Social plan at CREDEM INTERNATIONAL (Luxembourg) S.A.: Referral to the ONC

In late July 2018, the ALEBA, OGBL-Secteur Financier and LCGB-SESF unions were invited to participate in negotiations on a social plan at CREDEM INTERNATIONAL (Luxembourg) S.A. for all 15 of the bank’s employees. Unfortunately, the negotiations proved unsuccessful and the case was referred to the Office National de Conciliation (National Conciliation Office – ONC) on Thursday 9 August. In this press release, the unions outline the situation as it stands.

CREDEM has decided to cease operations in Luxembourg after 45 years. The success of the business over that period (the bank achieved average annual profits of more than EUR 18 million for the last 10 years) may be attributed to the bank’s loyal and faithful employees, who have been in their post for an average of 20 years.

In light of this, ALEBA, OGBL-Secteur Financier and LCGB-SESF are outraged by the way in which the management is proceeding: negotiators have not been given the final say as the group’s management in Italy is refusing to negotiate with the unions. Moreover, the management’s preparations were woefully inadequate: they arrived on the first day with a draft consisting of a grand total of three lines! Lastly, the unions wish to stress that the documents produced by the bank’s lawyer are not an accurate reflection of the negotiations; in reality, the lawyer repeatedly returned to points that had already been agreed. This has never been seen before in negotiations on social plans in the financial sector.

At the end of the legal negotiation period, the proposal put forward by CREDEM was deemed disrespectful and insulting by its employees, who will lose their jobs and be left in difficult financial circumstances, with all of the social and familial consequences that may arise as a result. Indeed, the current proposal falls far short of practices normally applied in similar situations and does not even equate to a quarter of what is usually accepted in the Luxembourg banking sector.

ALEBA, OGBL-Secteur Financier and LCGB-SESF therefore strongly condemn this unacceptable attitude. It demonstrates the bank’s reluctance to honour its social responsibilities towards its employees, and this is with the assistance and advice of its legal counsel.

Employees who have made sacrifices for the bank over the years are now being offered next to nothing by the management. They will not stand for it. In-house protests are already underway and a protest outside the ONC will be organised in the near future.

 

Press release by ALEBA, OGBL-Secteur Financier and LCGB-SESF, August, 13th, 2018

Contacts for the CREDEM case:

Matthias Lindauer, Legal Adviser at ALEBA, matthias.lindauer@aleba.lu

Eddy Girardi, Coordinator at ALEBA, eddy.girardi@aleba.lu

Plan Social chez CREDEM INTERNATIONAL (Luxembourg) S.A. : Saisine de l’ONC

Les syndicats ALEBA, OGBL-Secteur Financier et LCGB-SESF ont été invités fin-juillet 2018 à négocier un plan social à la Banque CREDEM INTERNATIONAL (Luxembourg) S.A. qui va impacter la totalité du personnel, c’est-à-dire 15 salariés. Malheureusement, les négociations ont échoué et l’Office National de Conciliation (ONC) a été saisi le jeudi 9 août. Les syndicats font le point sur la situation.

CREDEM, qui a pu s’appuyer sur des employés fidèles (ancienneté moyenne des salariés de 20 ans), loyaux et qui ont fait sa prospérité (plus de 18 Millions d’Euros de bénéfice annuel moyen sur les 10 dernières années), a décidé de fermer son activité au Luxembourg après 45 années de présence au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg.

L’ALEBA, l’OGBL-Secteur Financier et le LCGB-SESF sont révoltés par les méthodes de travail de la Direction : les négociateurs ne sont pas les décideurs, la Direction du groupe en Italie refusant de négocier avec les syndicats. En outre, la Direction s’est présentée le premier jour sans aucune préparation, avec un projet tenant en … trois lignes (!!!). Enfin, les syndicats constatent que les documents transmis par l’avocat de la Banque ne reflètent pas la réalité des négociations, l’avocat revenant régulièrement sur les points déjà négociés. C’est du jamais vu dans les négociations de plans sociaux dans le secteur financier !

A l’issue de la période légale de négociation, la proposition présentée par la CREDEM est jugée irrespectueuse et insultante par ses salariés qui vont perdre leur emploi et se retrouver dans des situations financières difficiles, avec toutes les conséquences sociales et familiales qui peuvent en découler. En effet, la proposition actuelle est nettement en-dessous de ce qui se pratique habituellement dans des situations similaires et ne correspond même pas au quart de ce qui est d’usage dans le Secteur Bancaire au Luxembourg.

L’ALEBA, l’OGBL-Secteur Financier et le LCGB-SESF dénoncent dès lors aujourd’hui fermement cette attitude inacceptable, qui montre que la Banque ne veut pas prendre ses responsabilités sociales face à ses salariés et ce avec le concours et sur les conseils de leur avocat.

Les salariés ne sauraient se contenter des miettes proposées par la Direction aux vues des sacrifices qu’ils ont consenti depuis de nombreuses années au plus grand bénéfice de la Banque. Des actions de protestation ont déjà commencé en interne et une manifestation devant l’ONC sera organisée prochainement.

 

Communiqué par l’ALEBA, l’OGBL-Secteur Financier et le LCGB-SESF le 13 août 2018.

 

Personnes de contact sur le dossier CREDEM :

Matthias LINDAUER, Legal Advisor de l’ALEBA, matthias.lindauer@aleba.lu

Eddy GIRARDI, Coordinateur de l’ALEBA, eddy.girardi@aleba.lu