Joint union demands presented to the ABBL at the end of 2016

 ALEBA’s “Contribute to your future” survey of members and delegates conducted in May produced clear, broad outlines of the key, essential aspirations for the Collective Labour Agreement (CLA) 2017-2019. A simplified CLA, higher salaries, and additional special holidays were among the main demands from our base. Maintaining existing rights is also a priority.

ALEBA’s CLA working group took these ideas into account when drawing up its list of demands. This in turn was used in discussions with the other national unions as we worked to agree a unified document.

Tough, constructive and efficient inter-union meetings were held between September and November, with the work directed towards shaping a CLA that is in sync with contemporary realities and employees’ needs. This fruitful cooperation between unions resulted in an ambitious, modern programme which was then presented to the ABBL in an open fashion.

On the employers’ side, we note a lack of such good will, and to date we have no information about the detail of their intentions…

Here are all the key union demands, structured into nine themes: duty groups; salaries; conjunctural allowance; leave, special leave, and office absence; social chapter; redundancy payments; retention in employment/personal development plans; non-statutory benefits; working times.

  1. Duty groups

The six duty groups established over 20 years ago obviously no longer match current ways of working in the financial sector. For example, who of us these days ever meets a “typist”, a “certificate handler” or a “Safe deposit supervisor”? It is necessary to simplify and modernise, so the three unions have suggested a merger of the six groups into four. This table shows how we would do it, with the relevant salary brackets attributed to each.

NEW

OLD

MIN – MAX

(index 100)

I

1 – 2 – 3

€385 to €595

II

4

€452 to €675

III

5

€545 to €795

IV

6 + false executives

€590 to €900

Also:

  • The three unions have asked for a minimum ranking guarantee according to the educational level achieved
  • Thresholds 1 and 2 would be abolished.
  1. Salaries

The unions have asked for moderate, realistic salary increases:

  • Linear increase of 1.5% on 01/01/2017
  • Linear increase of 1.5% on 01/01/2018
  • Linear increase of 2.0% on 01/01/2019
  1. Conjunctural allowance

ALEBA, LCGB and OGBL want to replace the current allowance with one equivalent to a month’s salary (14th month) payable as follows:

  • 25% for less than 2 years seniority
  • 50% for less than 4 years seniority
  • 75% for less than 6 years seniority
  • 100% after 6 years seniority

Thus young employees would benefit from a higher conjunctural allowance than under the current system. However, to avoid disadvantaging older workers, the current amounts should be guaranteed for those already receiving this allowance.

The conjunctural allowance is linked to seniority within a company, but the social partners want each worker’s seniority to be recognised across the sector. Thus when a worker changes employer within the financial sector their seniority benefits would not be lost.

  1. Leave, special leave, and office absence

The three unions suggest increasing the number of rest days and special leave days, as well as increasing the ability to leave the office when necessary. This would mean that the new agreement can be more in line with changes in society:

  • Rest days: 9 days instead of 8.5 and 10 days for those aged over 50 years
  • Rest day linked to 25 years of seniority: abolish the age condition
  • Special leave:
    • 1 day of leave for charity work
    • 2 days for the death of a second degree relative
    • 5 days for the death of a first degree relative (including half-siblings)
    • 6 days for the birth or adoption of a child
  • Office absence:
    • Abolish the “reasonable limits” specification
    • Administrative visits: include visits to notaries, lawyers, vehicle technical control centres (once per year)
    • Political duties abroad
  1. Social chapter

In the “Contribute to your future” survey, ALEBA was frequently asked to seek an upward revision of leave available “for family reasons” (“sick child leave”). Given that a draft law with similar aims is being discussed, the three unions agreed to introduce this into their list of demands, all the time making sure that the draft law will meet union expectations.

ALEBA also suggested the introduction of two new measures to the social agenda: sabbaticals (unpaid leave) and the ability to gift rest days to a colleague in an emergency. Sabbaticals would be based on clauses in the new parental leave law, with social contributions continuing to be paid by the employer. The ability to give leave days to a colleague could be available in cases of absolute necessity, such as when a family member is gravely ill.

