RBC IS: extension of the social plan until April 30th, 2021

The Canadian bank with 1,000 employees based in Belval wanted the December 2019 redundancy plan, which still concerns 43 of the 201 employees initially impacted and which was due to expire on January 31st, 2021, to be extended due to delays in the financial institution’s restructuring plan.

 On Friday January 22nd, 2021, ALEBA agreed to the extension of the December 2019 social plan. However, during the negotiations, ALEBA has strictly forbidden that each employee who returns to work should be exempted from the notice period whilst retaining all of his or her financial, legal and extra-legal compensation.

 For the ALEBA, the extension was only possible under these conditions, thus avoiding any unfair treatment vis-à-vis from  employees dismissed in 2020, any loss of salary and any benefit, even partial, of a notice period.  “We nevertheless had to fight against the management but also against the Ogbl-Lcgb trade union, which was satisfied with a single notification on 31 January 2021 for the 43 employees, which would obviously have led to an unacceptable loss of income for the employees concerned,” explain David Billay and Jean-Louis Lannoo, Staff Representatives at RBC.

In a complicated socio-economic context, due to the pandemic, there can be no question of the rights and interests of employees of companies in the financial sector being reduced This is a very clear message to the management of companies and to employers’ organisations,” adds Roberto Mendolia, President of ALEBA.

RBC IS : prolongation du plan social jusqu’au 30 avril 2021

La banque canadienne de 1.000 salariés installée  à Belval souhaitait que le plan social de décembre 2019, qui concerne encore 43 personnes sur les 201 salariés initialement impactés et qui devait expirer le 31 janvier 2021, soit prolongé à cause de retards sur le plan de restructuration de l’établissement financier.

 L’ALEBA a marqué ce vendredi 22 janvier 2021 son accord pour la prolongation du plan social de décembre 2019.  Toutefois, durant les négociations, l’ALEBA a strictement défendu que chaque salarié qui retrouve un travail soit dispensé de prestation de préavis tout en conservant l’ensemble de ses indemnités financières, légales et extralégales.

Pour l’ALEBA la prolongation n’était en effet possible qu’à ces conditions, lesquelles évitaient tout traitement inéquitable vis-à-vis des salariés licenciés en 2020, toute perte de salaire et toute prestation, même partielle, d’un préavis.  « Nous avons néanmoins du batailler contre la Direction mais aussi contre le syndicat Ogbl-Lcgb, lequel se contentait d’une notification unique au 31 janvier 2021 pour les 43 salariés, ce qui aurait évidemment engendré une inacceptable perte de revenus pour les salariés concernés» expliquent David Billay et Jean-Louis Lannoo, Délégués du Personnel au sein de RBC.

« Dans un contexte socio-économique compliqué, en raison de la pandémie, il ne peut être question que les droits et les intérêts des salariés des entreprises du secteur financier soient diminués.  C’est un message très clair aux Directions des entreprises, et aux organisations patronales », ajoute Roberto Mendolia, Président de l’ALEBA.