Advisor