  1. Severance allowance in the event of redundancy

Current severance allowance in the event of redundancy are not high enough. ALEBA, OGB-L and LCGB would like a review of monthly payments as follows:

PROPOSED NEW CLA

Monthly payments received per years of service

CURRENT CLA

Monthly payments received per years of service

   1 month      >2 years of service

/

   2 months    >5 years of service

  1 month      >5 years of service

   3 months    >10 years of service

  2 months    >10 years of service

   6 months    >15 years of service

  3 months    >15 years of service

   9 months    >20 years of service

  6 months    >20 years of service

 12 months    >25 years of service

  9 months    >25 years of service

 15 months    >30 years of service

12 months    >30 years of service

 18 months    >35 years of service

/

  1. Retention in employment/personal development plans

To maximise retention in employment in the financial sector, the three unions suggest putting two tools in place:

  • Personal Development Plan that aims to transform the evaluation process currently used in sanctions procedures into a tool for advancement.
  • Age Management Plan which will aim to: integrate, in a sustainable fashion, young people into companies; recruit and sustain the employment of older workers; establish skills-transfer mechanisms
  1. Fringe benefits

Three fundamental projects will be defended by the worker’s representatives:

  1. Prevention of psychosocial risks: harassment, burn-out, stress, etc.
  2. Priority for rehiring
  3. Promotion of public transport
  1. Working times

Regarding salary increments and remuneration for night-time working, atypical hours, on-duty hours, and when assuring a basic service (“permanence”), the three unions wish to establish a well-defined, general framework for all banks in the financial sector. Currently, certain banks do not take into account (and thus do not remunerate) overtime or on-duty hours. A halt must be called to this injustice in the interests of defending the rights of all workers.

Clearly, it is difficult to resume schematically in one article all the preparatory work we have undertaken. If you have specific questions on one or more points, please do not hesitate to contact us at info@aleba.lu.

If you have subscribed to the news feed about the CLA negotiations on the ALEBA website (http://www.aleba.lu/news-2/?lang=en), you will have read the article, published on 15th December 2016, about how working groups had been put in place during the first plenary session featuring the social partners and the ABBL.

Four working groups will cover the nine initial themes:

  1. Classification and remuneration: Duty groups/Salaries/Conjunctural allowance
  2. Employability and training: Severance allowances/Retention in employment/Personnel development plans
  3. Working time organisation: Leave/Special leave/Office absence/Working times
  4. Well being: Psychosocial risks prevention/Gifting of rest days/Sabbaticals/Social chapter

These groups will start work mid-January and will draw-up firm proposals which will be presented to plenary sessions.

We will keep you informed of progress as soon as possible.

Gewerkschaftliche Forderungen, die Ende 2016 der ABBL übergeben wurden

Es ist nicht nötig, an dieser Stelle noch einmal auf den Erfolg der von der ALEBA im Mai durchgeführten Umfrage „Contribute to your future“ einzugehen: Zahlreiche Mitglieder und Delegierte der ALEBA haben sich zu den Punkten geäußert, die in ihren Augen ausschlaggebend für den neuen Tarifvertrag 2017-2019 sind.

Die Vereinfachung des aktuell geltenden Tarifvertrags, eine Lohnerhöhung und zusätzliche Tage Sonderurlaub gehören zu den grundsätzlichen Forderungen, abgesehen von einer Fortschreibung der bisherigen Errungenschaften.

Die Arbeitsgruppe Tarifvertrag der ALEBA hat diese Gedanken bei der Ausarbeitung ihres Forderungskatalogs aufgegriffen. Letzterer diente als Grundlage für die Erstellung eines gemeinsamen Katalogs aller beteiligten Gewerkschaften.

Von September bis November wurden bei intensiven, konstruktiven und effizienten Treffen der Gewerkschaften Ideen und konkrete Forderungen für einen moderneren und an die Bedürfnisse der Arbeitnehmer angepassteren Tarifvertrag ausgearbeitet. Diese erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit der Gewerkschaften fand in einem ehrgeizigen und modernen Katalog Ausdruck, der in aller Transparenz der ABBL übergeben wurde.

Der Arbeitgeberverband zeigte jedoch nicht den gleichen guten Willen, weshalb seine Vorstellungen im Einzelnen bis heute nicht bekannt sind …

Die Forderungen der Gewerkschaften sind in neun Themenbereiche (Funktionsgruppen; Löhne; Konjunkturprämie; Urlaub/Sonderurlaub/Verlassen des Arbeitsplatzes; soziale Aspekte; Abgangsentschädigung bei Entlassung; Arbeitsplatzerhaltung/ Persönlicher Entwicklungsplan; außergesetzliche Vergünstigungen; Arbeitszeiten) untergliedert. Hier eine Übersicht über die wichtigsten Punkte:

1. Funktionsgruppen

Die sechs, seit mehr als 20 Jahren bestehenden Funktionsgruppen entsprechen offensichtlich nicht mehr den heutigen Aufgabenbereichen im Finanzsektor: Wer kennt heute noch Schreibkräfte, Wertpapierbearbeiter oder Schließfachverwalter? Hier war es notwendig, zu vereinfachen und zu modernisieren. Die drei Gewerkschaften schlagen deshalb eine Neueinteilung der 6 derzeitigen Gruppen in 4 neue Gruppen vor. Nachfolgend die Aufteilung der alten Gruppen in die neuen sowie die jeweiligen Vergütungen jeder Gruppe.

