26th day of statutory leave: ALEBA disagrees with the ABBL and ACA recommendations

In its press release of 29 March, ALEBA welcomed the decision by the Chamber of Deputies to pass bill no. 7399 enshrining 9 May in the Labour Code as a legal holiday and increasing the statutory leave allowance to 26 days.

ALEBA called on the employers’ associations ABBL and ACA to promptly provide their members with practical guidance on the introduction of these two additional days.

It is unfortunately clear that ABBL and ACA are paying no heed to the decision of the Chamber of Deputies! In their recommendations, the employer’s associations urge their members not to grant the additional day of leave to employees aged over 50, on the grounds that such employees already have a larger number of leave days. This is unacceptable! These recommendations are not only incompatible with the letter and spirit of the law, but also discriminating against older employees. The law increases the statutory leave allowance, and all employees without exception are therefore entitled to benefit from this increase.

These recommendations also distort the spirit of the Collective Labour Agreements and the agreement in principle concluded between the unions and employers’ associations granting additional days of leave to older employees.

ALEBA intends to make ABBL and ACA see reason, and has asked, together with OGBL and LCGB, for this matter to be put on the agenda of the upcoming Joint Commission meetings.

 

Luxembourg, April, 10th 2019

26e jour de congé légal : L’ALEBA désapprouve la recommandation de l’ABBL et de l’ACA

Dans son communiqué de presse du 29 mars dernier, l’ALEBA se réjouissait de la validation du projet de loi 7399 par la Chambre des Députés, ancrant ainsi dans le Code du Travail le 9 mai en tant jour férié et augmentant le congé légal à 26 jours.

L’ALEBA demandait aux associations patronales ABBL et ACA de rapidement donner à leurs membres les consignes pratiques pour la mise en place de ces deux jours supplémentaires.

Force est de constater que l’ABBL et l’ACA se jouent de la décision de la Chambre des Députés ! Dans leurs recommandations les organisations patronales enjoignent en effet leurs membres à ne pas donner le jour de congé supplémentaire aux salariés âgés de plus de 50 ans, au motif que ceux-ci disposent déjà d’un quota de jours plus importants. C’est inacceptable ! Ces recommandations ne respectent ni la Loi ni son esprit, et sont de surcroit discriminantes vis-à-vis des salariés plus âgés. La loi augmente le congé légal, et ce sont donc tous les salariés qui doivent en profiter, sans exception.

Ces recommandations dénaturent également l’esprit des Conventions Collectives de Travail et l’accord de principe conclu entre les syndicats et les organisations patronale octroyant quelques jours de congés supplémentaires aux salariés plus âgés.

L’ALEBA compte bien faire entendre raison à l’ABBL et à l’ACA, et a demandé, ensemble avec l’OGBL et le LCGB, à ce que le sujet soit à l’ordre du jour des prochaines réunions des Commissions paritaires, prévues prochainement.

Luxembourg, le 10 avril 2019.