CEDIES study grants: Another victory at the ECJ!

For the third consecutive time on the subject of student grants, the European Court of Justice (ECJ) has again compelled the Luxembourg government to review its legislation on state financial support for higher education.

The amended act of 24 July 2014, which continues to apply, makes a distinction in the treatment of applicant students depending on whether or not they live in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

The act requires non-resident students to either be the child of a worker who has been employed or has practised a profession in Luxembourg for at least five years in the seven years preceding the application.

Such a condition does not apply to students who live in Luxembourg – but this distinction is no more!

This condition on the length of service must now be repealed as the first chamber of the European Court of Justice ruled in students’ favour in its verdict of 10 July 2019 on case C-410/18 – Nicolas Aubriet vs. Ministry of Higher Education and Research.

In 2014, when Mr Aubriet’s request for financial aid was rejected on the grounds that he did not meet the length of work condition and did not have sufficiently close ties with Luxembourg, ALEBA’s lawyer, Stéphanie Jacquet, immediately applied for a judicial review to request clemency from the ministry given the number of years worked by the father, Bruno Aubriet, who had been registered with the Luxembourg social security system since 1991.

However, the ministry did not accept this, basing its opinion on the law as it stood. According to Ms Jacquet, the rejection was based on an overly restrictive condition on the length of work, and did not take into account other factors in Mr Aubriet’s association with Luxembourg. This infringed workers’ freedom of movement within the European Union. The case had to be referred to the ECJ.

ALEBA decided to instigate proceedings before the Administrative Court and secured an ECJ referral in a judgment of 20 June 2018, which ultimately led to this favourable verdict on 10 July 2019, not just for Mr Aubriet, but also for all students who are children of workers not residing in Luxembourg.

It took four long years of proceedings to finally put an end to this discriminatory practice.

ALEBA is now awaiting the new bill announced by the government and, if a new condition is attached, will consult its lawyer to ensure that it complies with European law and does not affect its members’ rights.

The Nicolas Aubriet C-410/18 ruling can be viewed in full on the European Court of Justice website:

https://curia.europa.eu/jcms/upload/docs/application/pdf/2019-07/cp190090en.pdf)

 

Press contacts:

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)

Bourses d’études CEDIES : Une nouvelle victoire à la CJUE !

Pour la 3ème fois consécutive dans le cadre des bourses accordées aux étudiants, la Cour de Justice de l’Union Européenne (CJUE) contraint à nouveau le gouvernement luxembourgeois à revoir sa législation concernant les aides financières de l’Etat pour études supérieures.

Pour rappel, la loi modifiée du 24 juillet 2014, toujours en vigueur, opère une différence de traitement entre les étudiants demandeurs suivant qu’ils résident ou non sur le territoire du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg.

Ainsi pour l’étudiant non-résident, la loi exige qu’il soit l’enfant d’un travailleur ayant été employé ou exercé une activité professionnelle au Luxembourg pendant une durée d’au moins cinq ans sur une période de référence de sept années précédant la demande.

Une telle condition n’est pas prévue pour les étudiants qui résident au Luxembourg. Mais c’est terminé !

En effet, cette condition de durée de travail doit désormais être supprimée puisque la première chambre de la Cour de Justice de l’Union Européenne vient de se prononcer, dans son arrêt rendu le 10 juillet 2019 dans l’affaire C-410/18 – Nicolas Aubriet c/ Ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la Recherche, en faveur de l’étudiant.

En 2014, lorsque la demande d’aide de Monsieur AUBRIET est refusée au motif qu’il ne remplit pas la condition de durée de travail et n’a pas un lien d’intégration suffisamment important avec le Luxembourg, l’avocate de l’ALEBA, Me Stéphanie JACQUET, introduit immédiatement un recours gracieux pour solliciter la clémence du ministre en raison des nombreuses années de travail du père, Bruno AUBRIET, affilié depuis 1991 au Centre Commun.

Le ministre ne veut cependant rien entendre, se basant sur la loi en vigueur. Selon Me JACQUET, la décision de refus est basée sur une condition de durée de travail bien trop restrictive et ne tient pas compte des autres éléments de rattachement de Monsieur AUBRIET avec le Luxembourg. Il y a atteinte à la liberté de circulation des travailleurs au sein de l’Union. Il faut que la CJUE soit saisie.

L’ALEBA décide donc de lancer la procédure devant le Tribunal administratif et obtient la saisine de la CJUE par jugement du 20 juin 2018 qui conduit donc enfin à cet arrêt favorable du 10 juillet 2019 pour Monsieur AUBRIET mais également pour tous les étudiants, enfants de travailleurs non-résidents au Luxembourg.

C’est donc au terme de quatre longues années de procédure que la suppression de cette condition jugée discriminatoire par l’ALEBA aura finalement abouti.

L’ALEBA attend à présent le nouveau projet de loi annoncé par le gouvernement et si une nouvelle condition est prévue, s’assurera avec son avocate qu’elle ne porte pas atteinte aux droits de ses membres concernés et de sa conformité avec le Droit européen.

L’arrêt Nicolas Aubriet C-410/18 est consultable en intégralité sur le site de la Cour de Justice de l’Union Européenne :

https://curia.europa.eu/jcms/upload/docs/application/pdf/2019-07/cp190090fr.pdf?)

 

Contacts presse :

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)