NEU

ALT

MIN – MAX (ind. 100)

I

1 – 2 – 3

385,- € bis 595,- €

II

4

452,- € bis 675,- €

III

5

545,- € bis 795,- €

IV

6 + falsche leit. Ang.

590,- € bis 900,- €

Hinweise:

  • Die drei Sozialpartner fordern eine garantierte Minimaleinstufung in Abhängigkeit des Studienniveaus.
  • Die einstigen Gruppen 1 und 2 werden definitiv gestrichen.
  1. Löhne

Die Gewerkschaften fordern eine Lohnerhöhung, die maßvoll, aber realistisch ist:

  • Lineare Anhebung von 1,50 % zum 01/01/2017
  • Lineare Anhebung von 1,50 % zum 01/01/2018
  • Lineare Anhebung von 2,00 % zum 01/01/2019
  1. Konjunkturprämie

Die ALEBA, der LCGB und der OGBL möchten die derzeitige Prämie durch eine Prämie ersetzen, die einem Monatsgehalt (14. Monatsgehalt) entspricht und wie folgt berechnet wird:

  • 25 % bei weniger als 2 Jahren Betriebszugehörigkeit
  • 50 % bei weniger als 4 Jahren Betriebszugehörigkeit
  • 75 % bei weniger als 6 Jahren Betriebszugehörigkeit
  • 100 % nach 6 Jahren Betriebszugehörigkeit

Auf diese Weise kommen junge Arbeitnehmer in den Genuss einer Konjunkturprämie, die interessanter ist als das derzeitige System. Außerdem müssen, um ältere Arbeitnehmer nicht zu benachteiligen, die derzeitigen Prämienhöhen für Arbeitnehmer, die bereits in den Genuss der Prämie kommen, garantiert werden.

Da die Konjunkturprämie immer an die Betriebszugehörigkeit des Arbeitnehmers zu einem Unternehmen gekoppelt ist, wünschen die Sozialpartner, dass die Betriebszugehörigkeit eines Arbeitnehmers innerhalb des gesamten Sektors gilt. Folglich verliert ein Arbeitnehmer, der den Arbeitgeber wechselt, jedoch weiterhin im Finanzsektor tätig ist, nicht die Stufe seiner Betriebszugehörigkeit.

  1. Urlaub/Sonderurlaub/Verlassen des Büros

Die drei Gewerkschaften schlagen vor, die Zahl der Ruhetage und der Sonderurlaubstage zu erhöhen sowie das erlaubte Verlassen des Arbeitsplatzes auszuweiten, insbesondere, um sie an die gesellschaftlichen Entwicklungen anzupassen:

  • Ruhetage: 9 Ruhetage statt bisher 8,50 und 10 Ruhetage für Arbeitnehmer >50 Jahre
  • Ruhetag für 25 Jahre Betriebszugehörigkeit: Altersbedingung streichen
  • Sonderurlaub:
    • 1 Urlaubstag für ehrenamtliches karitatives Engagement
    • 2 Urlaubstage bei Ableben eines Verwandten 2. Grades
    • 5 Urlaubstage bei Ableben eines Verwandten 1. Grades (Halbbruder und Halbschwester aufnehmen)
    • 6 Urlaubstage bei Geburt oder Adoption eines Kindes
  • Erlaubtes Verlassen des Arbeitsplatzes:
    • Die Einschränkung „in einem vernünftigen Umfang“ streichen
    • Gänge zu Verwaltungen: Termine bei Notaren, Anwälten, zur Kfz-Hauptuntersuchung (1 Mal pro Jahr)
    • Politische Mandate im Ausland aufnehmen
  1. Soziale Aspekte

Bei der Umfrage „Contribute to your future“ wurde die ALEBA mehrfach aufgefordert, den Urlaub aus familiären Gründen zu erhöhen („Urlaub bei Krankheit der Kinder“).

Angesichts der Tatsache, dass ein Gesetzentwurf, der das gleiche Ziel verfolgt, derzeit diskutiert wird, kamen die drei Gewerkschaften überein, diese Forderung nicht in ihren Katalog aufzunehmen; im Gegenzug werden sie jedoch darauf achten, dass der Gesetzentwurf den Erwartungen der Gewerkschaften entspricht.

Die ALEBA hat zudem die Einführung zweier neuer Maßnahmen im sozialen Bereich vorgeschlagen: ein (unbezahltes) Sabbatjahr und die Spende von Ruhetagen. Das (unbezahlte) Sabbatjahr würde auf den Bestimmungen des neuen Elternurlaubs basieren und die Sozialabgaben würden weiterhin vom Arbeitgeber bezahlt. Spende von Ruhetagen heißt, dass es möglich ist, Ruhetage im Fall absoluter Notwendigkeit einem Kollegen überlassen zu können, beispielsweise wenn ein Mitglied seiner Familie schwer erkrankt.

