Coronavirus: work from home, what fiscal impact for cross-border workers?

Work from home (WFH) is currently one of the preventive measures implemented by employers to fight against the spread of the coronavirus. ALEBA has been asked several times in the last couple of days by its delegates about WFH and its potential tax impact, especially for cross-border workers.

First ALEBA would like to recall that its main concern is to ensure that employers do everything in their power to protect the health of employees. Even the important fiscal aspect remains secondary.

On this point, however, as a reminder, the French, German and Belgian Governments have generally agreed with the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg a maximum quota of working days per year, authorized to work outside of Luxembourg, without tax impact for the employees.

If the health situation related to Covid-19 does not worsen, the few days worked from home (currently often quarantines of ten days) will be deducted from the balance of days available for the rest of the year, and this will not have any tax impact.

If the health situation worsens, WFH could logically increase, and ALEBA will invite each staff delegation to ask their employer to ensure that there is no financial impact for employees.At this point, it will be necessary to review how these activities should moreover be qualified.

This topic, among others, will be discussed with the Minister of Labor, Dan Kersch, during an upcoming inter-union meeting.

 

Luxembourg, 5th March 2020.

Coronavirus: Heimarbeit, welche steuerlichen Auswirkungen hat dies auf die Grenzgänger?

Heimarbeit ist derzeit eine der vorbeugenden Maßnahmen der Arbeitgeber zur Bekämpfung der Ausbreitung des Coronavirus. Die ALEBA wurde in den letzten Tagen mehrmals von seinen Delegierten zu Heimarbeit und möglichen steuerlichen Auswirkungen befragt, insbesondere für grenzüberschreitende Arbeitnehmer.

Die ALEBA möchte zunächst daran erinnern, dass es sein Hauptanliegen ist, sicherzustellen, dass die Arbeitgeber alles Mögliche tun, um die Gesundheit der Arbeitnehmer zu schützen. Der steuerliche Aspekt, wie wichtig er auch ist, bleibt zweitrangig.

Zur Erinnerung: Die Regierungen Deutschlands, Frankreich und Belgien haben sich mit dem Großherzogtum Luxemburg im Allgemeinen auf ein Höchstkontingent an Arbeitstagen pro Jahr geeinigt, die außerhalb Luxemburgs gearbeitet werden dürfen, ohne dass es steuerliche Auswirkungen für die Arbeitnehmer gibt.

Wenn sich die Gesundheitssituation in Bezug auf Covid-19 nicht verschlechtert, werden die wenigen zu Hause geleisteten Arbeitstage (derzeit häufig Quarantänen von zehn Tagen) vom Jahreskontingent abgezogen, und es wird keine steuerlichen Auswirkungen haben.

Wenn sich die Gesundheitssituation verschlechtert, kann die Heimarbeit sich logischerweise erhöhen, und die ALEBA wird jede Personaldelegation auffordern, ihren Arbeitgeber zu bitten, sicherzustellen, dass keine finanziellen negativen Auswirkungen für die Mitarbeiter entstehen. An dieser Stelle muss überprüft werden, wie diese Leistung zu qualifizieren sind.

Dieser Punkt wird unter anderem mit dem Arbeitsminister Dan Kersch auf einem bevorstehenden gewerkschaftsübergreifenden Treffen erörtert.

 

Luxemburg, 5. März 2020.