Social dialogue in danger: ALEBA shows solidarity with national trade unions

As the greatest union in the financial sector, ALEBA wishes to show its 100% solidarity with national trade union organizations in their fight “against the employers’ boycott of the social dialogue” at the level of the CPTE.

This employers’ position is indeed not acceptable, and is completely out of step with the historical grand-ducal social model. Worse, it opens the door to the social conflicts, since the employers refuse discussion or negotiation. It is therefore natural that ALEBA supports national unions in this cause, recalling that ALEBA is also confronted, in the financial sector where she has the majority, with brutal and unilateral or even illegal employer decisions (the 26th day off which is still not granted to all the employees concerned, for example) and condemns this lack of dialogue on the part of employers.

Several times in the past, ALEBA had also proposed to join the Standing Committee on Labor and Employment (CPTE). The challenges and issues of the financial sector and the needs of its employees are often different from those of other sectors: it was therefore logical for ALEBA to be able to represent and defend them at CPTE. ALEBA therefore calls once again to integrate the tripartite, to ensure the representativeness and defense of the interests of employees of the financial sector, pillar of the Luxembourg economy.

“Unfortunately, we deplore the same tendency to deny social obligations in the financial sector by some employers’ representatives, who moreover are reluctant to hold the responsibilities and commitments negotiated by and with them! Obviously, the goal is to muzzle unions and the government. As far as we are concerned, it is out of the question to let ourselves be!”, says Roberto Mendolia, President of ALEBA.

Press release, November 8th, 2019.

Dialogue social en péril : L’ALEBA solidaire avec les syndicats nationaux

En tant que premier syndicat du secteur financier, l’ALEBA souhaite témoigner sa solidarité à 100% avec les organisations syndicales nationales dans leur lutte “contre le boycott patronal du dialogue social” au niveau du CPTE.

Ce positionnement patronnal n’est en effet pas acceptable, et est en complet décalage avec le modèle social grand-ducal historique. Pire, il ouvre la porte aux conflits sociaux, puisque le patronat refuse discussion ou négociation. C’est donc tout naturellement que l’ALEBA soutient les syndicats nationaux dans cette cause, en rappellant que l’ALEBA est aussi confrontée, dans le secteur financier où elle est majoritaire, à des décisions patronales brutales et unilatérales, voire illégales (le 26e jour de congé qui n’est toujours pas octroyé à tous les salariés concernés, par exemple) et condame ce manque de dialogue de la part du patronat.

Plusieurs fois dans le passé, l’ALEBA avait par ailleurs proposé d’intégrer le Comité Permanent du Travail et de l’Emploi (CPTE). Les défis et les enjeux du secteur financier et les besoins des salariés occupés sont souvent différents de ceux des autres secteurs : il était donc logique que l’ALEBA puisse les représenter et les défendre au CPTE. L’ALEBA demande donc une nouvelle fois à intégrer la tripartite, afin de garantir la représentativité et la défense des intérêts des salariés du secteur financier, pillier de l’économie luxembourgeoise.

“Nous déplorons malheureusement la même tendance au déni des obligations sociales dans le secteur financier de la part de certains représentants du patronat, qui de surcroît rechignent à tenir les responsabilités et les engagements négociés par et avec eux ! De toute évidence, le but est de museler les syndicats et le Gouvernement. En ce qui nous concerne, il est hors de question de se laisser faire !”, affirme Roberto Mendolia, Président de l’ALEBA.

Communiqué de presse du 8 novembre 2019.