Court of Justice of the EU decision on the status of step-children: another victory for ALEBA!

On 15th December 2016, the Court of Justice of the EU validated the advocate general’s conclusions of June 2016. This decision recognises the step-children of cross-border workers as being eligible regarding claims for social benefits from the Luxembourgish state (such as financial assistance for higher education). Thus, this will apply not only for a child whose direct parent is the worker concerned, but also the child of a spouse or civil partner of the said worker.

ALEBA is pleased with the CJEU’s decision because it is a victory for our members who were impacted by the Higher Education and Research Ministry’s decision. From the beginning, ALEBA criticised this unfairness and has defended the interests of its members in this matter, with the help of its lawyer Stéphanie Jacquet.

A glimmer of hope for step-families excluded from the new family benefits arrangements.

This legal decision will have a clear impact on other questions on which our lawyer is working hard to preserve our members’ rights. Thus, since the introduction of the family benefits reform on 1st August 2016, some of our cross-border members have been refused benefits for their step-children.

ALEBA thinks this is unacceptable, and has asked its lawyer to bring this matter to court. This question will be judged in the light of the 15th December CJEU decision, and should correct this unfairness. We will continue to follow this case closely.

Luxembourg, 16th December 2016

Entscheidung des Europäischen Gerichtshofs über den Status von Kindern in Stieffamilien: ein neuer Sieg für die ALEBA!

Am 15. Dezember 2016 hat der Europäische Gerichtshof in einer Entscheidung die Schlussfolgerungen des Generalanwalts (vorgelegt im Juni 2016) bestätigt und anerkannt, dass das Kind eines berufstätigen Grenzgängers Anspruch auf soziale Vergünstigungen hat, beispielsweise auf die vom luxemburgischen Staat gewährte finanzielle Studienbeihilfe: „Nicht nur das Kind, das ein direkter Abkömmling dieses Grenzgängers ist, sondern auch das Kind des Ehegatten oder eingetragenen Lebenspartners besagten Grenzgängers.“

Die ALEBA ist mit dieser Entscheidung des Gerichtshofs sehr zufrieden, da sie einen Sieg für unsere Mitglieder darstellt, die von der Entscheidung des Ministeriums für Hochschulwesen und Forschung betroffen waren. Von Anfang an hatte die ALEBA diese Ungerechtigkeit angeprangert und die Interessen ihrer Mitglieder in dieser Frage mithilfe ihrer Anwältin Stéphanie Jacquet verteidigt.

Ein Funken Hoffnung für Stieffamilien, die vom neuen System der Familienbeihilfen ausgeschlossen werden

Diese Entscheidung hat notgedrungen Einfluss auf andere Fälle, an denen die Anwältin der ALEBA mit Hochdruck arbeitet, um die Rechte unserer Mitglieder zu wahren. Denn seit dem Inkrafttreten der Reform der Familienbeihilfen am 1. August 2016 wurde Grenzgängern das Kindergeld für Stiefkinder verweigert, die in ihrem Haushalt lebten.

Die ALEBA, die diese Entscheidung für inakzeptabel hält, hat ihre Anwältin damit beauftragt, diese Ungerechtigkeit vor den zuständigen Gerichten rückgängig machen zu lassen. Sie kann sich hierbei nun auf die Entscheidung des Gerichtshofs stützen. Wir werden die Angelegenheit weiter verfolgen!

Luxemburg, den 16. Dezember 2016