Social plan at Catella Bank: the lies of the Ogbl-Lcgb union

As the leading trade union in the Luxembourg financial centre, ALEBA would like to react to the multiple lies uttered by the Ogbl- Lcgb regarding the extension of the redundancy plan at Catella Bank S.A.

A unanimous request from the staff, for the extension of a plan supported by all employees.

As a reminder, ALEBA, the Ogbl and the Lcgb signed together in 2018 the social plan at Catella Bank S.A., which expired on 14 December 2020.

As this deadline approached, the  staff delegates and employees of Catella Bank S.A. unanimously requested, after an internal referendum, that the three unions sign a 24-month extension. The Ogbl-Lcgb opposed this, for incomprehensible reasons, and  at the end of the day it was ALEBA alone that finally signed this extension on Monday 7 December 2020, in the interest and at the request of the employees.

Fair treatment

The 13 employees and delegates still in post were indeed asking for this extension of the social plan, in full knowledge of the facts, rather than being dismissed individually.

They asked to have the same severance conditions as their colleagues, and ALEBA refused to go against the will of the employees.  As the Chairman of the Staff Delegation points out :

“The information communicated together by the Ogbl and the Lcgb on 11 December is not correct. The extension we just signed is exactly the same as the social plan signed by all the unions in 2018. So there is no loss nor degradation of employees’ rights. As President of the Delegation, I questioned the employees in a referendum and all of them, without exception, asked for the social plan to be extended in full knowledge of the facts.

If we had tried new negotiations with the management to  obtain additional benefits (as requested by the Ogbl-Lcgb and contrary to the initial request of the Staff Delegation) everything would have been refused outright and we would have lost all the rights relating to the first social plan. The same would have happened if the extension of the social plan had not been validated by the ALEBA in due time.

I also find it particularly unconscious, if not incorrect, to decide to refuse to sign “with a knife at the throat” on 23/11/2020 for the Ogbl and 26/11/2020 for the Lcgb when the social plan expired on 15/12/2020).

This is an inconceivable risk-taking to the detriment of the employees, which in my opinion is not the role of a trade union organisation.

Fortunately, ALEBA was there to advise and support us until the end of the process. Many thanks for their professionalism and support! »

On this basis – because for ALEBA the interest of the employees comes first – ALEBA supported the extension of the validity of this plan until 14 December 2022.

No deterioration of employees’ rights, compared to the initial social plan.

It is not market practice to give “early leavers” the benefit of the entire social plan. This is a lie from  the Ogbl-Lcgb.

Since Catella in 2018, several social plans have been signed with Ogbl-Lcgb (Clearstream, Swedbank, State Street, HSBC, RBC IS, ABLV and Öhman Bank) and this condition, although always requested, could never be included in the social plans, despite trade union’s demands.

It is therefore a lie to say that “this action sets a precedent, which will have harmful consequences for the entire financial sector”, as the Ogbl-Lcgb states. ALEBA refuses to accept this way of operating, which consists of scaring employees.

Having the courage of one’s opinions

As an experienced trade union organization since 1918, active every day in the field and sensitive to the real concerns of employees in the financial sector, ALEBA has once again taken up its responsibilities. The ALEBA rejects political manoeuvres that do not serve the interests of employees and even deform trade union power in the face of company management and trade union organizations,  and regrets the false claims of the Ogbl-Lcgb.

Sozialplan bei der Catella Bank: die Lügen der Ogbl-Lcgb-Gewerkschaft

Als führende Gewerkschaft im luxemburgischen Finanzsektor möchte die ALEBA, auf die zahlreichen Lügen der Ogbl-Lcgb bezüglich der Ausweitung des Sozialplans bei der Catella Bank S.A. reagieren.

 Ein einstimmiger Antrag der Mitarbeiterzur Verlängerung des Sozialplans, welcher von allen unterstützt wurde

Zur Erinnerung: die ALEBA, Ogbl und Lcgb haben 2018 gemeinsam den Sozialplan bei der Catella Bank S.A. unterzeichnet, welcher am 14. Dezember 2020 auslief.

Kurz vor Ablauf dieser Frist und nach einem einstimmigen internen Referendum, forderten die Personalvertreter und Mitarbeiter der Catella Bank S.A. die drei Gewerkschaften auf, eine Verlängerung des ursprünglichen Sozialplans um 24 Monate zu unterzeichnen. Die Ogbl-Lcgb waren aus unverständlichen Gründen dagegen und daher war es allein die ALEBA, die diese Verlängerung am Montag, dem 7. Dezember 2020, im Interesse und auf Ersuchen der Mitarbeiter endgültig unterzeichnete.

