Social plan signed at BSI Europe S.A.

On Tuesday 7th February 2017, ALEBA, OGBL-SBA and LCGB-SESF signed a social plan at BSI Europe S.A., with the loss of 15 jobs.

BSI was acquired last year by the bank EFG, a move which led to this social plan. Through negotiation it was possible to cut the number of redundancies to 14.

Of these 14 people, two had the status of senior executive (“cadre supérieur”), so were not covered by the collective agreement. However, thanks to the efforts of the unions, it was possible to include them in the social plan, enabling them to benefit from the same conditions as all other employees.

The unions obtained beneficial conditions for the employees who will be made redundant, including payments beyond the legal minimum, extended notice periods, payments linked to individuals’ family situations, and a budget for training and outplacement that takes into account the real costs of these sessions.

As well, a “social pool” has been put in place, at the request of the unions. This pool is a financial reserve which can be used for a variety of socially beneficial ends. It would be accumulated if redundancy payments and spending for retraining are not made as foreseen. These funds could then (under certain conditions) be used to help remaining employees suffering from serious problems in their professional and private lives.

Luxembourg, 8th February 2017

Plan social signé chez BSI Europe S.A.

Ce mardi 7 février 2017, l’ALEBA, l’OGBL-SBA et le LCGB-SESF ont signé un plan social chez BSI Europe S.A., qui annonçait la suppression de 15 emplois.

Le rachat de BSI, l’année dernière, par la banque EFG, est à l’origine de ce plan social dont les négociations ont pu réduire le nombre de licenciements à 14.

Parmi ces 14 personnes, deux salariés ayant le statut de « cadre supérieur » (donc non-conventionné) ont pu intégrer le plan social et bénéficier des mêmes conditions que les salariés conventionnés, grâce aux efforts fournis par le front syndical.

Les syndicats ont pu obtenir des conditions avantageuses en faveur des salariés qui seront licenciés, telles qu’une indemnisation extra-légale, la possibilité de préavis prolongé, une indemnité liée à leur situation familiale, un budget conséquent pour formations/outplacement en adéquation avec les besoins et tarifications du marché.

En outre, un « pool social » a été mis en place sur demande des syndicats. Le « pool social » est une réserve à but social, créée à partir d’une éventuelle « non-utilisation » intégrale de l’indemnité (en raison d’un départ prématuré, p.ex.) et d’une éventuelle « non-utilisation » intégrale du budget formation/outplacement par les salariés. Le budget du « pool social » pourra (sous certaines conditions) servir à venir en aide à certains salariés en cas de difficultés sociales particulièrement graves subsistant à l’épuisement des autres mesures du plan social.

Communiqué de presse commun publié le 8 février 2017