Blank cheque for an unprecedented social bloodbath!

safe

On 29th July 2016, just before the parliamentary holidays and during the summer lull, Finance Minister Pierre Gramegna put forward a draft law (number 7024) aiming to transpose the regulation EU 2015/751. This relates to interchange fees for card payment operations, but also leads to a series of adjustments and modifications in several important laws related to the financial sector.

In particular, the draft law foresees modification of article 41 of the 5th April 1993 law concerning professional secrecy, in order to facilitate the outsourcing of services. In real terms this would mean, if the draft is adopted, that the obligation for professional secrecy would be weakened considerably. Financial sector data processing, which today is carried out exclusively in Luxembourg, could be offshored without any problem.

ALEBA believes that it is high time that we set alarm bells ringing. For Laurent MERTZ, ALEBA’s secretary general, this draft law is “a blank cheque from the government for an unprecedented, major social bloodbath in the financial sector (relating principally to IT jobs) and this within a short space of time. Initial estimates would see 5,000 financial sector IT professional jobs being eliminated quickly, both in PSF companies and in other financial sector institutions. Unfortunately, this figure seems realistic, and even probably underestimates the impact. It does not take the knock-on impact into account, which at the moment appears likely but hard to quantify.”

This radical weakening of professional secrecy rules would permit the transfer of the obligation for keeping data private to entities based outside the Grand Duchy. ALEBA thinks this would open the way for many of these IT activities to be outsourced abroad on a large scale and over a short time scale. Of course this would be carried out in the interests of cost cutting. “The financial sector is directly affected by the 3rd Industrial Revolution, FinTech, the digital economy and so on. We cannot deny this, and the sector must accept that changes are inevitable and fresh thinking is required. But this draft law goes much to far, and would deal a sharp blow to the financial sector and its staff. This comes at a time when the current social climate is difficult, with a restrictive and costly regulatory environment, tough economic circumstances, and little optimism about the medium term outlook,” added Laurent MERTZ. ALEBA refuses to accept this act of self-sabotage.

“Be in no doubt that behind the desire to change professional secrecy rules are international lobbies but also Luxembourgish employers groups. They see an opportunity to cut their costs further to increase profits without any consideration for staff. Of course we cannot agree with this. It is all the more shocking as we have the feeling that this regulatory change is being planned on the sly. We thought that we would have been consulted on this matter, but nothing has happened, so we will ask to meet Finance Minister Pierre Gramegna as soon as possible. This will be an opportunity for the financial sector’s leading trade union to explain their point of view. The government has a clear social responsibility to financial sector staff, and they have fallen short by acting in this way. It would also be interesting to hear the views on this subject of the Financial Sector Surveillance Commission (CSSF), the Bankers Association (ABBL), and the Association of the Luxembourg Fund Industry (ALFI), all of which the government says in its evaluation sheet were consulted in the preparation of draft law 7024…

ALEBA would like to underline that according to the latest information, a decisive meeting related to this draft law will be held this Thursday 24th November at the Ministry of Finance.

(Press release oh the 23th november 2016)

  ***

Press contacts:

Laurent MERTZ, General Secretary (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / (+352) 621 232 295)

Sandra CARVALHO, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / (+352) 671 223 228)

ALEBA has more than 10,000 members and is by far the largest trade union in the Luxembourg financial sector. In November 2013, at the most recent elections for personnel delegations, ALEBA received the support of more than 65% of voters in the financial and related sectors, giving it more than 700 personnel representatives in more than 150 companies. This huge level of trust given to ALEBA has been won over many decades since 1918, thanks to our open, honest, independent and transparent union activity. For more information see www.aleba.lu.

Chèque en blanc pour un bain de sang social sans précédent !

safeLe 29 juillet 2016, juste avant les vacances parlementaires et dès lors dans une certaine discrétion estivale, le Ministre des Finances Pierre GRAMEGNA a déposé un projet de loi (référence 7024) visant à transposer dans la législation grand-ducale le règlement UE 2015/751 relatif aux commissions d’interchange pour les opérations de paiement liées à une carte, mais qui procède également et surtout à une série d’ajustements et de modifications dans plusieurs législations importantes relatives au secteur financier.

