Another legal victory for ALEBA at the Court of Cassation!

In 2016, ALEBA filed a lawsuit in Luxembourg calling for its Employee Representative to be reinstated in his post at a Japanese bank (Read the press release from 19 June 2017). The case was quickly settled in ALEBA’s favour, and a ruling on 23 March 2017 by Luxembourg’s Court of Appeal instructed the bank to allow the employee/ALEBA Employee Representative to return to his role.

However, the bank refused to comply with the court order. Given the gravity of the situation, ALEBA then arranged a meeting with the Minister of Labour and the Inspectorate of Labour and Mines (ITM), and also organised a number of protests outside the bank.

The ITM imposed a hefty fine on the bank for refusing to comply with the Court of Appeal ruling. Meanwhile, thanks to support from the UNI Global Union, ALEBA managed to organise a meeting with the bank’s parent company in Japan and thereby generate awareness and raise the profile of this case on the international stage.

Still refusing to comply with legal rulings and Luxembourg law, the bank then decided (a few months ago) to take the case to the Court of Cassation. That did not turn out so well for them – on 14 June, the Court of Cassation confirmed the ruling of the Court of Appeal instructing the bank to reinstate its employee/the ALEBA Employee Representative.

“This is another legal victory for ALEBA. But, above all, this case is yet more proof that ALEBA is prepared to do whatever it takes to defend and protect employees and employee representatives in the financial sector. We do not accept and will never accept such social injustices or failures on the part of employers to follow Luxembourg laws and rules,” stated Roberto Scolati, President of ALEBA, adding that the ALEBA Employee Representative is currently in the process of returning to his post.

 

Press contacts: 

Laurent Mertz, Secretary General (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu/ +352 671 223 228)

 

Case contact: 

Safouane Jaouid, Head of Legal (safouane.jaouid@aleba.lu / +352 223 228 1)

ALEBA gewinnt vor Revisionsgericht erneut!

Im Jahr 2016 hat die ALEBA in Luxemburg ein Gerichtsverfahren angestrengt, um die Wiedereingliederung ihres Personaldelegierten als Mitarbeiter einer japanischen Bank zu erreichen (Lesen Sie hier die Pressemitteilung vom 19.06.2017). Schnell gab die Justiz der ALEBA recht und das Berufungsgericht Luxemburg verurteilte die Bank in seinem Urteil vom 23. März 2017 den Personaldelegierten der ALEBA wieder in seiner Funktion einzugliedern.

Doch die Bank weigerte sich damals, den Gerichtsentscheid auszuführen! Angesichts dieser gravierenden Situation traf sich die ALEBA nicht nur zu Gesprächen mit dem Arbeitsminister und dem Gewerbe- und Grubenaufsichtsamt (Inspection du travail et des mines, ITM), sondern veranstaltete auch mehrere Protestaktionen vor der Bank.

Wegen der Missachtung der Entscheidung des Berufungsgerichts war die Bank vom ITM zu einer hohen Geldbuße verurteilt worden. Der ALEBA wiederum gelang es, sich mithilfe der internationalen Gewerkschaft UNI Global Union beim Mutterhaus der Bank in Japan Gehör zu verschaffen und dem Fall gleichzeitig internationale Bedeutung zu geben.

Die Bank wollte sich jedoch noch immer nicht den Gerichtsentscheiden und den luxemburgischen Gesetzen beugen und beschloss deshalb vor einigen Monaten, den Fall vor das Revisionsgericht zu bringen. Doch damit war sie schlecht beraten, denn am 14. Juni bestätigte das Revisionsgericht das Urteil des Berufungsgerichts und ordnete an, dass die Bank ihren Mitarbeiter und Personaldelegierten der ALEBA wiedereinzugliedern habe!

„Das ist ein erneuter juristischer Sieg für die ALEBA! Dieser Fall beweist jedoch vor allem, dass die ALEBA bereit ist, alle Mittel auszuschöpfen, um die Arbeitnehmer und Personaldelegierten des Finanzsektors zu schützen! Wir akzeptieren solche sozialen Ungerechtigkeiten nicht, weder heute noch in Zukunft, und auch nicht die Nichtbeachtung luxemburgischer Gesetze und Vorschriften seitens eines Arbeitgebers“, erklärt Roberto SCOLATI, Präsident der ALEBA, der mitteilt, dass die Wiedereingliederung des Personaldelegierten der ALEBA bereits begonnen hat.

 

Pressekontakte:

Laurent MERTZ, Generalsekretär (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra CARVALHO, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)

 

Hinsichtlich dieses Falls:

Safouane JAOUID, Head of Legal, safouane.jaouid@aleba.lu / +352 223 228-1)