ALEBA seeks additional 26th day of statutory leave for bank and insurance sector employees

The decision of the Government Council to introduce two additional days’ leave has been welcomed by ALEBA, the largest financial sector trade union. According to the information available, we understand that an extra public holiday on 9 May to mark Europe Day would be the first of these two days.

However, the details regarding the second day are very far from clear”, explains Laurent Mertz, Secretary General of ALEBA. The minimum statutory leave would increase from 25 days to 26 days per year, but, much to our surprise, this measure would not apply to sectors or companies that have a Collective Labour Agreement! Clearly, we cannot accept this.”

The banking and insurance sectors are covered by a collective labour agreement, but the statutory leave is 25 days, as per Article 20 of the Collective Labour Agreement for Bank Employees and Article 8 of the Collective Labour Agreement for the Insurance sector. “There is also a very clear reference to Articles L. 233-1 et seq. of the Luxembourg Labour Code relative to paid recreational leave. If this law is amended, then the Collective Labour Agreements would be amended by default. Clearly, granting the 26th day of leave can’t be discriminatory”, adds Laurent Mertz.

Additional days are included in the Collective Labour Agreements for Banks and Insurance Companies (called “rest days”), but they are:

  • historical compensation for previous fixed closure dates (Carnival Monday, Braderie Monday and 2 November) that have been replaced, upon the employers’ request, by days off in lieu that are more suited to the needs of the financial sector;
  • compensation granted by employers’ associations in exchange for keeping a 40-hour week, whereas the unions wanted a shorter working week.

ALEBA is keen to organise talks with employer groups, the ABBL and ACA, as soon as possible to confirm and introduce the 26th extra day of annual leave for bank and insurance sector employees. Discussions will also be scheduled with the Ministry of Labour if necessary.

 

Luxembourg, 18 January 2019

Press contacts:

Laurent Mertz, Secretary General (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)

L’ALEBA revendique le 26e jour de congé légal supplémentaire pour les salariés des banques et des compagnies d’assurances

L’ALEBA se réjouit de la validation par le Conseil de Gouvernement quant à l’introduction de deux jours de congés supplémentaires. Selon les informations dont il dispose, le syndicat majoritaire du Secteur financier comprend qu’un premier jour revêtirait la forme d’un jour férié supplémentaire le 9 mai, pour célébrer la Fête de l’Europe.

« En ce qui concerne le second jour, explique Laurent Mertz, Secrétaire Général de l’ALEBA, c’est beaucoup moins clair. Le congé légal minimum serait porté de 25 jours à 26 jours par année, mais cette mesure, de manière tout à fait étonnante, ne s’appliquerait pas aux secteurs ou entreprises qui disposent d’une Convention Collective de Travail (CCT) ! Evidemment, ce n’est pas acceptable ».

Et l’ALEBA de rappeler que si le secteur bancaire et celui des assurances sont en effet couverts par une convention collective, le congé légal y est pourtant de 25 jours, comme le prévoient l’Article 20 pour la CCT Banques et l’Article 8 pour la CCT Assurances. « Il y est d’ailleurs clairement fait référence aux dispositions des articles L. 233-1 et suivants du Code du Travail relatif au congé payé de récréation, et modifier la loi signifierait modifier par défaut les Conventions Collectives de Travail. Très clairement il ne peut y avoir de discrimination dans l’attribution de ce 26e jour de congé » ajoute Laurent Mertz.

L’ALEBA rappelle que des jours supplémentaires existent dans les Conventions Collectives de Travail des Banques et des Assurances (appelés « jours de repos ») mais sont :

  • d’une part une compensation historique d’anciens jours fermés fixes (Lundi de Carnaval, Lundi de Braderie et 2 novembre) abandonnés et remplacés, à la demande des employeurs, par des jours libres, formule davantage adaptée aux exigences du secteur financier ;
  • d’autre part une compensation octroyée par les associations patronales en échange du maintien d’un temps de travail de 40 heures/semaine, alors que les syndicats souhaitaient un temps de travail hebdomadaire inférieur.

L’ALEBA souhaite rencontrer rapidement les organisations patronales ABBL et ACA, afin de valider et mettre en place le 26e jour de congé supplémentaire pour les salariés des banques et des assurances. Des discussions avec le Ministère du Travail seront également planifiées si nécessaire.

 

Luxembourg, le 18 janvier 2019.

Contacts presse :

Laurent Mertz, Secrétaire Général (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)