Why the union fee will increase

Dear Delegates,

Dear Members,

First of all, I wanted to thank you once again for your massive, unanimous, and simply outstanding, confidence during the March social elections: thanks to your contribution, ALEBA remains once again the first and undisputed Union of the financial sector, on the ground of Banks, Insurance Companies and other sectors (nearly 700 Delegates!), but also the Chamber of Employees Luxembourg in Group 4 “Financial Services”.

Thanks to you, ALEBA keeps the legitimacy, the representativeness and the power to defend, without concession and in a strictly independent way, your rights and your individual or collective interests.

This extraordinary trust, we know that you have been giving it to ALEBA, for more than 100 years, because of its investment, its expertise and its quality work, both in terms of collective agreements and business negotiations, or managing your individual records.

This quality, this expertise, however, has a price. This is the reason why the Board of Directors of ALEBA had to decide the increase of the Membership monthly contribution from 1 November 2019 to 14.95 Eur per month.

The catastrophic evolution of the number of social plans, the acceleration of economic job losses, the increase of social problems (CEDIES) or tax issues, the worrying progression of the problematic resolution of individual files, the incomprehensible radicalization of employers’ positions (refusal to grant the 26th day of leave by the ABBL and the ACA for example), but also the evolution of our staff costs and external Legal fees, or our wish to reinforce the training of Staff Delegates, today require for ALEBA to be even better armed, and therefore to strengthen its financial means.

No need to remind you that only your contributions allow ALEBA to function: it is the price of our total political independence, the very one that allows us to act without pressure and without constraint.

I have no doubt that you will understand this decision, and I also remind you that your union dues remain one of the least expensive in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

Nevertheless, if you have any questions, or proposals, my colleagues from the Executive Committee will, throughout the month of November, be at your disposal, by telephone, in your language:

– (FR) Laurent Tresch 44 99 58 89 laurent.tresch@ing.lu

– (DE/LU) Colette Weber 661 332 917 colette.weber@foyer.lu

– (EN) Roberto Mendolia 223 228-1 roberto.mendolia@aleba.lu

Sincere thanks again to all of you for your confidence.

Laurent MERTZ

General Secretary

Pourquoi la cotisation syndicale va augmenter

Chères Déléguées, chers Délégués,

Chères Membres, chers Membres,

Avant tout, je souhaitais vous remercier une fois encore pour votre confiance massive, unanime, en fait tout simplement exceptionnelle, lors des élections sociales du mois de mars dernier : grâce à vous, l’ALEBA demeure une fois encore le premier et incontestable syndicat du secteur financier, sur le terrain dans les Banques, les Compagnies d’assurance et autres secteurs (près de 700 Délégué(e)s !), mais aussi à la Chambre des Salariés Luxembourg dans le Groupe 4 « Services financiers ».

Grâce à vous l’ALEBA conserve la légitimité, la représentativité et le pouvoir de défendre, sans concession et de manière strictement indépendante, vos droits et vos intérêts, individuels ou collectifs.

Cette extraordinaire confiance, nous savons que vous l’accordez à l’ALEBA, depuis plus de 100 ans, en raison de son investissement, de son expertise et de son travail de qualité, tant au niveau des conventions collectives, que des négociations en entreprises, ou de la gestion de vos dossiers individuels.

Cette qualité, cette expertise, ont toutefois un prix. C’est la raison pour laquelle le Conseil d’Administration de l’ALEBA a dû décider l’augmentation de la cotisation syndicale à partir du 1er novembre 2019 à 14,95 Eur par mois.

L’évolution catastrophique du nombre de plans sociaux, l’accélération des suppressions économiques d’emplois, l’augmentation des problématiques sociales (CEDIES) ou fiscales, l’inquiétante progression des soucis dans la résolution des dossiers individuels, la radicalisation incompréhensible des positions patronales (refus d’octroi du 26e jour de congé par l’ABBL et l’ACA par exemple), mais aussi l’évolution de nos frais de personnel et de recours en Justice, ou notre souhait de former davantage encore les Délégués du Personnel, nécessitent aujourd’hui pour l’ALEBA d’être encore mieux armée, et donc de renforcer ses moyens financiers. 

Inutile de vous rappeler que seules vos cotisations permettent à l’ALEBA de fonctionner : c’est le prix de notre totale indépendance politique, celle-là même qui nous permet d’agir sans pression et sans contrainte.

Je n’ai donc pas de doute que vous comprendrez cette décision, et je vous rappelle aussi que votre cotisation syndicale demeure l’une des moins chères du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg. Néanmoins, si vous avez des questions, ou des propositions, mes collègues du Comité Exécutif se tiennent, durant tout le mois de novembre, à votre disposition, par téléphone, dans votre langue :

– (FR) Laurent Tresch 44 99 58 89 laurent.tresch@ing.lu

– (DE/LU) Colette Weber 661 332 917 colette.weber@foyer.lu

– (EN) Roberto Mendolia 223 228-1 roberto.mendolia@aleba.lu

Sincère merci encore à toutes et à tous pour votre confiance.

Laurent MERTZ

Secrétaire Général