  1. Abgangsentschädigung bei Entlassung

Derzeit sind die Abgangsentschädigungen bei Entlassung nicht hoch genug. Die ALEBA, der OGB-L und der LCGB möchten, dass die Zahl der Monatsgehälter wie folgt erhöht wird:

FORDERUNG NEUER TARIFVERTRAG

Zu zahlende Monatsgehälter gemäß Dienstjahre

DERZEITIGER TARIFVERTRAG

Zu zahlende Monatsgehälter gemäß Dienstjahre

   1 Monatsgehalt    > 2 Jahre

/

   2 Monatsgehälter > 5 Jahre

  1 Monatsgehalt    > 5 Jahre

   3 Monatsgehälter > 10 Jahre

  2 Monatsgehälter > 10 Jahre

   6 Monatsgehälter > 15 Jahre

  3 Monatsgehälter > 15 Jahre

   9 Monatsgehälter > 20 Jahre

  6 Monatsgehälter > 20 Jahre

 12 Monatsgehälter > 25 Jahre

  9 Monatsgehälter > 25 Jahre

 15 Monatsgehälter > 30 Jahre

12 Monatsgehälter > 30 Jahre

 18 Monatsgehälter > 35 Jahre

/

  1. Arbeitsplatzerhaltung/Persönlicher Entwicklungsplan

Um die Beschäftigung im Finanzsektor nachhaltig zu sichern, schlagen die drei Gewerkschaften die Einführung von zwei Instrumenten vor:

  • Der Persönliche Entwicklungsplan soll den Evaluierungsprozess von einem Sanktionsinstrument in ein Förderinstrument verwandeln.
  • Der Plan für das Altersmanagement soll die langfristige Einbindung junger Arbeitnehmer in die Unternehmen, die Einstellung und dauerhafte Beschäftigung von älteren Arbeitnehmern sowie den Kompetenztransfer sicherstellen.
  1. Außergesetzliche Vergünstigungen

Die Arbeitnehmervertreter sehen drei grundsätzliche Problemfelder:

  1. Prävention psychosozialer Risiken: Mobbing, Burnout, Stress usw.
  2. Priorität der Wiedereinstellung
  3. Förderung öffentlicher Verkehrsmittel
  1. Arbeitszeiten

Was die Aufschläge oder die Vergütung von Nachtarbeit, von atypischen Arbeitszeiten oder Bereitschaftsdiensten betrifft,  möchten die drei Gewerkschaften einen allgemeinen, klar definierten Rahmen für alle Banken des Finanzplatzes schaffen. Derzeit erkennen einige Banken Überstunden oder Bereitschaftsdienste nicht als solche an und entlohnen sie folglich auch nicht entsprechend. Dieser Ungerechtigkeit muss ein Ende gesetzt werden, im Interesse aller Arbeitnehmer.

Es ist natürlich schwierig, alle Vorbereitungsarbeiten in einem einzigen Artikel zusammenzufassen. Wenn Sie Fragen zu einem oder mehreren Punkten haben, wenden Sie sich bitte einfach per E-Mail an info@aleba.lu.

Wenn Sie sich für die Information über den Fortgang der Verhandlungen über den Tarifvertrag auf der Website der ALEBA (www.aleba.lu/cct-banques/news/) angemeldet haben, konnten Sie in dem am 15. Dezember 2016 erschienenen Beitrag lesen, dass bei der ersten Plenarsitzung der Sozialpartner und der ABBL Arbeitsgruppen eingerichtet wurden.

Vier Arbeitsgruppen beschäftigen sich mit den ursprünglich neun Themenbereichen:

  1. Einteilung und Vergütung: Funktionsgruppen/Löhne/Konjunkturprämie
  2. Beschäftigung und Weiterbildung: Abgangsentschädigung/Arbeitsplatzerhaltung/ Persönlicher Entwicklungsplan
  3. Organisation der Arbeitszeit: Urlaub/Sonderurlaub/Verlassen des Arbeitsplatzes/Arbeitszeiten
  4. Wohlbefinden am Arbeitsplatz: Prävention psychosozialer Risiken/Spende von Ruhetagen/Sabbatjahr/Soziale Aspekte

Diese Arbeitsgruppen werden Mitte Januar ihre Arbeit aufnehmen und konkrete Vorschläge erarbeiten, die dann in den Plenarsitzungen vorgestellt werden. Wir halten Sie natürlich so schnell wie möglich über den Fortgang auf dem Laufenden!