Social plan signed at CLEARSTREAM

On Wednesday 12 December 2018, the ALEBA, OGBL and LCGB unions and the employee representatives of Clearstream Banking and Clearstream International signed a social plan that will affect 212 employees.

As announced in the German and Luxembourg press in early May 2018, the Deutsche Börse group, to which Clearstream belongs, has decided to axe several hundred jobs in the two countries.

Despite profits of EUR 1.5 billion, the group’s strategy involves funding technological change (blockchain, robotics, cloud, etc.) and cutting costs by reducing the workforce and moving activities to cheaper locations in Europe (nearshoring).

The consequences for Luxembourg are immense. One fifth of the workforce – 212 people – will ultimately be affected by these measures. Under the plan, almost half of the affected employees will be forced to leave on a date imposed by the employer between now and the end of 2021, while the other half will comprise employees who decide to leave of their own accord, mainly in the affected teams. If not enough employees volunteer to leave by the end of April 2019, the number of forcible departures will be raised to ensure that 212 employees leave by the end of 2021.

A safeguard has been set up to ensure that the plan is executed properly. The Control Board, made up of equal numbers of representatives of the employees and of management, will have the primary task of reviewing any social measures within the plan to prevent the dismissal of the employees in question.

However, if departures become unavoidable, the unions and staff representatives have negotiated acceptable social and financial support measures. In this regard, the plan includes:

  • measures to meet the needs of all generations, including older workers, who have a number of social options (contractual early retirement, part-time work, financial package that may be converted into an extended notice period, etc.);
  • several measures to delay the termination of the employment contract (or the end of the contractual relationship) for as long as possible. There are several ways people can stay on the payroll and avoid becoming unemployed too soon.
  • a way to enable individuals who wish to leave to swap places with someone facing unemployment, subject to certain conditions;
  • the option for individuals to re-enrol in the social plan if they are dismissed from their new job during their probationary period;

While ALEBA, OGBL and LCGB acknowledge that the management team has faced up to its social responsibilities, the unions remain opposed to the idea that a profitable company, whose profits are boosted by this subsidiary in particular, should countenance such a social travesty. However, our greatest concern relates to how this plan will be executed and whether it will jeopardise the stability of the business. Responsibility for this will fall on the shoulders of the employees left behind, who are already overworked as it is.

This social plan adds to the sorry record of social plans in 2018, which have now affected 445 employees.

Roberto Mendolia                                   Lena Batal                                                        Patrick Michelet

ALEBA                                                  OGBL-Financial Sector                                       LCGB-Sesf

Plan social signé chez CLEARSTREAM

Le mercredi 12 décembre 2018, les syndicats ALEBA, OGBL et LCGB et les Délégations du Personnel de Clearstream Banking et Clearstream International viennent de signer un plan social qui va impacter 212 salariés.

Comme annoncé dans la presse allemande et la presse luxembourgeoise début mai 2018, le groupe Deutsche Börse, auquel appartient Clearstream, a décidé de supprimer plusieurs centaines de postes en Allemagne et au Luxembourg.

Malgré 1,5 milliards d’Euros de bénéfice, la stratégie du groupe vise à financer le revirement technologique (blockchains, robots, clouds…) et réduire les coûts, par la suppression d’emplois et par la délocalisation d’activités vers des sites moins chers en Europe (nearshoring) !

L’impact sur le Luxembourg est énorme. Ce sont 212 personnes, soit 1/5 des salariés, qui seront finalement touchés par ces mesures. Le plan prévoit que près de la moitié des employés impactés seront forcés de partir à une date imposée par l’employeur jusque fin 2021, tandis que l’autre moitié, ce seront des employés qui décideront de partir de manière volontaire, principalement dans les équipes impactées. Si un nombre insuffisant de volontaires se manifestait pour fin avril 2019, le nombre de départs forcés sera revu à la hausse pour atteindre le chiffre de 212 départs pour fin 2021.

Un garde-fou a été mis en place afin de contrôler la bonne exécution du plan. Le « Control Board », composé paritairement de membres de la Délégation du Personnel et du Management, aura principalement la tâche de revoir toutes les mesures sociales possibles du plan pour éviter le licenciement des employés impactés.

Si toutefois le départ devient inévitable, les Syndicats et Délégués du Personnel ont négocié des mesures d’accompagnement sociales et financières acceptables. Ainsi le plan prévoit :

  • la prise en compte des besoins de toutes les générations, mais surtout des plus âgés, qui disposent de multiples moyens sociaux (préretraite conventionnelle, temps-partiel, package financier convertible en préavis étendu, etc.) ;
  • plusieurs mesures pour retarder au maximum la rupture du contrat de travail, respectivement la fin du lien contractuel. Les gens disposent de plusieurs moyens de rester dans le payroll pour ne pas avoir à être au chômage trop tôt.
  • le moyen de laisser à certaines personnes désireuses de partir de switcher avec une personne sur la sellette, sous certaines conditions ;
  • la possibilité de réintégrer le plan social, si une personne est virée dans son nouvel emploi durant la période d’essai ;
  • etc.

Bien que l’ALEBA, l’OGBL et le LCGB reconnaissent que la direction ait fait face à ses responsabilités sociales, les syndicats accusent à nouveau le fait qu’une société profitable, qui plus est via une de ses filiales les plus prolifiques, se permette un tel bain de sang social. Mais l’inquiétude la plus grande se trouve dans la propre exécution d’un tel plan, mettant à risque la stabilité du business, qui elle restera la responsabilité des employés restants déjà plus que débordés.

Ce plan social vient alourdir le triste bilan des plans sociaux en 2018 qui atteint désormais 445 salariés.

 

Roberto Mendolia                                   Lena Batal                                                         Patrick Michelet

ALEBA                                                       OGBL-Secteur Financier                               LCGB-Sesf