NEW COLLECTIVE LABOUR AGREEMENT FOR BANK EMPLOYEES: ALEBA’S MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE SUPPORTS THE AGREEMENT IN PRINCIPLE

At a meeting of ALEBA’s Management Committee on the evening of Tuesday 15 May 2018, the members in attendance unanimously voted in favour of the agreement in principle on the new Collective Agreement for Bank Employees 2018-2020.

As a reminder, the agreement was reached on 9 May between the ALEBA, OGBL Finance and LCGB-SESF joint union body and ABBL and it covered “classification/remuneration” (including a 10% increase in the June Bonus effective from June 2018), “working hours” and “training”.

According to Gilles Steichen, who is responsible for negotiating on ALEBA’s behalf, “this marks an important step forward in a process that began almost 18 months ago, and the unanimous support of our Management Committee reassures us that we have made the right decisions and choices during the negotiations. This agreement will obviously mark a break with the past, but ALEBA has been true to its word in ensuring that this will not affect its quality from the perspective of banking-sector employees, who deserve an excellent collective agreement.”

ALEBA’s Secretary General, Laurent Mertz, stated that “now we, both unions and employers, must quickly and collectively move on to drafting the full text of the new collective agreement so that, at ALEBA, it can then be submitted to Employee Representatives from the banking sector for approval, as stipulated in the articles of association of our organisation.”

 

Press release

Luxembourg, 15 May 2018

 

Press contacts:

Laurent Mertz, Secretary General (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)

NEUER TARIFVERTRAG FÜR BANKEN: DAS VERWALTUNGSKOMITEE DER ALEBA UNTERSTÜTZT GRUNDSÄTZLICHE EINIGUNG

Das Verwaltungskomitee der ALEBA hat bei seiner Sitzung am Dienstagabend, 15. Mai 2018, mit dem einstimmigen Votum aller anwesenden Mitglieder beschlossen, die grundsätzliche Einigung auf einen neuen Tarifvertrag für Banken 2018-2020 zu unterstützen.

Zur Erinnerung: Diese Einigung war am 9. Mai zwischen der gemeinsamen Gewerkschaftsfront von ALEBA – OGBL Finance – LCGB-SESF und der ABBL gefunden worden und betrifft die Bereiche „Einteilung/Vergütung“ (einschließlich der Auszahlung einer um 10 % erhöhten Juniprämie im Juni 2018), „Arbeitszeit“ und „Weiterbildung“.

Für Gilles Steichen, der für die ALEBA die Verhandlungen führte, „ist das ein wichtiger Schritt in diesem Verfahren, das bereits vor 18 Monaten begonnen hat, und die einhellige Unterstützung unseres Verwaltungskomitees bestätigt uns in den von uns während der Verhandlungen getroffenen Entscheidungen. Dieser Tarifvertrag unterscheidet sich wirklich von den früheren, das ist offensichtlich, doch die ALEBA hat Wort gehalten, denn seine Qualität wurde im Hinblick auf die Arbeitnehmer des Bankensektors, die einen guten Tarifvertrag verdienen, nicht aufgeweicht.“

Der Generalsekretär der ALEBA, Laurent Mertz, sagte seinerseits, „dass es nun darum geht, alle gemeinsam, also Gewerkschaften und Arbeitgeber, den neuen Tarifvertrag komplett auszuarbeiten, ehe er von der ALEBA den Personaldelegierten des Bankensektors zur Annahme vorgelegt wird, wie es die Statuten unserer Gewerkschaft vorsehen“.

 

Pressemitteilung

Luxemburg, den 15. Mai 2018

 

Pressekontakte:

Laurent Mertz, Generalsekretär (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)