ALEBA pledges its wholehearted support for the Luxembourg Digital Skills Bridge project

On Tuesday 16 January 2018, Laurent Mertz, Secretary General, and Frank Ertel, a member of the Executive Committee, met Nadine Welter and Gary Tunsch (Luxembourg Ministry of Labour, Employment and the Social and Solidarity Economy) together with Laurent Probst (PricewaterhouseCoopers Luxembourg), who are responsible for the new Luxembourg Digital Skills Bridge project.

As a reminder, the aim of the Skills Bridge project is to anticipate major technological changes and their impact on employment and skills across all business sectors. The project focuses on training and the acquisition of new skills enabling employees to access new job vacancies, with the government providing specific financial support for the employer for the training process. The project is unique in that it matches the employee skills that are already held or that will be acquired with the characteristics and requirements of existing job vacancies.

This meeting was a follow-up to previous exchanges on this issue with ALEBA President, Robert Scolati, during 2017, with the aim of assessing the project’s progress. Indeed, ALEBA noted that major progress has been made and that the professional approaches have now been decided upon and adopted. For Laurent Mertz, Secretary General of ALEBA: “The Skills Bridge project is exceptional and has our full support. Now, more than ever, we must anticipate developments related to the Fourth Industrial Revolution and digitalisation, and implement innovative solutions based on professional methodologies as quickly as possible. This is all the more important and necessary within the financial sector, where employment is particularly sensitive to new technologies.”

The principles of the Luxembourg Digital Skills Bridge project are currently being finalised, and, once final approval is granted by the Steering Committee, a test is due to start in March 2018, which will target 300 people in the financial sector. “As the largest union in the financial sector, ALEBA considers an initiative such as the Bridge Skills project essential. We know that banks, insurance companies and other financial professionals have to keep reinventing themselves in order to remain profitable and competitive, taking into account the advent of all of these new technologies affecting employment and professions in the financial sector, even if it is difficult to quantify the extent of their impact currently. We must therefore do everything possible to anticipate the disappearance of any function that would lead to the loss of a job; anything contributing to prevention rather than cure is very important, and Bridge Skills is a part of this philosophy,” explained Laurent Mertz. At the same time, he issued a reminder that ALEBA has already put training at the heart of its demands during negotiations for the renewal of collective bargaining agreements for the banking and insurance sectors.

Press contacts:

Laurent Mertz, Secretary General ( / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy ( / +352 671 223 228)

For the Luxembourg Digital Skills Bridge project:

Laurent Mertz, Secretary General ( / +352 621 232 295)

Soutien sans réserve de la part de l’ALEBA pour le projet Luxembourg Digital Skills Bridge

Mardi 16 janvier dernier, Laurent MERTZ, Secrétaire Général, et Frank ERTEL, Membre du Comité Exécutif, rencontraient Mme Nadine WELTER et M. Gary TUNSCH (Ministère du Travail, de l’Emploi et de l’Economie sociale et solidaire) de même que M. Laurent PROBST (PricewaterhouseCoopers Luxembourg), en charge du nouveau projet Luxembourg Digital Skills Bridge.

Pour rappel, le projet Skills Bridge vise à anticiper les grands changements technologiques et leur impact sur les emplois et les compétences, dans tous les secteurs d’activité, en misant sur la formation et l’acquisition de nouvelles compétences permettant aux salariés d’accéder à de nouveaux emplois non pourvus, avec un soutien financier de l’Etat pour l’employeur en ce qui concerne le processus de formation notamment. L’originalité du projet réside notamment dans le matching qui serait réalisé entre les compétences, déjà détenues ou à acquérir, des salariés, et les caractéristiques et les besoins des emplois existants à pourvoir.

Cette rencontre faisait suite aux précédents échanges de vue sur ce dossier avec le Président de l’ALEBA Robert SCOLATI, courant 2017, et avait pour objectif de faire le point sur les avancées du projet. L’ALEBA a de fait pu constater les importants progrès réalisés, et les approches professionnelles désormais décidées et retenues. Pour Laurent MERTZ, Secrétaire Général de l’ALEBA : « Le projet Skills Bridge est exceptionnel, et a vraiment tout notre support. Il faut en effet, plus que jamais, anticiper les évolutions liées à la quatrième révolution industrielle et à la digitalisation, en mettant en place aussi vite que possible des solutions innovantes basées sur des méthodologies professionnelles. C’est d’autant plus important et nécessaire au sein du secteur financier, où l’emploi est particulièrement sensible aux nouvelles technologies ».

Les principes du projet Luxembourg Digital Skills Bridge sont en cours de finalisation, et, après validation définitive par le Comité de Pilotage, une phase test devrait démarrer en mars 2018, visant notamment 300 personnes dans le secteur financier. « Pour l’ALEBA, syndicat majoritaire dans le secteur financier, une initiative comme Bridge Skills est essentielle, car nous savons que les banques, les assurances et les autres professionnels de la place financière doivent se réinventer, pour rester profitables et concurrentiels, en tenant compte de l’arrivée de toutes ces nouvelles technologies qui auront un impact sur l’emploi et sur les métiers de la finance, même si cet impact est à ce stade encore difficile à estimer. Tout doit donc être fait pour au plus tôt prévenir la disparition d’une fonction avec comme conséquence la perte d’un emploi, tout ce qui concourt à « prévenir plutôt que guérir » est très important, et Bridge Skills s’inscrit dans cette philosophie » précise encore Laurent MERTZ, tout en rappelant que l’ALEBA a déjà mis la formation au centre de ses revendications, dans le cadre des négociations pour le renouvellement des conventions collectives de travail des secteurs des banques et des assurances.

 

Contacts presse :

Laurent Mertz, Secrétaire Général (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)

Sur le dossier Luxembourg Digital Skills Bridge :

Laurent Mertz, Secrétaire Général (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)