ALEBA seeks additional 26th day of statutory leave for bank and insurance sector employees

The decision of the Government Council to introduce two additional days’ leave has been welcomed by ALEBA, the largest financial sector trade union. According to the information available, we understand that an extra public holiday on 9 May to mark Europe Day would be the first of these two days.

However, the details regarding the second day are very far from clear”, explains Laurent Mertz, Secretary General of ALEBA. The minimum statutory leave would increase from 25 days to 26 days per year, but, much to our surprise, this measure would not apply to sectors or companies that have a Collective Labour Agreement! Clearly, we cannot accept this.”

The banking and insurance sectors are covered by a collective labour agreement, but the statutory leave is 25 days, as per Article 20 of the Collective Labour Agreement for Bank Employees and Article 8 of the Collective Labour Agreement for the Insurance sector. “There is also a very clear reference to Articles L. 233-1 et seq. of the Luxembourg Labour Code relative to paid recreational leave. If this law is amended, then the Collective Labour Agreements would be amended by default. Clearly, granting the 26th day of leave can’t be discriminatory”, adds Laurent Mertz.

Additional days are included in the Collective Labour Agreements for Banks and Insurance Companies (called “rest days”), but they are:

  • historical compensation for previous fixed closure dates (Carnival Monday, Braderie Monday and 2 November) that have been replaced, upon the employers’ request, by days off in lieu that are more suited to the needs of the financial sector;
  • compensation granted by employers’ associations in exchange for keeping a 40-hour week, whereas the unions wanted a shorter working week.

ALEBA is keen to organise talks with employer groups, the ABBL and ACA, as soon as possible to confirm and introduce the 26th extra day of annual leave for bank and insurance sector employees. Discussions will also be scheduled with the Ministry of Labour if necessary.

 

Luxembourg, 18 January 2019

Press contacts:

Laurent Mertz, Secretary General (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)

Die ALEBA fordert den zusätzlichen 26. gesetzlichen Urlaubstag für die Arbeitnehmer von Banken und Versicherungsgesellschaften

Die ALEBA begrüßt die Absegnung der Einführung von zwei zusätzlichen Urlaubstagen durch die Regierung. Aus den ihr vorliegenden Informationen schließt die Mehrheitsgewerkschaft des Finanzsektors, dass ein Urlaubstag in Form eines zusätzlichen Feiertags am 9. Mai, dem Europatag, eingeführt werden soll.

Was den zweiten Tag angeht“, erklärt Laurent Mertz, Generalsekretär der ALEBA, „ist das weitaus weniger klar. Der gesetzliche Mindesturlaub pro Jahr soll von 25 auf 26 Tage angehoben werden, doch soll diese Maßnahme auf völlig unverständliche Weise nicht für Branchen oder Unternehmen gelten, die über einen Tarifvertrag verfügen! Das ist natürlich inakzeptabel.“

Die ALEBA erinnert daran, dass die Banken- und die Versicherungsbranche von einem Tarifvertrag abgedeckt werden, der jedoch einen gesetzlichen Urlaub von 25 Tagen vorsieht; nämlich Artikel 20 im Tarifvertrag für Banken und Artikel 8 im Tarifvertrag für Versicherungen. „Dort wird übrigens eindeutig Bezug auf die Bestimmungen von Artikel L. 233-1 ff des Arbeitsgesetzbuchs über den bezahlten Erholungsurlaub genommen. Das Gesetz zu ändern, hieße automatisch auch, die Tarifverträge zu ändern. Ich sage es ganz klar: Es darf bei der Gewährung dieses 26. Urlaubstags keine Diskriminierung geben“, fügt Laurent Mertz hinzu.

Die ALEBA erinnert daran, dass in den Tarifverträgen für Banken und Versicherungen zusätzliche Urlaubstage verzeichnet sind („Ruhetage“ genannt); dabei handelt es sich jedoch:

  • einerseits um eine historische Kompensation für frühere feste Feiertage (Rosensmontag, Kirmesmontag und 2. November), die auf Ersuchen der Arbeitgeber abgeschafft und durch frei verfügbare Urlaubstage ersetz wurden, was den Bedürfnissen der Finanzbranche besser entsprach;
  • andererseits um eine von den Arbeitgeberverbänden aufgezwungene Entschädigung für die Beibehaltung einer Wochenarbeitszeit von 40 Stunden, obwohl die Gewerkschaften eine niedrigere Wochenarbeitszeit fordern.

Die ALEBA wünscht sich ein schnelles Treffen mit den Arbeitgeberverbänden ABBL und ACA, um den zusätzlichen 26. Urlaubstag für die Angestellten von Banken und Versicherungen zu bestätigen und umzusetzen. Falls nötig wird sie auch Gespräche mit dem Arbeitsministerium planen.

 

Luxemburg, den 18. Januar 2019.

Pressekontakt:

Laurent Mertz, Generalsekretär (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)