AideFi: submit your scholarship application before the deadline, even if your file is incomplete!

Many children of cross-border parents have been refused financial aid for AideFi scholarships on the grounds that they did not meet the deadline for submitting their application.

Often students/borderer parents wait until they have all the documents required by the Ministry before submitting their application. This is to be avoided at all costs, as the Luxembourg government does not tolerate exceeding the deadline.

As a non-resident student, there is one very important criterion to be aware of:

AideFi is a substitute aid. It is granted by the Luxembourg government to any person enrolled in an accredited higher education course who meets certain conditions.

Before submitting your application, you must take all the necessary steps in your country of residence to obtain financial aid for your studies.

Please note: the student must respect the deadlines for submitting the application in his/her country of residence. More information on the deadline: here

The official answer, positive or negative, for the current academic year must be attached to the AideFi application in Luxembourg or provided later. Certificates mentioning administrative reasons for refusal are not accepted and certificates must refer to the academic year concerned and be renewed every year.

In the absence of an official reply from the competent authorities in your country of residence, AideFi cannot be granted.

Competent authorities for neighbouring countries:

ALEBA therefore advises you to submit your application, even if incomplete, before the deadline instead of waiting until you have all the documents. Indeed, it is better to complete the file as you go along (wait until you have a file number before sending additional documents) than to submit the application late.

If the documents to be submitted for AideFi include documents that you must receive from a foreign administration, ALEBA suggests that you follow up with this administration by registered letter or by e-mail in order to be able to justify to the Luxembourg State that you have done everything possible to ensure that the file is as complete as possible and within the deadline.

If you receive a refusal concerning AideFi on the grounds that your file was not complete and that you have completed it in the meantime, please send the entire file to ALEBA, which will advise you on the steps to take.

If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact the legal department by sending an email to [email protected]

L’AideFi: Remettez votre demande de bourse avant le délai imposé, même si votre dossier est incomplet !

Beaucoup d’enfants de parents frontaliers se sont vu refuser les aides financières pour les bourses d’études de l’AideFi pour motif de n’avoir pas respecté le délai de la remise de la demande.

Souvent les étudiants/parents frontaliers attendent d’avoir tous les documents requis par le Ministère avant d’envoyer leur demande. Or ceci est absolument à éviter, car l’Etat Luxemmbourgeois ne tolère aucun dépassement du délai. 

En tant qu’étudiant non-résident, il faut faire attention à un critère très important

L’AideFi est une aide de substitution. Elle est octroyée par l’Etat luxembourgeois à toute personne inscrite dans une formation accréditée de l’enseignement supérieur et remplissant certaines conditions.

Avant d’introduire votre demande, vous devez faire toutes les démarches nécessaires dans votre pays de résidence pour y obtenir une aide financière pour vos études.

Attention: l’étudiant doit respecter les dates limites d’introduction de la demande dans son pays de résidence.

Plus d’infos sur le délai : ici

La réponse officielle, positive ou négative, pour l’année académique en cours doit être jointe à la demande de l’AideFi au Luxembourg ou être fournie ultérieurement. Des certificats mentionnant des raisons administratives de refus ne sont pas acceptés et les certificats doivent se référer à l’année académique concernée et être renouvelés chaque année.

En l’absence d’une réponse officielle des autorités compétentes de votre pays de résidence, l’AideFi ne peut pas être accordée.

Autorités compétentes pour les pays limitrophes

Allemagne:
Belgique:
France:

L’ALEBA vous conseille donc d’introduire votre dossier même incomplet avant la date limite au lieu d’attendre d’avoir tous les documents. En effet, il vaut mieux compléter le dossier au fur et à mesure (attendez d’avoir un numéro de dossier avant d’envoyer des documents supplémentaires) que d’introduire la demande tardivement.

Si parmi les documents à remettre pour l’AideFi sont des documents que vous devez recevoir par une administration étrangère, l’ALEBA suggère que vous relanciez cette administration par lettre recommandée ou par courriel afin de pouvoir justifier vis-à-vis de l’Etat Luxembourgeois que vous avez tout entrepris pour que le dossier soit le plus complet possible et ce dans le délai imposé.

Au cas où vous devriez recevoir un refus concernant l’AideFi au motif que votre dossier n’était pas complet et qu’entretemps vous l’avez complété, merci de transmettre l’intégralité du dossier à l’ALEBA qui vous conseillera sur les démarches à suivre.

Pour toute question supplémentaire, n’hésitez pas à contacter le service juridique en envoyant un email à [email protected]