01.05.2020 | MAY 1st MASKED, OR HUMAN CAPITAL FESTIVAL

Work has been celebrated since the end of the 18th century. This «International Labour Day», or Labor Day, as it is celebrated today on May 1, finds its origin in the struggles of the workers’ movements to obtain the eight-hours a day, at the end of the 19th century. Unfortunately, if those who fought for this right more than 200 years ago came to Luxembourg today to visit the Financial Sector, we are used to saying that they would no doubt be horrified. For many Employees, eight-hours a day is often only a souvenir, if they have ever known it. Downsizing, job complexity, tight deadlines, increased individual workload, increasing individual demands and goals, Employer pressure, competition, fear of outsourcing, fear of losing one’s job: Today, everything contributes to spending more and more hours every day, staying a little longer in the office, even if it means sacrificing one’s time, family life or time for oneself. This is not acceptable, ALEBA struggles every day against this, and the International Labour Day must be an opportunity to remember it.

But this year, May 1st also has, unfortunately, another taste, very bitter. A virus out of nowhere has in just two months completely slowed down the World’s economy, and Luxembourg’s. And May 1 is celebrated this year… at home, masked. Everything is done at home, since mid-March. This homework, which Employers wanted so little yesterday, saves the entire Financial sector today, by allowing the continuation, so to speak, of activities from… the office, bedroom or kitchen of their Employees ! In the vast majority of cases, Companies have indeed been able (with the support of regulators), in a few days, to remove all barriers, technical or regulatory, find budgets and equipment, and organize work and meetings remotely.

Obviously tomorrow’s work World will be different from yesterday. Distance work, and Employers will have to concede it, has shown its value and will have to, where possible, be further promoted in order, as ALEBA has been asking for years and still in its 2019 electoral program-2024, to promote a better work-life balance. And of course, very concretely, this new employability will have to be translated into the collective agreements of Banks and Insurance companies, whose negotiations for renewals will begin at the end of 2020.

Against COVID-19, the most beautiful capital undeniably saves Companies in Luxembourg’s Financial sector, human capital. Congratulations to all Employees in the sector for their investment, their courage and this great lesson of responsibility given to Employers.

Happy International Labour Day to all!

Take great care of yourself and your loved ones!

 

Laurent Mertz

General Secretary

01.05.2020 | 1. Mai maskiert, oder Fest des Humankapitals

Die Arbeit wird seit dem späten 18. Jahrhundert gefeiert. Dieser “Internationale Tag der Arbeit”, wie er heute am 1. Mai gefeiert wird, hat seinen Ursprung in den Kämpfen der Arbeiterbewegungen um den Acht-Stunden-Tag zu Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts.  Wenn diejenigen, die vor mehr als 200 Jahren für dieses Recht gekämpft haben, heute den Finanzsektor in Luxemburg sehen würden, wären sie zweifelslos  entsetzt. Für viele Mitarbeiter ist der Acht-Stunden-Tag oft eine ferne Erinnerung, falls sie ihn überhaupt jemals kannten. Personalabbau, Jobkomplexität, knappe Fristen, steigende individuelle Arbeitsbelastung, steigende individuelle Anforderungen und Ziele, Arbeitgeberdruck, Konkurrenz, Angst vor Outsourcing, Angst vor dem Verlust des Arbeitsplatzes: All dies trägt heute dazu bei, dass man jeden Tag immer mehr Stunden arbeitet, und immer ein bisschen länger im Büro zbleibt, auch wenn man seine Zeit, das Familienleben oder die Zeit für sich selbst dabei opfert. Dies ist nicht akzeptabel, die ALEBA kämpft jeden Tag dagegen, und der Internationale Tag der Arbeit sollte eine Gelegenheit sein, sich daran zu erinnern.

Aber in diesem Jahr hat der 1. Mai leider auch einen anderen, zusätzlich sehr bitteren Beigeschmack. Ein Virus, welcher aus dem Nichts kam, hat in nur zwei Monaten die Welt und die luxemburgische Wirtschaft vollständig erfasst. Und der 1. Mai wird in diesem Jahr zu Hause gefeiert… maskiert. Seit Mitte März wird alles von zu Hause aus erledigt. Diese Heimarbeit, die die Arbeitgeber ehemals so ungern wollten, rettet heute den gesamten Finanzsektor und ermöglicht die Fortsetzung der Aktivitäten vom Büro, Schlafzimmer oder der Küche ihrer Mitarbeiter aus! Die überwiegende Mehrheit der Unternehmen war in der Lage (mit Unterstützung der Regulierungsbehörden), alle technischen oder regulatorischen Barrieren zu beseitigen, Budgets und Ausrüstung zu finden und Heimarbeit und Versammlungen zu organisieren.

Natürlich wird sich die Arbeitswelt von morgen von der von gestern unterscheiden. Die Fernarbeit, und dies müssen die Arbeitgeber zugeben, hat ihren Nutzen unter Beweis gestellt, und sollte wo immer möglich, weiter gefördert werden, um, wie es die ALEBA seit Jahren und wiederholt in ihrem Wahlprogramm 2019-2024 fordert, eine bessere Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Privatleben zu ermöglichen. Und natürlich muss diese neue Beschäftigungsfähigkeit ganz konkret in die Tarifverträge von Banken und Versicherungen umgesetzt werden, deren Erneuerungsverhandlungen Ende 2020 beginnen werden.

Angesichts von COVID-19 rettet das schönste Kapital, nämlich das Humankapital luxemburgs Finanzunternehmen. Herzlichen Glückwunsch an alle Arbeitnehmer in der Branche für ihren Einsatz, ihren Mut und diese wunderbare Lektion der Verantwortung, welche sie den Arbeitgebern gegeben hat.

Froher Internationaler Tag der Arbeit für alle!

Achten Sie sehr auf sich selbst und Ihre Lieben!

 

Laurent Mertz

Generalsekretär