Social plan signed at D.A.S. Luxembourg S.A.

On Tuesday, 6 February 2018, ALEBA, OGBL and LCGB agreed on a social plan at D.A.S. Luxembourg S.A.

At the beginning of January, D.A.S. Luxembourg’s parent company, ERGO Group, announced its decision to sell the client portfolio of its Luxembourg subsidiary to ALLIANZ Benelux S.A. ALLIANZ wanted to retain only the 9-strong Claims department, thus leaving 15 employees out of a job, a number of whom had service records of more than 20 years.

As a result of the determined and constructive efforts by the unions and open social dialogue with the chairman of ERGO’s board of directors:

  • One more employee has been transferred to ALLIANZ, bringing the total to 10;
  • Favourable and dignified redundancy conditions have been negotiated and accepted, in addition to the minimum legal requirements, such as: immediate exemption from working the notice period, an additional payment for employees tasked with handling the liquidation of D.A.S. Luxembourg, non-contractual compensation, compensation associated with employees’ family situation and finally the allocation of a significant training/outplacement budget;
  • Senior executives (who in principle are not covered by social plans) have also been made eligible for the social plan, and therefore qualify for the same conditions as employees covered by collective agreements.

Safouane Jaouid, Head of Legal at ALEBA, stated: “In what continue to be challenging circumstances, we at ALEBA are proud to have been able to put in place a social plan of such quality, thereby protecting employees who are losing their jobs. Indeed, I hope that this plan will serve as an example in the insurance sector, and that other companies considering redundancies in future will also fulfill their social responsibility.”

ALEBA nevertheless regrets that, once again in the Luxembourg market, workers are bearing the cost of global strategies in a quest for profit that fails to address the tragic human implications for those facing dismissal.

 

Press contacts:

Laurent Mertz, Secretary General (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)

Contact for the D.A.S. case: 

Safouane Jaouid, Head of Legal (legal@aleba.lu / +352 223 228 1)

Plan social signé chez D.A.S. Luxembourg S.A.

Ce mardi 6 février 2018, l’ALEBA, l’OGBL et le LCGB ont signé un plan social chez D.A.S. Luxembourg S.A.

Pour rappel, le groupe ERGO, maison mère de D.A.S. Luxembourg, avait annoncé début janvier sa décision de vendre le portefeuille clients de sa filiale luxembourgeoise à ALLIANZ Benelux S.A. De son côté, ALLIANZ souhaitait reprendre uniquement l’effectif du département « Sinistres », soit 9 personnes, laissant dès lors 15 salariés sur le carreau, dont certains disposant d’une ancienneté de plus de 20 ans.

Finalement, grâce à un travail syndical sérieux et constructif, mais aussi grâce à un dialogue social ouvert avec le Président du conseil d’administration de ERGO :

  • Un salarié de plus, soit 10 au total, a été transféré chez ALLIANZ ;
  • Des conditions de départ favorables et dignes ont été négociées et acceptées, en sus du volet légal, telles que : la dispense dès le départ, un bonus supplémentaire pour les salariés devant s’occuper de la liquidation de D.A.S. Luxembourg, une indemnisation extra-légale, une indemnité liée à la situation familiale, et enfin un important budget formations/outplacement ;
  • Les salariés ayant le statut de « cadre supérieur » (donc en principe non-couverts par les plans sociaux) ont aussi pu intégrer le plan social, et dès lors bénéficier des mêmes conditions que les salariés conventionnés.

Safouane JAOUID, Head of Legal de l’ALEBA, précise : « Du côté de l’ALEBA nous sommes fiers, dans ces circonstances toujours difficiles, d’avoir pu mettre en place un plan social de cette qualité, en faveur des salariés qui perdent leur emploi. J’espère d’ailleurs que ce plan saura servir de référence dans le secteur des assurances, et que si d’autres entreprises devaient envisager demain des suppressions économiques de postes, elles sauront également assumer leur responsabilité sociale ».

L’ALEBA regrette néanmoins qu’une fois encore, sur la place luxembourgeoise, des travailleurs fassent les frais de stratégies internationales, dans une course au profit qui ignore les conséquences humaines dramatiques pour les salariés licenciés.

 

Contacts presse :

Laurent Mertz, Secrétaire Général (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)

Sur le dossier D.A.S. Luxembourg :

Safouane Jaouid, Head of Legal (legal@aleba.lu / +352 223 228 1)