COVID-19: your employer cannot force you to have a vaccination

As vaccination is a private matter, it is by no means a professional obligation.

The appearance of the anti-COVID vaccine in Luxembourg has already raised many questions among employees. The government has decided not to impose vaccination on the entire population. What about private employers? Do they have the right to do so?

The answer is no. Vaccination is a medical act. It relates to everyone’s health and is a private matter. A hierarchy does not have to demand anything from its employees on this point. If it were to impose it, it would constitute an invasion of privacy. Moreover, its respect is enshrined in Article 8 of the European Convention on Human Rights and the Act of 11 August 1982 on the protection of privacy. If it is imposed and an employee refuses to be injected with the vaccine, he or she cannot be sanctioned or dismissed.

On the other hand, it is not forbidden for the employer to organise flu vaccination sessions on his premises. The employer must ensure the health and safety of his teams, as stipulated by labour legislation. Once again, everyone is free to accept or reject the vaccine.

COVID-19 : votre employeur ne peut pas vous imposer une vaccination

La vaccination relevant de la sphère privée, il ne s’agit en aucun cas d’une obligation professionnelle.

L’apparition du vaccin anti-COVID au Luxembourg suscite déjà de nombreuses interrogations chez les salariés. Le gouvernement a décidé de ne pas imposer la vaccination à la population toute entière. Qu’en est-il pour les employeurs privés ? Ont-ils le droit de le faire ?

La réponse est non. La vaccination est un acte médical. Il est relatif à la santé de chacun et relève de la vie privée. Une hiérarchie n’a rien à exiger sur ce point à ses salariés. Dans le cas où il l’imposerait, cela constituerait une atteinte à l’intimité de la vie privée. D’ailleurs, son respect est consacré dans l’article 8 de la Convention européenne des droits de l’homme et la loi du 11 août 1982 concernant la protection de la vie privée. Dans le cas où elle serait imposée, si un salarié refuse qu’on lui injecte le vaccin, il ne peut pas être sanctionné, ni licencié.

Il n’est pas interdit, en revanche, pour l’employeur d’organiser dans ses locaux des séances de vaccination contre la grippe.  L’employeur doit assurer la santé et la sécurité de ses équipes, comme le stipule la législation du travail. Une fois encore, chacun est libre d’accepter ou non le vaccin.