Coronavirus: basic precautionary measures / no quarantine at charge of the Employees!

ALEBA calls on all of its Staff Representatives, and especially the Safety and Health Representatives, to ensure that their employer takes responsibility for dealing with the worrying situation of the Coronavirus epidemic.

While the situation has not yet been clarified, ALEBA, contacted by Staff Delegates from the financial sector, recalls the need for each company to have clear processes aimed first of all to protect the health of employees, but also business continuity.

This means that clear hygiene processes must be disseminated, and that anti-spread material (such as masks, disinfectant gel, etc.) must be made widely available, in order to protect the health of employees, and limit the spread of the disease.

It also means that decisions must have been taken regarding the promotion of alternative working methods, such as working from home for example.

If the presence in certain regions of the globe can lead, always according to the precautionary principle, to a “quarantine” of the employee, at his home, imposed by his employer or by the official health services, ALEBA recalls that under no circumstances this quarantine should be taken on the statutory annual leave!

ALEBA has been informed that a credit institution in the Financial Sector requires its employees who have travelled across high-risk regions to stay at home for at least 14 to 24 days, and that these days should be taken on their annual statutory holidays!

This is completely unacceptable! Employers who want to impose a quarantine to their employees must grant an extraordinary leave, or a work exemption, for the whole period concerned.

With regard to the Coronavirus epidemic, the ALEBA teams are available to all Delegates, at the number 223 228 306 or via the following email address coordination@aleba.lu.

 

Press release, February 25th, 2020.

Coronavirus : mesures de précaution élémentaires / pas de quarantaine à charge du salarié !

L’ALEBA appelle tous ses Délégués du Personnel, et spécialement les Délégués à la Sécurité et à la Santé, à s’assurer que leur employeur prend ses responsabilités pour faire face à la situation préoccupante d’épidémie de Coronavirus.

Alors que la situation n’est pas encore clarifiée, l’ALEBA, sollicitée par des Délégués du Personnel du secteur financier, rappelle la nécessité pour chaque entreprise de disposer de processus clairs visant tout d’abord la protection de la santé des salariés, mais également la continuité des activités.

Cela signifie que des processus d’hygiène clairs doivent être diffusés, et que du matériel de lutte contre la propagation (tels que masques, du gel désinfectant, etc) doit être largement mis à disposition, afin d’essayer de protéger la santé des salariés, et de limiter la propagation de la maladie.

Cela veut également dire que des décisions doivent avoir été prises en ce qui concerne la favorisation de méthodes de travail alternatives, comme le travail depuis le domicile par exemple.

Si la présence dans certaines régions du globe peut mener, toujours selon le principe de précaution, à une « mise en quarantaine » du salarié, à son domicile, imposée par son employeur ou par les services de santé officiels, l’ALEBA rappelle qu’il ne peut être question que cette quarantaine soit prise sur le congé légal de récréation !

L’ALEBA a en effet été informée qu’un établissement de crédit de la Place financière imposait à ses salariés ayant voyagé dans les régions à risques de rester à la maison pendant au moins entre 14 à 24 jours, et que ces jours devraient être pris sur les congés légaux annuels !

Cela est totalement inacceptable ! Les employeurs qui veulent imposer une quarantaine à leurs salariés doivent octroyer un congé extraordinaire, ou une dispense de travail, pour toute la période concernée.

En ce qui concerne l’épidémie de Coronavirus, les équipes de l’ALEBA se tiennent à disposition de tous les Délégués, au numéro unique 223 228 306 ou via l’adresse email suivante coordination@aleba.lu.

 

Communiqué de presse du 25 février 2020.