COVID-19: your employer cannot force you to have a vaccination

As vaccination is a private matter, it is by no means a professional obligation.

The appearance of the anti-COVID vaccine in Luxembourg has already raised many questions among employees. The government has decided not to impose vaccination on the entire population. What about private employers? Do they have the right to do so?

The answer is no. Vaccination is a medical act. It relates to everyone’s health and is a private matter. A hierarchy does not have to demand anything from its employees on this point. If it were to impose it, it would constitute an invasion of privacy. Moreover, its respect is enshrined in Article 8 of the European Convention on Human Rights and the Act of 11 August 1982 on the protection of privacy. If it is imposed and an employee refuses to be injected with the vaccine, he or she cannot be sanctioned or dismissed.

On the other hand, it is not forbidden for the employer to organise flu vaccination sessions on his premises. The employer must ensure the health and safety of his teams, as stipulated by labour legislation. Once again, everyone is free to accept or reject the vaccine.

COVID-19: Ihr Arbeitgeber kann Sie nicht dazu zwingen, sich impfen zu lassen

Da das Impfen eine private Angelegenheit ist, ist es keineswegs eine berufliche Verpflichtung.

Das Auftauchen des COVID-Impfstoffs in Luxemburg hat bereits viele Fragen bei den Mitarbeitern aufgeworfen. Die Regierung hat beschlossen, die Impfung nicht der gesamten Bevölkerung aufzuerlegen. Was ist mit privaten Arbeitgebern? Haben diese das Recht es zu tun?

Die Antwort ist nein. Die Impfung ist ein medizinischer Akt. Er betrifft die Gesundheit jedes Einzelnen und ist eine private Angelegenheit. Eine Hierarchie darf an diesem Punkt seinen  Mitarbeitern nichts aufzwingen. Würde Sie sie auferlegen, würde dies einen Eingriff in die Privatsphäre darstellen. Darüber hinaus ist ihre Achtung in Artikel 8 der Europäischen Menschenrechtskonvention und dem Gesetz vom 11. August 1982 zum Schutz der Privatsphäre verankert. Falls sie auferlegt wird, kann ein Mitarbeiter, welcher die Impfung verweigert, nicht bestraft oder entlassen werden.

Andererseits ist es dem Arbeitgeber nicht verboten, in seinen Räumlichkeiten Grippeimpfungen zu veranstalten.  Der Arbeitgeber muss für die Gesundheit und Sicherheit seiner Mannschaft sorgen, so  wie es die Arbeitsgesetzgebung vorschreibt. Noch einmal: Es steht jedem frei, den Impfstoff anzunehmen oder abzulehnen.