TULLETT PREBON Luxembourg: ALEBA refers the case to the Office National de Conciliation

On 6 October, the social partners met the Management of Tullett Prebon Luxembourg (brokerage firm) in connection with Tullett Prebon London’s planned closure of its Luxembourg offices. “The objective was to initiate discussions on establishing a social plan, but in the end the Tullett Prebon representatives attended only three of the eight planned meetings, which is not acceptable and demonstrates the firm’s lack of interest in the fate of its employees”, said ALEBA’s Félix Walisch.

“Accordingly, with the support of the firm’s employees, we had no choice but to refer the case to the Office National de Conciliation. The first meeting was held on Monday, 6 November”, he added.

The main, fully justified demand of the 14 employees, their representatives and ALEBA is that the social plan should reflect the current market conditions in Luxembourg, and the needs of the 14 employees who have become the victims of this strategic decision by Tullett Prebon London.

ALEBA’s key demands include, in particular, a realistic training budget that is sufficient to enable the 14 employees in question to remain competitive on the labour market and/or to facilitate their professional retraining, but also severance pay based on their age and length of service, with the possibility to convert this compensation into an extended notice period. “Moreover, many employees have worked for the firm for a significant length of time, in some cases as many as 30 years”, explained Félix Walisch.

A second meeting is due to be held on 14 November before the conciliator, and a third is scheduled for Tuesday, 21 November. ALEBA’s aim is to find a rapid solution for these 14 employees, so that they are in no way financially shortchanged and can reposition themselves for new job opportunities as quickly as possible.

Tullett Prebon Luxembourg still had around 40 employees in 2012, “but it is now clear that the constant pressure being placed by the Management on employees for the past few months to accept pay cuts to “save” their jobs and the Luxembourg offices of Tullett Prebon would have achieved nothing”, acknowledged Félix Walisch with regret, adding that the company now has only 14 employees.

 

Press contacts:

Laurent Mertz, Secretary General (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com/+352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu/+352 671 223 228)

 

Contacts for the Tullett Prebon case:

Alessandra Giuliano, Head of Coordination (Alessandra.GIULIANO@aleba.lu/+352 223 228 304)

Felix Walisch, Coordination (felix.walisch@aleba.lu/+352 223 228 1)

TULLETT PREBON Luxembourg : l’ALEBA saisit l’Office National de Conciliation !

Le 6 octobre dernier, les partenaires sociaux ont rencontré la Direction de Tullett Prebon Luxembourg (société de courtage) dans le contexte de la fermeture annoncée des bureaux de Luxembourg par Tullett Prebon Londres. « L’objectif était de commencer à discuter la mise en place d’un plan social, mais finalement, sur les 8 réunions prévues, les représentants de Tullett Prebon ne se sont présentés qu’à seulement 3 réunions, ce qui n’est pas acceptable et prouve leur manque d’intérêt pour le sort de leurs salariés ! » indique Félix Walisch, de l’ALEBA.

« Nous n’avons dès lors pas eu d’autre choix, avec le soutien des salariés, que de saisir l’Office National de Conciliation. La première réunion s’est tenue ce lundi 6 novembre. » ajoute-t-il.

La revendication principale et légitime des 14 salariés, de leurs représentants et de l’ALEBA est que le plan social corresponde aux conditions actuelles et réelles de la Place financière, ainsi qu’aux besoins des 14 salariés victimes de cette décision stratégique de Tullett Prebon Londres.

Un budget formation réaliste et suffisant visant à maintenir les 14 salariés concernés compétitifs sur le marché du travail ou/et de permettre la reconversion professionnelle, mais également des indemnités liées à l’âge et à l’ancienneté, avec une possibilité de convertir ces indemnités en préavis prolongé, sont notamment des revendications incontournables de l’ALEBA. « De nombreux salariés ont d’ailleurs une importante ancienneté, pouvant atteindre 30 ans » précise encore Félix Walisch.

Une deuxième réunion est désormais prévue le 14 novembre devant le conciliateur, et une troisième le mardi 21 novembre. Pour l’ALEBA, l’objectif est de trouver rapidement une solution pour ces 14 salariés, qu’ils ne soient en aucun cas financièrement lésés et qu’ils puissent aussi vite que possible se repositionner sur le marché du travail.

Pour rappel Tullett Prebon Luxembourg comptait encore une quarantaine de salariés en 2012, « mais depuis plusieurs mois une pression constante a été exercée par la Direction sur les salariés afin qu’ils acceptent de réduire leurs salaires pour « sauver » leurs emplois et le site Luxembourgeois de Tullett Prebon, mais on voit aujourd’hui que cela n’aura mené à rien » regrette Félix Walisch, en précisant que la société ne compte plus aujourd’hui que 14 salariés.

Contacts presse :

Laurent Mertz, Secrétaire Général (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)

 

Sur le dossier Tullett Prebon :

Alessandra Giuliano, Head of Coordination (Alessandra.GIULIANO@aleba.lu / +352 223 228 304)

Felix Walisch, Coordination (felix.walisch@aleba.lu / +352 223 228 1)