Social plan signed at Turkiye Garanti Bankasi A.S. Luxembourg Branch

After many hours of negotiations by personnel representatives, the ALEBA, LCGB-SESF, and OGBL-SBA unions, and the management of Garanti Bankasi A.S. Luxembourg Branch, agreement on the details of a social plan was reached on Monday 28th March 2017. This branch is scheduled to close on 30th June 2017, with all activities being transferred to the Malta office.

Of the 14 employees concerned by this closure, 11 will be made redundant at the time of closure, with two transferred to the Maltese and Dutch branches.

In the end, the unions were able to negotiate beneficial departure terms for staff, such as redundancy payments above the legal minimum, the option of a prolonged notice period, payment linked to each person’s family situation, and a substantial budget for training and outplacement.

However, ALEBA, LCGB-SESF, and OGBL-SBA were united in regretting that workers in the Luxembourg financial sector are, once again, paying the price for banks’ unrestrained pursuit of profit, which, increasingly, is required by the mother company. This is particularly regrettable as it has been these same employees who have contributed to the development and success of the businesses they work for.

Press release of the 28th March 2017

Plan social signé chez Turkiye Garanti Bankasi A.S. Luxembourg Branch

Après de longues négociations, les représentants du personnel, les syndicats ALEBA, LCGB-SESF et OGBL-SBA et la Direction de Garanti Bank SA Luxembourg Branch ont trouvé un accord ce lundi 27 mars 2017 en ce qui concerne les modalités d’un plan social. Pour rappel la fermeture de Garanti Bank SA Luxembourg Branch prendra effet au 30 juin 2017, et l’ensemble de ses activités seront transférées vers la branche à Malte.

Parmi les quatorze salariés concernés par cette fermeture, onze seront licenciés à la fermeture de l’établissement, et deux seront transférés dans d’autres branches européennes de la banque, à Malte et aux Pays-Bas.

Au terme d’âpres discussions les syndicats ont pu obtenir pour les salariés licenciés des conditions de départ avantageuses, comme une indemnisation extra-légale, la possibilité de préavis prolongé, une indemnité liée à la situation familiale, un budget conséquent pour de la formation et de l’outplacement.

Unanimement l’ALEBA, le LCGB-SESF et l’OGBL-SBA regrettent toutefois qu’une nouvelle fois des travailleurs fassent les frais de la course effrénée au profit que les établissements de crédit, de plus en plus souvent guidés par leur maison mère, se livrent sur la Place financière, alors que ce sont pourtant ces mêmes salariés qui ont contribué au développement et au succès des entreprises qui les emploient.

Communiqué de presse publié le 28 mars 2017