Social plan signed by ALEBA at KNEIP, fears for the financial sector

At the request of the Staff Delegation, ALEBA has been present in recent weeks at Kneip to support it and negotiate a social plan with it.

The company had indeed communicated its decision to cut 70 jobs (out of 200, or 35% of the staff!), for economic reasons, in a context of outsourcing and cost cutting.

“Drawing on its experience, ALEBA has made every effort to advise the Delegation, and will have uncompromisingly defended the interests of employees throughout these negotiations, in order to obtain the maximum for the employees concerned” indicates Eddy Girardi, in charge of the ALEBA negotiations. Childcare allowance, Outplacement, Single parent allowance and Retention allowance were notably negotiated, in addition to notice and indemnities.

“The conditions are acceptable, but above all they are much better than what was on the table at the start of the negotiations. However, in this complicated period, there could be no question of redundancies not being very valued,” adds Eddy Girardi.

Roberto Mendolia reminds that it is nothing less than 342 job cuts that ALEBA had already had to negotiate during the last 12 months: “These are 342 too many job cuts, in a financial sector in Luxembourg which nevertheless continues to be well. Take the balance sheet of the banks: 768,000 million euros at the end of 2018 and 815,000 million euros at the end of 2019, i.e. 5.7% increase! Look at the fund industry, whose overall net assets go from 4.046 billion euros on 31.12.2018 to 4.718 billion euros on 31.12.2019, a double-digit increase of 14.2%! These are not union figures, these are the official figures of Statec! “

On the ALEBA side, there are fears of other social plans in the coming months, in the context of COVID-19. “From all sides we hear companies considering working differently, and, with a decrease in their income, thinking about cutting their costs. We know from experience that the first victims in this kind of situation are the employees. Let companies know, however, that in the event of economic redundancies, ALEBA will not accept anything, that it will be necessary to justify these redundancies, and that they will have to assume their social responsibility towards workers, financially”, explains President Mendolia.

 

Communiqué de presse

Luxembourg, le 8 juillet 2020.

Plan social signé par l’ALEBA chez KNEIP, craintes pour la Place financière

A la demande de la Délégation du Personnel, l’ALEBA était présente ces dernières semaines chez Kneip pour la soutenir et négocier à ses côtés un plan social.

L’entreprise avait en effet communiqué sa décision de supprimer 70 emplois (sur 200, soit 35% du personnel !), pour raison économique, dans un contexte d’outsourcing et de cost cutting.

« Forte de son expérience, l’ALEBA a mis tout en œuvre pour conseiller la Délégation, et aura défendu sans concession les intérêts des salariés tout au long de ces négociations, afin d’obtenir le maximum pour les employés concernés » indique Eddy Girardi, en charge pour l’ALEBA des négociations. Childcare allowance, Outplacement, Single parent allowance et Retention allowance ont notamment été négociés, en sus de préavis et des indemnités.

« Les conditions de départ sont acceptables, mais sont surtout nettement meilleures que ce qui était sur la table au début des négociations. Or en cette période compliquée il ne pouvait être question que des licenciements économiques ne soient pas très valablement valorisés » précise encore Eddy Girardi.

Roberto Mendolia rappelle que ce ne sont rien de moins que 342 suppressions d’emplois que l’ALEBA avait déjà dû négocier durant les 12 derniers mois : « Ce sont 342 suppressions d’emplois de trop, dans un secteur financier à Luxembourg qui continue pourtant à bien se porter. Prenez le bilan des banques : 768.000 millions d’euros à fin 2018 et 815.000 millions d’euros à fin 2019, soit 5,7% d’augmentation ! Regardez l’industrie des fonds, dont les actifs nets globaux passent quant à eux de 4.046 milliards euros au 31.12.2018 à 4.718 milliards d’euros au 31.12.2019, soit carrément une augmentation à deux chiffres de 14,2% ! Ce ne sont pas des chiffres syndicaux, ce sont les chiffres officiels, du Statec ! »

Du côté de l’ALEBA on craint d’autres plans sociaux dans les mois à venir, dans le contexte du COVID-19. « A gauche à droite on entend des entreprises envisager de travailler autrement, et, avec une diminution de leurs revenus, réfléchir à sabrer dans leurs coûts. Or on sait d’expérience que les premières victimes dans ce genre de situation, ce sont les salariés. Que les entreprises sachent toutefois qu’en cas de licenciements économiques l’ALEBA n’acceptera pas n’importe quoi, qu’il faudra justifier ces suppressions d’emplois, et qu’elles devront assumer leur responsabilité sociale vis-à-vis des travailleurs, financièrement. », explique le Président Mendolia.

 

Communiqué de presse

Luxembourg, le 8 juillet 2020.