ALEBA reviews monitoring procedures for employees on long-term sick leave

Several ALEBA members on long-term sick leave came to us claiming that they were subject to malpractice during medical checks in 2017.

Health problems cause enough stress and suffering as it is – and that’s without all the administrative hassle on top – which is why ALEBA recently got into contact with the National Health Fund (Caisse Nationale de Santé – CNS) and the Social Security Medical Inspectorate (Administration du Contrôle Médical de la Sécurité Sociale) to investigate.

Speaking for the CNS, Michel Goergen assured President Roberto Scolati and Secretary General Laurent Mertz that all of the procedures in place are designed to guarantee the equal and fair treatment of employees on sick leave.

Representing the Social Security Medical Inspectorate, which monitors employees on sick leave on behalf of the CNS, Chief Physician Gérard Holbach reassured Laurent Mertz that the same is true for his administration, adding that as health professionals, he expects the utmost professionalism and unbiased behaviour from his medical inspectors when carrying out check-ups and issuing diagnoses, without attempting to fill any quotas for the number of employees returning to work.

Roberto Scolati had this to say: “ALEBA is satisfied with the responses it has received, and has been reassured that proper procedures are in place for the checks that these two bodies are responsible for performing, both in terms of what they entail and how they are carried out.

However, ALEBA urges any employees who believe they have experienced malpractice, or who have any grievances over the way their case has been handled, to get into contact so that an individual complaint can be lodged if necessary.

Press contacts:

Laurent Mertz, Secrétaire Général (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)

L’ALEBA s’assure du contrôle correct des salariés malades longue durée

Plusieurs membres de l’ALEBA, malades longue durée, avaient, courant 2017, fait état du traitement incorrect qu’ils estimaient avoir subi dans le cadre du contrôle médical auxquels ils sont soumis.

L’ALEBA, considérant que les problèmes de santé représentaient déjà une épreuve pénible et très lourde en soi, et que des difficultés supplémentaires de types administratives ne pouvaient dès lors pas se rajouter, a donc récemment pris contact avec la Caisse Nationale de Santé (CNS) de même que l’Administration du Contrôle Médical de la Sécurité Sociale.

La Direction de la CNS, par la voix de Michel GOERGEN, a indiqué au Président Roberto SCOLATI et au Secrétaire Général Laurent MERTZ que tous les processus en place au sein de la CNS visaient un traitement équitable et juste des salariés malades.

Du côté de l’Administration du Contrôle Médical de la Sécurité Sociale, à laquelle la CNS délègue cette activité de contrôle des salariés malades, le Médecin Directeur Gérard HOLBACH a confirmé au Secrétaire Général Laurent Mertz  qu’il en était strictement de même au sein de l’administration dont il a la charge, en ajoutant qu’il attendait de ses médecins-contrôleurs, professionnels de la santé impartiaux, le plus grand professionnalisme dans le cadre des contrôles et des diagnostics médicaux qu’ils sont amenés à réaliser, et sans quelque quota de remise au travail que ce soit.

Pour Roberto Scolati : « L’ALEBA sort confortée des réponses reçues en ce qui concerne les modalités correctes, tant sur le fond que sur la forme, entourant les contrôles dont les deux administrations sont responsables.

Pour autant, l’ALEBA invite les salariés qui considéreraient être confrontés à des situations anormales, ou qui auraient des doléances en ce qui concerne le traitement de leur dossier, à prendre contact avec elle, afin d’introduire le cas échéant une plainte individuelle.

Contacts presse :

Laurent Mertz, Secrétaire Général (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)