Tout particulièrement, le projet de loi envisage de modifier l’article 41 de la loi du 5 avril 1993 concernant le secret professionnel, afin de faciliter l’externalisation de services. Très concrètement cela signifie que, si le projet de loi devait être adopté, l’obligation du secret professionnel serait considérablement assouplie, et le traitement des données du secteur financier, aujourd’hui assuré obligatoirement au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg, pourrait sans problème être délocalisé à l’étranger.

L’ALEBA considère qu’il est donc plus que temps aujourd’hui de tirer la sonette d’alarme. Pour Laurent MERTZ, Secrétaire Général de l’ALEBA, ce projet de loi est en effet un « chèque en blanc du Gouvernement pour un bain de sang social d’une envergure inédite dans le secteur financier, principalement dans les fonctions informatiques, et ce à très court terme.  Les premières estimations de professionnels du secteur informatique font état de 5.000 postes qui seraient rapidement supprimés, tant dans les PSF que dans les établissements financiers, et cela nous semble malheureusement tout à fait réaliste.  Et c’est bien entendu sans compter les impacts collatéraux, difficiles à estimer à ce stade, mais certains».

En assouplissant radicalement les règles relatives au secret professionnel, c’est-à-dire en permettant le transfert de l’obligation de celui-ci vers des entités non basées au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg, l’ALEBA considère en effet que la porte est grande ouverte pour qu’une grande partie des activités informatiques soient très massivement et à très court terme outsourcées à l’étranger pour y être, évidemment, réalisées à moindres coûts. « Le secteur financier est directement concerné par la 3e révolution industrielle, les FinTech, l’économie digitale et numérique, etc. Ce sont des évolutions qu’il faut pas nier, le secteur doit accepter ces grandes mutations et donc se repenser, c’est inévitable.  Mais ce projet de loi va beaucoup trop loin et, d’initiative, s’apprête à donner une estocade à la Place financière et à ses salariés, alors que la situation est déjà socialement difficile, dans le contexte des évolutions réglementaires contraignantes et coûteuses pour les entreprises, avec des circonstances économiques difficiles et des perspectives à moyen terme guère optimistes » ajoute, lucide, Laurent MERTZ, qui rappelle néanmoins que l’ALEBA n’acceptera toutefois pas ce sabordage en règle.

«Il ne fait pas de doute que derrière cette volonté de faire autant bouger les lignes du secret professionnel se trouvent des lobbies internationaux mais aussi des organisations patronales luxembourgeoises, qui voient là uniquement une occasion pour eux de réduire encore les coûts pour augmenter leurs profits, sans aucune considération pour les salariés. Nous ne pouvons évidemment être d’accord avec cela.  C’est d’autant plus choquant que nous avons le sentiment que cette évolution réglementaire se trame en catimini : nous pensions que nous serions consultés dans ce dossier, mais il n’en n’a rien été, et nous allons donc nous-même demander à rencontrer le Ministre des Finances Pierre GRAMEGNA dans les meilleurs délais, pour défendre notre point de vue, en tant que premier syndicat de la Place financière.  Car il est clair que le Gouvernement a également une responsabilité sociale, et qu’en agissant de la sorte il y fait défaut.  La position sur ce sujet de la Commission de Surveillance du Secteur Financier (CSSF), de l’Association des Banques et Banquiers, Luxembourg (ABBL) et de l’Association Luxembourgeoise des Fonds d’Investissement (ALFI), que le Gouvernement affirme dans sa Fiche d’évaluation du projet de loi 7024 avoir consultées, serait également intéressant…».

L’ALEBA précise enfin que selon ses informations une réunion décisive relative à ce projet de loi se tiendrait ce jeudi 24 novembre au Ministère des Finances.

(Communiqué de presse du 23 novembre 2016)

 

 ***

Contacts presse :

Laurent Mertz, Secrétaire Général (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)
Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)

L’ALEBA compte aujourd’hui plus de 10.000 membres et est de loin le plus grand syndicat de la place financière de Luxembourg.  En novembre 2013, lors des dernières élections des délégations du personnel, l’ALEBA a obtenu la confiance de plus de 65% des électeurs du secteur financier et des secteurs connexes et dispose ainsi plus de 700 représentants de salariés dans plus de 150 entreprises du secteur financier à Luxembourg.  Cette confiance massive des salariés, l’ALEBA l’a acquise au fil des décennies, depuis 1918, à travers un travail syndical ouvert, honnête et indépendant, et par une transparence de sa politique syndicale.  Plus d’infos sur www.aleba.lu.