Eine faire Behandlung

Die noch vorhandenen 13 Mitarbeiter und Delegierten forderten tatsächlich diese Erweiterung des Sozialplans in voller Kenntnis der Fakten, anstatt einzeln entlassen zu werden. Sie forderten die gleichen Ausgangsbedingungen wie ihre Kollegen, und bei der ALEBA weigern wir uns, gegen den Willen der Mitarbeiter vorzugehen. Wie vom Präsidenten der Personaldelegation angegeben:

„Die Informationen, welche Ogbl und Lcgb am 11. Dezember gemeinsam mitgeteilt haben, sind nicht korrekt. Die Verlängerung, die wir gerade unterzeichnet haben, entspricht genau dem Sozialplan, den alle Gewerkschaften im Jahr 2018 unterzeichnet haben. Daher gibt es keine Verluste oder Verschlechterungen der Arbeitnehmerrechte. Als Vorsitzender der Delegation befragte ich die Mitarbeiter im Rahmen eines Referendums und alle forderten ausnahmslos die Ausweitung des Sozialplans und dies in voller Kenntnis der Tatsachen.

Wenn wir neue Verhandlungen mit dem Management angestrebt hätten, um weitere bestimmte Vorteile zu erlangen (von der Ogbl-Lcgb gefordert und dies gegen die ursprüngliche Anfrage der Personaldelegation), wäre alles abgelehnt worden und wir hätten dann alle Rechte im Zusammenhang mit dem ersten Sozialplan verloren. Das Gleiche gilt, wenn die Verlängerung des Sozialplans von der ALEBA nicht rechtzeitig bestätigt worden wäre.

Ich finde es auch besonders verantwortungslos und unangemessen, dass wir erst am 23.11.2020 für die Ogbl und am 26.11.2020 für die Lcgb über diese Verweigerung der Unterschrift “wie mit einem Messer unter der Kehle” benachrichtigt wurden (der Sozialplan ist am 15.12.2020 abgelaufen).

Es ist ein unvorstellbares Risiko zum Nachteil der Arbeitnehmer, das meiner Meinung nach nicht die Rolle einer Gewerkschaftsorganisation sein sollte.

Glücklicherweise war die ALEBA da, um uns bis zum Ende des Prozesses zu beraten und zu unterstützen. Ein großes Dankeschön für ihr Professionalismus und ihre Unterstützung!

Auf dieser Grundlage unterstützte die ALEBA die Verlängerung der Gültigkeit dieses Sozialplans bis zum 14. Dezember 2022, da für die ALEBA die Interessen der Mitarbeiter maßgebend ist.

 Keine Verschlechterung der Arbeitnehmerrechte im Vergleich zum ursprünglichen Sozialplan.

Es ist keine Marktpraxis, “Frühabgängern” zu erlauben, vom gesamten Sozialplan zu profitieren. Dies ist eine Lüge der Ogbl-Lcgb.

Seit Catella im Jahr 2018, wurden mehrere Sozialpläne mit der Ogbl-Lcgb (Clearstream, Swedbank, State Street, HSBC, RBC IS, ABLV und Öhman Bank) unterzeichnet. Trotz gewerkschaftlicher Forderungen während der Verhandlungen, wurde diese Bedingung nie aufgenommen.

Es ist daher falsch zu behaupten, dass “diese Aktion einen Präzedenzfall darstellt, welcher negative Folgen für den gesamten Finanzsektor haben wird”, wie die Ogbl-Lcgb angibt. Bei der ALEBA lehnen wir diese Arbeitsweise ab, die darin besteht, Mitarbeiter zu erschrecken.

 Haben Sie den Mut zu Ihrer Meinung zu stehen

Als erfahrene Gewerkschaftsorganisation seit 1918, die jeden Tag vor Ort tätig ist und auf die tatsächlichen Anliegen der Beschäftigten im Finanzsektor eingeht, hat die ALEBA seine Verantwortung erneut übernommen. Die ALEBA lehnt politische Manöver ab, die nicht den Interessen der Arbeitnehmer dienen und die Gewerkschaftsmacht angesichts von Unternehmensführung und Gewerkschaftsorganisationen sogar verzerren, und bedauert die falschen Behauptungen des Ogbl-Lcgb.