Social plan signed at Tullett Prebon Luxembourg

Back on 9 November, ALEBA announced that the negotiations on the social plan at Tullett Prebon Luxembourg had not culminated in agreement and that the Office National de Conciliation had been informed accordingly.

However, on Tuesday, 21 November 2017 – at the eleventh hour in the conciliation process – the 14 employees, staff delegates, and their union ALEBA reached agreement with company representatives and a social plan was signed. Under the plan, each employee will receive a very substantial outplacement and training budget amounting to EUR 16,000 as well as severance pay calculated on the basis of age and length of service – up to 30 years in the case of some employees.

The negotiations were protracted and intense, as the employees feel they were misled by their employer.

Tullett Prebon Luxembourg, which still had around 40 employees in 2012, reduced its workforce and also put enormous pressure on some employees to accept a reduction in their salaries in order to “save” their jobs as well as Tullett Prebon’s Luxembourg operation. The employees now say that not only were all of these sacrifices made in vain but worst of all that the sacrifices had an adverse impact on the calculation of unemployment benefit and re-employment support.

ALEBA advises employees who find themselves in a similar position to be on guard and hopes that Tullett Prebon Luxembourg will serve as an example to other employees and will not be repeated.

 

Press release on November 23, 2017

 

Press contacts:

Laurent Mertz, Secretary General (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)

 

Contacts for the Tullett Prebon case:

Alessandra Giuliano, Head of Coordination (Alessandra.GIULIANO@aleba.lu / +352 223 228 304)

Felix Walisch, Coordination (felix.walisch@aleba.lu / +352 223 228 1)

Plan social signé chez Tullett Prebon Luxembourg

Pour rappel, le 9 novembre dernier, l’ALEBA annonçait que les négociations du plan social chez Tullett Prebon Luxembourg n’avaient pas abouti à un accord et que l’Office National de Conciliation avait été saisi.

Le mardi 21 novembre 2017, à la toute dernière minute de la conciliation, les 14 salariés, la Délégation du Personnel et leur syndicat ALEBA ont trouvé un accord avec les représentants de la société et un plan social a été signé. Dans ce plan social, chaque salarié bénéficie d’un budget outplacement et formation très important de l’ordre de 16.000 € et d’indemnités calculées sur base de leur âge et de leur ancienneté, qui atteint jusqu’à 30 ans pour certains salariés.

Les négociations furent longues et intenses, car les salariés se sont sentis trompés par leur employeur.

Pour rappel, Tullett Prebon Luxembourg, qui comptait encore une quarantaine de salariés en 2012, a réduit les effectifs et a, de plus, exercé une pression énorme sur certains salariés afin que ceux-ci acceptent de réduire leurs salaires pour « sauver » leurs emplois et le site luxembourgeois de Tullett Prebon. Aujourd’hui, les salariés constatent non seulement que tous ces sacrifices ont été faits en vain, mais pire, ils ont des conséquences défavorables, le cas échéant, pour le calcul d’indemnité de chômage et d’aide au réemploi.

L’ALEBA met en garde les salariés qui se trouvent dans des situations similaires et espère que le cas de Tullett Prebon Luxembourg servira d’exemple pour d’autres salariés et ne se répète plus.

 

Communiqué de presse du 23 novembre 2017.

 

Contacts presse :

Laurent Mertz, Secrétaire Général (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)

Sur le dossier Tullett Prebon :

Alessandra Giuliano, Head of Coordination (Alessandra.GIULIANO@aleba.lu / +352 223 228 304)

Felix Walisch, Coordination (felix.walisch@aleba.lu / +352 223 228 1)