Social plan signed at D.A.S. Luxembourg S.A.

On Tuesday, 6 February 2018, ALEBA, OGBL and LCGB agreed on a social plan at D.A.S. Luxembourg S.A.

At the beginning of January, D.A.S. Luxembourg’s parent company, ERGO Group, announced its decision to sell the client portfolio of its Luxembourg subsidiary to ALLIANZ Benelux S.A. ALLIANZ wanted to retain only the 9-strong Claims department, thus leaving 15 employees out of a job, a number of whom had service records of more than 20 years.

As a result of the determined and constructive efforts by the unions and open social dialogue with the chairman of ERGO’s board of directors:

  • One more employee has been transferred to ALLIANZ, bringing the total to 10;
  • Favourable and dignified redundancy conditions have been negotiated and accepted, in addition to the minimum legal requirements, such as: immediate exemption from working the notice period, an additional payment for employees tasked with handling the liquidation of D.A.S. Luxembourg, non-contractual compensation, compensation associated with employees’ family situation and finally the allocation of a significant training/outplacement budget;
  • Senior executives (who in principle are not covered by social plans) have also been made eligible for the social plan, and therefore qualify for the same conditions as employees covered by collective agreements.

Safouane Jaouid, Head of Legal at ALEBA, stated: “In what continue to be challenging circumstances, we at ALEBA are proud to have been able to put in place a social plan of such quality, thereby protecting employees who are losing their jobs. Indeed, I hope that this plan will serve as an example in the insurance sector, and that other companies considering redundancies in future will also fulfill their social responsibility.”

ALEBA nevertheless regrets that, once again in the Luxembourg market, workers are bearing the cost of global strategies in a quest for profit that fails to address the tragic human implications for those facing dismissal.

 

Press contacts:

Laurent Mertz, Secretary General (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)

Contact for the D.A.S. case: 

Safouane Jaouid, Head of Legal (legal@aleba.lu / +352 223 228 1)

Sozialplan bei der D.A.S. Luxembourg S.A. unterzeichnet

Am vergangenen Dienstag, 6. Februar 2018, haben die ALEBA, der OGBL und der LCGB einen Sozialplan bei der D.A.S. Luxembourg S.A. unterzeichnet.

Zur Erinnerung: Die Gruppe ERGO, Muttergesellschaft der D.A.S. Luxembourg, hatte Anfang Januar ihren Beschluss öffentlich gemacht, das Kunden-Portfolio ihrer luxemburgischen Filiale an die ALLIANZ Benelux S.A. zu verkaufen. Die ALLIANZ ihrerseits wünschte, lediglich die Belegschaft der Abteilung Schadensfälle, konkret 9 Mitarbeiter, übernehmen zu wollen, und somit 15 Arbeitnehmer auf die Straße zu setzen, von denen einige eine Betriebszugehörigkeit von mehr als 20 Jahren vorweisen können.

Schlussendlich wurde durch seriöse und konstruktive Gewerkschaftsarbeit, aber auch dank eines offenen Dialogs mit dem Vorsitzenden des Aufsichtsrats der ERGO, folgendes vereinbart:

  • Ein Arbeitnehmer mehr, also insgesamt 10, werden von der ALLIANZ übernommen;
  • Würdige und für die Arbeitnehmer vorteilhafte Kündigungsbedingungen, die ausgehandelt und akzeptiert wurden und über dem Rechtsanspruch liegen, wie etwa: Freistellung während der Kündigungsfrist, ein zusätzlicher Bonus für die Arbeitnehmer, die sich um die Auflösung der D.A.S. Luxembourg kümmern, eine außergesetzliche Entschädigung, eine Entschädigung je nach familiärer Situation sowie schließlich ein beträchtliches Budget für Weiterbildung und Outplacement;
  • Die Arbeitnehmer, die einen Status als Führungskräfte (cadre supérieur) haben und also normalerweise nicht in den Genuss eines Sozialplans kommen, wurden ebenfalls in den Sozialplan integriert und profitieren von den gleichen Bedingungen wie ihre tarifgebundenen Kollegen.

Safouane JAOUID, Head of Legal der ALEBA, erläutert: „Wir sind bei der ALEBA stolz darauf, dass wir unter – immer nicht ganz einfachen Bedingungen – einen Sozialplan auf die Beine stellen konnten, der den Arbeitnehmern, die ihre Stelle verlieren, zugute kommt. Ich hoffe außerdem, dass dieser Plan für die Versicherungsbranche Modellcharakter erhält und dass andere Unternehmen, die morgen die Streichung von Stellen aus wirtschaftlichen Gründen planen, ebenfalls ihrer sozialen Verantwortung gerecht werden.“

Die ALEBA bedauert jedoch einmal mehr, dass die Arbeitnehmer des Finanzplatzes Luxemburg die Zeche für internationale Strategien bezahlen, die einem Wettrennen nach immer mehr Profit gleichen und die dramatischen menschlichen Konsequenzen außer Acht lassen, die sie für die entlassenen Arbeitnehmer haben.

 

Pressekontakte:

Laurent Mertz, Generalsekretär (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)

Hinsichtlich des Falls D.A.S. Luxembourg:

Safouane Jaouid, Head of Legal (legal@aleba.lu / +352 223 228 1)