CEDIES study grants: Another victory at the ECJ!

For the third consecutive time on the subject of student grants, the European Court of Justice (ECJ) has again compelled the Luxembourg government to review its legislation on state financial support for higher education.

The amended act of 24 July 2014, which continues to apply, makes a distinction in the treatment of applicant students depending on whether or not they live in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

The act requires non-resident students to either be the child of a worker who has been employed or has practised a profession in Luxembourg for at least five years in the seven years preceding the application.

Such a condition does not apply to students who live in Luxembourg – but this distinction is no more!

This condition on the length of service must now be repealed as the first chamber of the European Court of Justice ruled in students’ favour in its verdict of 10 July 2019 on case C-410/18 – Nicolas Aubriet vs. Ministry of Higher Education and Research.

In 2014, when Mr Aubriet’s request for financial aid was rejected on the grounds that he did not meet the length of work condition and did not have sufficiently close ties with Luxembourg, ALEBA’s lawyer, Stéphanie Jacquet, immediately applied for a judicial review to request clemency from the ministry given the number of years worked by the father, Bruno Aubriet, who had been registered with the Luxembourg social security system since 1991.

However, the ministry did not accept this, basing its opinion on the law as it stood. According to Ms Jacquet, the rejection was based on an overly restrictive condition on the length of work, and did not take into account other factors in Mr Aubriet’s association with Luxembourg. This infringed workers’ freedom of movement within the European Union. The case had to be referred to the ECJ.

ALEBA decided to instigate proceedings before the Administrative Court and secured an ECJ referral in a judgment of 20 June 2018, which ultimately led to this favourable verdict on 10 July 2019, not just for Mr Aubriet, but also for all students who are children of workers not residing in Luxembourg.

It took four long years of proceedings to finally put an end to this discriminatory practice.

ALEBA is now awaiting the new bill announced by the government and, if a new condition is attached, will consult its lawyer to ensure that it complies with European law and does not affect its members’ rights.

The Nicolas Aubriet C-410/18 ruling can be viewed in full on the European Court of Justice website:

https://curia.europa.eu/jcms/upload/docs/application/pdf/2019-07/cp190090en.pdf)

 

Press contacts:

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)

CEDIES-Studienstipendien: Neuer Sieg for dem EUGH!

Bereits zum dritten Mal hintereinander hat der Gerichtshof der Europäischen Union (EUGH) in der Frage der Studierenden gewährten Stipendien die luxemburgische Regierung verpflichtet, ihre Gesetzgebung hinsichtlich der staatlichen Finanzhilfen für weiterführende Studien zu überarbeiten.

Zur Erinnerung: Das veränderte Gesetz vom 24. Juli 2014, das immer noch Gültigkeit besitzt, sieht eine unterschiedliche Behandlung der studentischen Antragsteller vor, je nachdem, ob sie auf dem Gebiet des Großherzogtums Luxemburg wohnen oder nicht.

Bei nicht im Land lebenden Studierenden fordert das Gesetz, dass mindestens ein Elternteil des Antragstellers innerhalb der sieben Jahre vor der Antragstellung mindestens fünf Jahre lang als Arbeitnehmer oder Selbständiger in Luxemburg tätig war.

Eine solche Bedingung ist für in Luxemburg wohnende Studierende nicht vorgesehen. Doch damit ist nun Schluss!

Denn diese Bedingung der dauerhaften beruflichen Tätigkeit muss ab sofort gestrichen werden, denn die Erste Kammer des Gerichtshofs der Europäischen Union hat in ihrer Entscheidung vom 10. Juli 2019 in der Rechtssache C-410/18 – Nicolas Aubriet c/ Ministerium für Hochschulwesen und Forschung zugunsten des Studenten entschieden.

Als im Jahr 2014 der Beihilfeantrag von Herrn AUBRIET mit der Begründung abgelehnt wurde, dass er die geforderte Bedingung der Arbeitszeit nicht erfülle und keinen ausreichenden Integrationsgrad mit Luxemburg aufweise, legte die Anwältin der ALEBA, Me Stéphanie JACQUET, unverzüglich informelle Beschwerde ein, um angesichts der zahlreichen Berufsjahre des Vaters Bruno AUBRIET, der seit 1991 beim Centre Commun gemeldet war, die Milde des Ministers zu erbitten.

Doch der Minister wollte davon nichts wissen und verwies auf das geltende Gesetz. Nach Ansicht von Me JACQUET stützt sich der Ablehnungsbescheid auf eine zu restriktive Bedingung der Arbeitsdauer und berücksichtigt andere Elemente der Bindung von Herrn AUBRIET an Luxemburg nicht. Deshalb verletze er die Freizügigkeit für Arbeitnehmer innerhalb der Europäischen Union. Also musste der EUGH angerufen werden.

Die ALEBA beschloss deshalb, ein Verfahren vor dem Verwaltungsgericht anzustrengen und erreichte schließlich per Urteil vom 20. Juli 2018 die Anrufung des EUGH, der nun am 10. Juli 2019 zu dem für Herrn AUBRIET, aber auch für alle Studierenden positiven Entscheid führte, die Kinder von nicht in Luxemburg wohnenden, aber dort arbeitenden Eltern sind.

Nach vier langen Verfahrensjahren ist die Löschung dieser von der ALEBA als diskriminierend beurteilten Bedingung Wirklichkeit geworden.

Die ALEBA wartet nun auf den von der Regierung angekündigten Gesetzentwurf; sollte dieser eine neue Bedingung enthalten, wird sie zusammen mit ihrer Anwältin sicherstellen, dass diese die Rechte ihrer Mitglieder nicht beschneidet und sich mit europäischem Recht vereinbaren lässt.

Das vollständige Urteil im Fall Nicolas Aubriet C-410/18 ist auf der Website des Gerichtshofs der Europäischen Union einsehbar:

http://curia.europa.eu/juris/documents.jsf?num=C-410/18

Die Pressemitteilung des EUGH zu dem Verfahren findet sich unter:

https://curia.europa.eu/jcms/upload/docs/application/pdf/2019-07/cp190090de.pdf

 

Pressekontakt:

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)