A week to move differently

The European Mobility Week has been taking place every year since 2012, from September 16th to September 22nd. The aim of the campaign, which was set up by the European Commission, is to raise awareness of sustainable mobility and improve people’s health and quality of life.

It is aimed at municipalities and encourages local authorities to introduce and promote sustainable transport measures. In doing so, it invites citizens to try out alternatives to the car for their mobility.

In Luxembourg, in 2021, its theme is “Beweeg dech a bleif gesond” (move and stay healthy). The chosen theme pays tribute to the hardships suffered by Europe and the world during the Covid-19 pandemic. According to a press release from the Luxembourgish government, “it also reflects the opportunities for change resulting from this unprecedented health crisis in Europe”.  This year’s European Mobility Week celebrates the resilience of cities and their achievements while seeking to maintain this momentum.

A total of 21 municipalities have been registered, six of which are meeting the criteria for participating in the European awards (Bissen, Colmar-Berg, Esch/Alzette, Feulen, Mamer and Mertzig). The criterias for this competition are a week of animation and information for the inhabitants of the municipality, the inauguration of one or more permanent measures and the closure of one or more main roads in the city, preferably on 22 September.

The national program is available on the website mobiliteitswoch.lu

Are you or your company organizing actions during the European Mobility Week? Share your photos on our Facebook page ALEBA – 1er Syndicat du Secteur Financier.

Eine Woche, um sich anders zu bewegen

Die Europäische Mobilitätswoche findet seit 2012 jedes Jahr vom 16. bis zum 22. September statt. Ziel der von der Europäischen Kommission ins Leben gerufenen Kampagne ist es, das Bewusstsein für nachhaltige Mobilität zu schärfen und somit die Gesundheit und Lebensqualität der Menschen zu verbessern.

Sie richtet sich an die Gemeinden und ermutigt die lokalen Behörden, nachhaltige Verkehrsmaßnahmen einzuführen und zu fördern. Damit lädt sie die Bürger(innen) ein, Alternativen zum Auto auszuprobieren um sich fortzubewegen.

In Luxemburg steht das Jahr 2021 unter dem Motto “Beweeg dech a bleif gesond” (Bewege Dich und bleib gesund). Das gewählte Thema ist eine Hommage an das Leid, das Europa und die Welt während der Covid-19-Pandemie erlitten hat. In einer Pressemitteilung der luxemburgischen Regierung heißt es: “Sie spiegelt auch die Möglichkeiten für Veränderungen wieder, welche sich aus dieser beispiellosen Gesundheitskrise in Europa ergeben”.  Die diesjährige Europäische Mobilitätswoche feiert die Schlagfestigkeit der Städte mit ihren Erfolgen und versucht, diesen Aufschwung beizubehalten.

Insgesamt haben sich 21 Gemeinden angemeldet, von denen sechs die Kriterien für die Teilnahme an den europäischen Wettbewerben erfüllen (nämlich Bissen, Colmar-Berg, Esch/Alzette, Feulen, Mamer und Mertzig). Die Kriterien für diesen Wettbewerb bestehen in einer Animations- und Informationswoche für die Einwohner der Gemeinde, der Einweihung einer oder mehrerer dauerhafter Maßnahmen sowie die Sperrung einer oder mehrerer Hauptstraßen in der Gemeinde, vorzugsweise am 22. September.

Das nationale Programm ist auf der Website mobiliteitswoch.lu verfügbar.

Organisieren Sie oder Ihr Unternehmen Aktionen während der Europäischen Mobilitätswoche? Teilen Sie Ihre Fotos auf unserer Facebook-Seite  ALEBA – 1er Syndicat du Secteur Financier