Modification of the employment contract: possible?

Economic and personal circumstances change frequently during a career, and these can lead the employer to revise the employment contract. Often the employer will use this option to avoid redundancy.

This can have not insignificant consequences. The employer cannot make working conditions less favourable by unilaterally changing a contract. Specific procedures need to be respected. The steps for modifying an employment contract, or changing a key clause in the employment contract, are governed by article L.121-7 of the Labour Code.

  1. Modification of the employment contract by common consent

Virtually everything is possible if there is agreement between the employer and employee. Thus once an employee puts its signature to a document, he cannot easily go back on this decision. This also applies when an employment contract is being revised. If the employer would like to make a change, and this would put the employee at a disadvantage, and the employee accepts, then no action can be taken to change this after joint agreement has been reached. However, a change in a contract such as this can only happen with agreement, normally after negotiations. The employer cannot act alone to change a key clause in the employment contract.

2. Modification of a secondary condition (“clause accessoire”)

It is important to note that the employer can always modify the employment contract in the employee’s favour, or make changes on so-called “secondary conditions” (known as “clauses accessoires” in French). A secondary condition is defined as a clause that is not important for either party at the time of signing the contract, or a clause featuring a certain degree of flexibility. An example of a flexible clause is a mobility clause, or clause that features a form of words such as “can be modified according to the needs of the employer/company”. This form of words will render flexible any clause that could be considered to be essential. Thus a revision by the employer is defined as them exercising their management power. The employee must accept this change and continue to carry out their employment contract in good faith.

Thus, if any particular clause in the contract needs to be identified as important, this must be made explicit in the employment contract. For example, this could be done by stating something such as: “the present clause is to be considered to be an essential clause” or “important for the signatories”.

3. Unilateral modification of an essential clause of the employment contract in disfavour of the employee

Clauses that can be considered as essential to the employment contract include the place of employment, working times, the job title and the related role, the salary, and more.

The salary or any other part of remuneration is always judged to be an essential part of the employment contract. As for the place of employment, working times, and the job title, one must refer to the terminology used in the contract to ensure that this is not classed as a secondary condition.

Working times are, in principle, only viewed as constituting an essential clause if this change would have major repercussions on private life, such as being required to work on a Sunday, for example.

As for the place of work, if the contract contains a mobility clause then a change of work place is not always a substantial modification.

If the employer wants to change a contract, then they may be required to carry out a preliminary interview. Every employer with more than 150 employees must invite the concerned employee by registered letter to a preliminary interview. For the banking sector, this number is reduced to 100 by the collective agreement. In the insurance sector, it must always be proceeded with such a preliminary meeting.

If you need advice about matters such as this, the lawyers in our Legal Department are available to offer you support. Feel free to contact them at legal@aleba.lu

4. The procedure

The procedure to be respected by the employer varies depending on the reasons for seeking to modify the contract:

Modification du contrat de travail : possible ?

Au cours de la carrière professionnelle il y a des circonstances (économiques ou faute de l’employé) qui peuvent amener l’employeur à réviser le contrat de travail. Souvent, l’employeur recours à cette possibilité pour éviter le licenciement.

Cette adaptation peut cependant avoir des conséquences non négligeables. L’employeur ne peut donc pas modifier unilatéralement en défaveur le contrat de travail de l’employé. En effet, pour cela une procédure spécifique doit être respectée, c’est la procédure de la révision du contrat de travail ou de la modification d’une clause essentielle du contrat de travail. Cette procédure est régie par l’article L. 121-7 du Code du travail.

  1. Modification du contrat de travail d’un commun accord

De commun accord entre l’employeur et l’employé quasi tout est possible. Donc, une fois que l’employé appose sa signature sur un document, il ne pourra plus revenir en arrière ou que très difficilement. Il en est de même en cas de révision du contrat de travail. Si l’employeur envisage une modification en défaveur de l’employé et que celui-ci l’accepte, il y a alors rencontre des volontés (commun accord) et aucune action ne peut être intentée. A part donc trouver un accord sur la modification en négociant par exemple, l’employeur ne peut pas unilatéralement modifier une clause essentielle du contrat de travail

2. Modification d’une clause accessoire

Il est important de noter que l’employeur peut toujours modifier le contrat de travail en faveur de l’employé ou apporter des adaptations sur des éléments accessoires. Est considéré comme une clause accessoire du contrat de travail une clause non déterminante pour les parties lors de la signature du contrat ou une clause contenant une certaine flexibilité. Des clauses flexibles sont par exemple la clause de mobilité ou la formule selon laquelle une condition « peut être modifiée selon les besoins de l’employeur/l’entreprise ». Cette formulation rend une clause pouvant être considérée comme essentielle, flexible, de sorte que la révision par l’employeur se définit alors comme l’exercice de son pouvoir de direction. L’employé doit alors accepter ce changement et continuer d’exécuter son contrat de travail de bonne foi.

Dès lors, si une clause en particulier doit avoir un caractère déterminant, alors il faudra que cette volonté ressorte clairement du contrat de travail, notamment en exigeant par exemple que la formulation suivante soit intégrée sous la clause en question du contrat de travail « la présente clause est à considérer comme clause essentielle »ou« déterminante pour les parties. »

3. Modification unilatérale d’une clause essentielle du contrat de travail en défaveur de l’employé

Peuvent être considérés comme des clauses essentielles du contrat de travail le lieu de travail, l’horaire de travail, la fonction exercée, le salaire, … (liste non exhaustive).

Le salaire ou tout autre élément de rémunération est toujours un élément substantiel du contrat de travail. Concernant le lieu de travail, l’horaire et la fonction, il faut se référer à la terminologie du contrat de travail et s’assurer qu’il ne s’agit pas d’un élément accessoire.

L’horaire de travail n’est en principe qualifié de clause essentielle que si un changement aurait des répercussions importantes sur la vie privée, comme par exemple le fait de devoir travailler un dimanche.

Concernant le lieu de travail, si le contrat prévoit une clause de mobilité, une modification du lieu de travail n’est pas obligatoirement une modification substantielle.

En fonction du nombre de salariés employés, l’employeur doit procéder d’abord à un entretien préalable. En effet, tout employeur ayant un effectif de plus de 150 salariés doit, avant de notifier la modification du contrat de travail, convoquer le/les salarié/s à un entretien préalable par lettre recommandée. Pour les salariés du secteur bancaire, ce nombre est réduit à 100 employés par la Convention collective. Pour les salariés du secteur de l’assurance, il y a toujours l’obligation de passer par l’entretien préalable.

Si vous vous trouvez dans une telle situation, les juristes du département Legal se tiennent à votre disposition pour vous conseiller et vous soutenir dans votre démarche. Prenez contact avec eux dès que possible : legal@aleba.lu

4. La procédure

La procédure à respecter par l’employeur varie en fonction du/des motif/s de la modification du contrat :