RBC ITS: Announcement of a 3rd social plan while the last one hasn’t even come to an end!

The ALEBA, LCGB and OGBL trade unions have just learned that RBC Investor & Treasury Services will be terminating 243 jobs. The unions consider indecent this decision to start negotiations for a new redundancy plan in relation to the staff, who, exposed to the current crisis, are facing new pressure and new concerns, while the last redundancy plan signed in 2019 has not even come to an end.

With the announcement of this 3rd social plan since the full takeover of RBC ITS by the Royal Bank of Canada in 2012, RBC holds the macabre title of leader of successive social plans. Indeed, a 1st social plan signed in 2013 concerned 210 jobs and a 2nd social plan signed in 2019 concerning 201 jobs is still in progress. An extension has just been signed just 6 weeks ago until 30 April 2021.

While the ink on the agreement relating to  the extension of the social plan, which should prepare the future of the company which currently employs 1,100 people, is not even dry yet, the trade union organizations are worried about maintaining jobs and the future of RBC in Luxembourg. Indeed, the reasons for this new restructuring seem to be like those of 2013 and 2019 and are not linked to Covid-19, but simply to a reduction in costs in order to improve the company’s net results.

The trade unions are outraged by this frantic race for profit, to the detriment and without losing sight of the employees of RBC.

As a reminder, at the end of November 2020, the bank had decided on new cost-cutting measures in Europe including job losses mainly in Luxembourg. According to a RBC spokesman, as far as possible, job losses should be managed by natural staff cuts, redeployment and retirements. Moreover, according to the email from the managing director of the London-based RBC unit, Francis Jackson, sent to staff in November 2020, no job losses would occur before 2021.

The ALEBA, LCGB and OGBL trade unions are committed to taking all necessary steps to ensure that jobs are maintained and to defend the interests of RBC employees in future negotiations.

RBC ITS: annonce d’un 3e plan social alors que le dernier n’est même pas arrivé à terme !

Les syndicats ALEBA LCGB et OGBL viennent de prendre connaissance de la volonté de RBC Investor & Treasury Services de résilier 243 postes de travail. Les syndicats estiment cette décision de débuter des négociations pour un nouveau plan social indécente par rapport au personnel, qui face à la situation de crise actuelle se voit confronté à une nouvelle pression et de nouvelles inquiétudes, alors que le dernier plan social signé en 2019 n’est même pas arrivé à son terme.

Avec l’annonce de ce 3e plan social depuis la reprise totale de RBC ITS par la Royal Bank of Canada en 2012, RBC détient le titre de macabre leader des plan sociaux successifs. En effet, un 1er plan social signé en 2013 concernait 210 emplois et un 2e plan social signé en 2019 concernant 201 postes de travail est encore en cours. Une extension vient d’être signée il y a à peine 6 semaines jusqu’au 30 avril 2021.

Alors que l’encre de l’accord quant à l’extension du plan social, devant préparer l’avenir de l’entreprise qui occupe actuellement 1.100 salariés, n’est même pas encore sèche, les organisations syndicales s’inquiètent quant au maintien de l’emploi et quant à l’avenir de RBC au Luxembourg, En effet, les motifs de cette nouvelle restructuration semblent être similaires à ceux de 2013 et 2019 et ne sont pas liés à Covid-19, mais simplement à une réduction des coûts en vue d’améliorer les résultats nets de l’entreprise.

Les organisations syndicales sont outrées par cette course effrénée au profit, au détriment et sans égare vis-à-vis des salariés de RBC.

Pour rappel, fin novembre 2020, la banque avait décidé de nouvelles mesures de réduction des coûts en Europe comprenant des pertes d’emplois principalement au Luxembourg. Suivant un porte-parole de la RBC, dans la mesure du possible, les pertes d’emploi devraient être gérées par les baisses d’effectifs naturelles, du redéploiement et des départs en retraite. En outre, suivant le courriel du directeur général de l’unité RBC basée à Londres, Francis Jackson, envoyé au personnel au mois de novembre 2020, aucune perte d’emploi n’aurait lieu avant 2021.

Les syndicats ALEBA, LCGB et OGBL et  s’engagent à prendre toutes les dispositions nécessaires afin de garantir le maintien de l’emploi et de défendre les intérêts des salariés de RBC dans le cadre des négociations à venir.

Communiqué de presse, jeudi 4 mars 2021