ALEBA reviews monitoring procedures for employees on long-term sick leave

Several ALEBA members on long-term sick leave came to us claiming that they were subject to malpractice during medical checks in 2017.

Health problems cause enough stress and suffering as it is – and that’s without all the administrative hassle on top – which is why ALEBA recently got into contact with the National Health Fund (Caisse Nationale de Santé – CNS) and the Social Security Medical Inspectorate (Administration du Contrôle Médical de la Sécurité Sociale) to investigate.

Speaking for the CNS, Michel Goergen assured President Roberto Scolati and Secretary General Laurent Mertz that all of the procedures in place are designed to guarantee the equal and fair treatment of employees on sick leave.

Representing the Social Security Medical Inspectorate, which monitors employees on sick leave on behalf of the CNS, Chief Physician Gérard Holbach reassured Laurent Mertz that the same is true for his administration, adding that as health professionals, he expects the utmost professionalism and unbiased behaviour from his medical inspectors when carrying out check-ups and issuing diagnoses, without attempting to fill any quotas for the number of employees returning to work.

Roberto Scolati had this to say: “ALEBA is satisfied with the responses it has received, and has been reassured that proper procedures are in place for the checks that these two bodies are responsible for performing, both in terms of what they entail and how they are carried out.

However, ALEBA urges any employees who believe they have experienced malpractice, or who have any grievances over the way their case has been handled, to get into contact so that an individual complaint can be lodged if necessary.

Press contacts:

Laurent Mertz, Secrétaire Général (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)

Die ALEBA überzeugt sich von der ordnungsgemäßen Kontrolle lange krankgeschriebener Arbeitnehmer

Mehrere Mitglieder der ALEBA, die über einen längeren Zeitraum krankgeschrieben waren, fühlten sich im Lauf des Jahres 2017 bei ärztlichen Kontrollen ungerechtfertigt behandelt.

Die ALEBA ist der Meinung, dass gesundheitliche Probleme bereits eine drückende und schwere Last darstellen, zu denen sich nicht auch noch zusätzliche Schwierigkeiten administrativer Natur gesellen sollten. Deshalb nahm sie Kontakt zur Nationalen Gesundheitskasse (CNS) sowie zum Kontrollärztlichen Dienst der Sozialversicherung auf.

Die Direktion der CNS, in Person von Michel GOERGEN, teilte ALEBA-Präsident Roberto SCOLATI sowie Generalsekretär Laurent MERTZ mit, dass alle bei der CNS praktizierten Abläufe eine gleichberechtigte und gerechte Behandlung der kranken Arbeitnehmer zum Ziel hätten.

Für den Kontrollärztlichen Dienst der Sozialversicherung, dem die CNS die Aufgabe der Kontrolle kranker Arbeitnehmer überträgt, bestätigte wiederum dessen Direktor, der Arzt Gérard HOLBACH, gegenüber ALEBA-Generalsekretär Laurent MERTZ, dass für die von ihm geleitete Behörde das Gleiche gelte; er fügte hinzu, dass er von seinen kontrollierenden Ärzten als unparteiischen Mitarbeitern der Gesundheitsbehörden verlange, dass sie bei den von ihnen durchzuführenden Kontrollen und medizinischen Diagnosen ein Höchstmaß an Professionalität an den Tag legten, ohne irgendeine Wiedereingliederungs-Quote.

Für Roberto Scolati „sieht die ALEBA durch diese Antworten in ihrer Überzeugung gestärkt, dass die Kontrollverfahren in beiden verantwortlichen Behörden sowohl inhaltlich als auch formell korrekt sind“.

Die ALEBA fordert jedoch alle Arbeitnehmer, die der Meinung sind, dass sie mit nicht ordnungsgemäßen Situationen konfrontiert sind, oder die Beschwerden hinsichtlich der Behandlung ihres Falls haben, dazu auf, sich mit ihr in Verbindung zu setzen, um gegebenenfalls eine Einzelbeschwerde einzureichen.

Pressekontakte:

Laurent Mertz, Secrétaire Général (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)