Additional holiday: ALEBA welcomes the vote taken by the Chamber of Deputies

On Wednesday 27 March 2019, the Chamber of Deputies voted unanimously to pass bill no. 7399 enshrining 9 May in the Labour Code as a legal holiday and thus increasing the statutory leave allowance to 26 days.

The new legal public holiday for all employees is now indisputable.

ALEBA maintains that bank and insurance company employees are also entitled to this 26th day of leave. The latter are covered by a collective labour agreement, but the statutory leave indicated in it is 25 days, as per Article 20 of the Collective Labour Agreement for Bank Employees and Article 8 of the Collective Labour Agreement for the Insurance Sector. “There is also a very clear reference to Articles L. 233-1 et seq. of the Luxembourg Labour Code relative to paid recreational leave. If this law is amended, then the Collective Labour Agreements must of course be amended by default”, stated Laurent Mertz.

ALEBA’s Secretary General also noted that additional days are included in the Collective Labour Agreements for Banks and Insurance Companies (called “rest days”), but they are:

– historical compensation for previous fixed closure dates (Carnival Monday, Braderie Monday and 2 November) that have been replaced, upon the employers’ request, by days off in lieu that are more suited to the needs of the financial sector;

– compensation granted by employers’ associations in exchange for keeping a 40-hour week, whereas the unions wanted a shorter working week.

ALEBA calls on the employers’ associations ABBL and ACA to promptly notify their members so that employees are able to prepare for any on-call duty on 9 May and deal with scheduling for the additional day of leave”, concluded Laurent Mertz.

 

Luxembourg, 29 March 2019.

 

Press contacts:

Laurent Mertz, Secretary General (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)

Congés supplémentaires : l’ALEBA se réjouit de la validation de la Chambre des Députés

La Chambre des Députés, à l’unanimité, a validé ce mercredi 27 mars 2019 le projet de loi 7399, ancrant dans le Code du Travail le 9 mai en tant que jour férié et augmentant le congé légal à 26 jours.

Le nouveau jour férié pour tous les salariés est bien entendu incontestable.

En ce qui concerne le 26e jour de congé, l’ALEBA maintient qu’il est également dû aux salariés des banques et des compagnies d’assurances. Ces derniers sont en effet couverts par une convention collective, mais le congé légal y est de 25 jours, comme le prévoient l’Article 20 pour la CCT Banques et l’Article 8 pour la CCT Assurances. « Il est d’ailleurs clairement fait référence aux dispositions des articles L. 233-1 et suivants du Code du Travail relatif au congé payé de récréation, et la modification de loi signifie évidemment par défaut la modification des Conventions Collectives de Travail » précise Laurent Mertz.

Le Secrétaire Général de l’ALEBA rappelle également que des jours supplémentaires existent dans les Conventions Collectives de Travail des Banques et des Assurances (appelés « jours de repos ») mais sont :

– d’une part une compensation historique d’anciens jours fermés fixes (Lundi de Carnaval, Lundi de Braderie et 2 novembre) abandonnés et remplacés, à la demande des employeurs, par des jours libres, formule davantage adaptée aux exigences du secteur financier ;

– d’autre part une compensation octroyée par les associations patronales en échange du maintien d’un temps de travail de 40 heures/semaine, alors que les syndicats souhaitaient un temps de travail hebdomadaire inférieur.

« L’ALEBA demande aux associations patronales ABBL et ACA de bien vouloir rapidement informer leurs membres, de manière à permettre aux salariés de s’organiser pour les éventuelles permanences du 9 mai, d’une part, et prévoir la planification du jour de congé supplémentaire d’autre part » conclut Laurent Mertz.

 

Luxembourg, le 29 mars 2019.

 

Contacts presse :

Laurent Mertz, Secrétaire Général (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)