When am I entitled to receive meal vouchers?

A meal voucher is a benefit in kind that is contractually granted by employers to employees. Therefore, in accordance with the law or collective banking or insurance agreements, employees are not entitled to receive meal vouchers; the employee’s employment contract alone shall stipulate the number of vouchers issued to the employee and the amount they represent.

If specific rules are not provided for in the employment contract, the general regime for benefits in kind will govern the granting of meal vouchers and, in particular, the instances in which meal vouchers are not issued. In the absence of a clear provision regarding the latter, meal vouchers are to be treated like any other benefit in kind.

In particular, under Article L. 121-6, paragraph 3, second sub-paragraph of the Labour Code, employees on sick leave are entitled to continue to receive their salary in full and the related benefits in kind (including meal vouchers), but only for the period in which sick pay is covered by the employer. The same applies for recreational leave – statutory paid leave – (Article L. 233-14 of the Labour Code) and extraordinary leave (Article L. 233-16 of the Labour Code).

Conversely, employees may not claim meal vouchers during maternity leave, parental leave or periods of sick leave covered by the CNS. The same applies during statutory notice periods not worked (Article L. 124-9, paragraph 1, second sub-paragraph of the Labour Code).

Frequently ill-informed of their obligations, some employers refuse to pay meal vouchers during all periods of absence on the basis of Article 115(21) of the Income Tax Law. In fact, this article only addresses the matter of tax exemptions for benefits in kind and does not concern payment entitlement. Yet, even the Luxembourg Court of Appeal has fallen for this misinterpretation by justifying the refusal to issue meal vouchers on the basis of this article.

Quand ai-je le droit à mes chèques-repas ?

Le chèque-repas est un avantage en nature contractuellement consenti par l’employeur au salarié. Il n’y a aucun droit au chèque-repas de par la loi ou les conventions collectives bancaire ou assurance, seul le contrat de travail du salarié précise le nombre de chèques versés au salarié et leur montant.

A défaut de prévoir des règles spécifiques dans le contrat de travail, l’attribution des chèques-repas est régie selon le régime général des avantages en nature et en particulier, les cas dans lesquels les chèques-repas ne sont pas versés. A défaut de précision sur ce dernier point, les chèques-repas sont traités comme tous les autres avantages en nature.

En particulier, en application de l’article L.121-6 (3) §2 du Code du travail, le salarié en arrêt maladie a le droit au maintien intégral de son salaire et des avantages en nature qui y sont liés (donc y compris les chèques-repas), mais uniquement pour la période où l’indemnité est à la charge de l’employeur. Idem pour les congés de récréation – c’est-à-dire les congés payés légaux – (article L.233-14 du Code du travail) et extraordinaires (article L.233-16 du Code du travail).

A l’inverse, le salarié ne peut prétendre aux chèques-repas ni pendant le congé de maternité, ni pendant le congé parental, ni pendant la période de l’arrêt de maladie indemnisée par la CNS. Il en est de même pendant le préavis de fin de contrat non-presté (article L.124-9 (1) §2 du Code de travail).

Souvent mal informés de leurs obligations, les employeurs refusent le versement des chèques-repas pendant toutes les périodes d’absence en se basant sur l’article 115 (21) de la loi sur l’impôt sur le revenu. Or, cet article ne concerne que la problématique de l’exemption fiscale de l’avantage en nature et non son droit au versement. Mais même la Cour d’appel de Luxembourg s’est laissée prendre par ce dangereux raccourci en motivant la validation du refus de verser des chèques-repas sur cet article de loi.