Additional holiday: ALEBA welcomes the vote taken by the Chamber of Deputies

On Wednesday 27 March 2019, the Chamber of Deputies voted unanimously to pass bill no. 7399 enshrining 9 May in the Labour Code as a legal holiday and thus increasing the statutory leave allowance to 26 days.

The new legal public holiday for all employees is now indisputable.

ALEBA maintains that bank and insurance company employees are also entitled to this 26th day of leave. The latter are covered by a collective labour agreement, but the statutory leave indicated in it is 25 days, as per Article 20 of the Collective Labour Agreement for Bank Employees and Article 8 of the Collective Labour Agreement for the Insurance Sector. “There is also a very clear reference to Articles L. 233-1 et seq. of the Luxembourg Labour Code relative to paid recreational leave. If this law is amended, then the Collective Labour Agreements must of course be amended by default”, stated Laurent Mertz.

ALEBA’s Secretary General also noted that additional days are included in the Collective Labour Agreements for Banks and Insurance Companies (called “rest days”), but they are:

– historical compensation for previous fixed closure dates (Carnival Monday, Braderie Monday and 2 November) that have been replaced, upon the employers’ request, by days off in lieu that are more suited to the needs of the financial sector;

– compensation granted by employers’ associations in exchange for keeping a 40-hour week, whereas the unions wanted a shorter working week.

ALEBA calls on the employers’ associations ABBL and ACA to promptly notify their members so that employees are able to prepare for any on-call duty on 9 May and deal with scheduling for the additional day of leave”, concluded Laurent Mertz.

 

Luxembourg, 29 March 2019.

 

Press contacts:

Laurent Mertz, Secretary General (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)

Zusätzlicher Urlaubstag: Die ALEBA begrüßt positives Votum der Abgeordnetenkammer

Die Abgeordnetenkammer hat am 27. März 2019 einstimmig den Gesetzentwurf 7399 gebilligt, der den 9. Mai als Feiertag im Arbeitsgesetzbuch verankert und somit den gesetzlichen Urlaub auf 26 Tage verlängert.

Dieser neue Feiertag für alle Arbeitnehmer ist natürlich unanfechtbar.

Was den 26. Urlaubstag angeht, hält die ALEBA an ihrer Auffassung fest, dass dieser ebenfalls den Arbeitnehmern der Banken und Versicherungen geschuldet ist. Für sie gilt zwar ein Tarifvertrag, doch dieser sieht einen gesetzlichen Jahresurlaub von 25 Tagen vor, genauer gesagt Artikel 20 für den Banken-Tarifvertrag und Artikel 8 für den Tarifvertrag für Versicherungen. „Übrigens wird dort klar Bezug auf die Bestimmungen von Artikel L. 233-1 und folgende des Arbeitsgesetzbuchs bezüglich des bezahlten Erholungsurlaubs genommen und die Änderung des Gesetzes bedeutet natürlich grundsätzlich auch die Änderung der Tarifverträge“, erklärt Laurent Mertz.

Der Generalsekretär der ALEBA erinnert ferner daran, dass die Tarifverträge für Banken und Versicherungen zwar zusätzliche („Erholungstage“ genannte) Urlaubstage enthalten, diese jedoch:

– einerseits eine historische Kompensation für frühere feste Feiertage (Rosenmontag, Kirmesmontag und 2. November) darstellen, die auf Ersuchen der Arbeitgeber abgeschafft und durch frei verfügbare Urlaubstage ersetzt wurden, was den Bedürfnissen der Finanzbranche besser entsprach;

– andererseits eine von den Arbeitgeberverbänden aufgezwungene Entschädigung für die Beibehaltung einer Wochenarbeitszeit von 40 Stunden sind, obwohl die Gewerkschaften eine niedrigere Wochenarbeitszeit forderten.

Die ALEBA fordert die Arbeitgeberverbände ABBL und ACA auf, ihre Mitglieder schnell über die neue Regelung zu informieren, damit die Arbeitnehmer einmal eventuelle Bereitschaftsdienste am 9. Mai organisieren und zudem ihren zusätzlichen Urlaubstag planen können“, so Laurent Mertz abschließend.

 

Luxemburg, den 29. März 2019

Pressekontakte:

Laurent Mertz, Generalsekretär (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)