Another legal victory for ALEBA at the Court of Cassation!

In 2016, ALEBA filed a lawsuit in Luxembourg calling for its Employee Representative to be reinstated in his post at a Japanese bank (Read the press release from 19 June 2017). The case was quickly settled in ALEBA’s favour, and a ruling on 23 March 2017 by Luxembourg’s Court of Appeal instructed the bank to allow the employee/ALEBA Employee Representative to return to his role.

However, the bank refused to comply with the court order. Given the gravity of the situation, ALEBA then arranged a meeting with the Minister of Labour and the Inspectorate of Labour and Mines (ITM), and also organised a number of protests outside the bank.

The ITM imposed a hefty fine on the bank for refusing to comply with the Court of Appeal ruling. Meanwhile, thanks to support from the UNI Global Union, ALEBA managed to organise a meeting with the bank’s parent company in Japan and thereby generate awareness and raise the profile of this case on the international stage.

Still refusing to comply with legal rulings and Luxembourg law, the bank then decided (a few months ago) to take the case to the Court of Cassation. That did not turn out so well for them – on 14 June, the Court of Cassation confirmed the ruling of the Court of Appeal instructing the bank to reinstate its employee/the ALEBA Employee Representative.

“This is another legal victory for ALEBA. But, above all, this case is yet more proof that ALEBA is prepared to do whatever it takes to defend and protect employees and employee representatives in the financial sector. We do not accept and will never accept such social injustices or failures on the part of employers to follow Luxembourg laws and rules,” stated Roberto Scolati, President of ALEBA, adding that the ALEBA Employee Representative is currently in the process of returning to his post.

 

Press contacts: 

Laurent Mertz, Secretary General (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu/ +352 671 223 228)

 

Case contact: 

Safouane Jaouid, Head of Legal (safouane.jaouid@aleba.lu / +352 223 228 1)

Nouvelle victoire judiciaire de l’ALEBA en Cassation !

Courant 2016 l’ALEBA initiait une procédure devant la Justice luxembourgeoise, pour que son Délégué du Personnel soit réintégré à son poste de travail au sein d’une banque japonaise (Lire le communiqué de presse du 19.06.2017). Rapidement la Justice donnait raison à l’ALEBA, et la Cour d’Appel de Luxembourg, dans un arrêt du 23 mars 2017, condamnait effectivement la Banque à réintégrer le salarié et Délégué du Personnel ALEBA dans sa fonction.

La Banque avait toutefois refusé d’exécuter cette décision de justice ! Devant la gravité de la situation, l’ALEBA avait alors sollicité non seulement des entrevues auprès du Ministre du Travail et de l’Inspection du Travail et des Mines (ITM), mais avait également organisé plusieurs piquets de protestation devant la Banque.

Pour ne pas respecter la décision de la Cour d’Appel, la Banque avait été condamnée par l’ITM au paiement d’une lourde amende. De son côté, l’ALEBA réussissait à se faire entendre jusqu’à la maison mère de la banque au Japon, via le renfort du syndicat international UNI Global Union, générant par là même un retentissement et une ampleur internationaux à ce dossier.

La Banque, tout en ne se conformant toujours pas aux décisions des juridictions et aux lois luxembourgeoises, a alors décidé, il y a quelques mois, de porter l’affaire à la Cour de Cassation. Mal lui en a pris, puisque le 14 juin dernier la Cour de Cassation a confirmé le jugement de la Cour d’Appel, intimant à la Banque de réintégrer son salarié et Délégué du Personnel de l’ALEBA !

« C’est une nouvelle victoire judiciaire pour l’ALEBA ! Mais surtout ce dossier prouve, une fois encore, que l’ALEBA est prête à aller jusqu’au bout pour défendre et protéger les salariés et les délégués du personnel dans le secteur financier ! Nous n’acceptons pas et n’accepterons jamais ni pareilles injustices sociales, ni le non-respect des lois et règles luxembourgeoises, de la part d’un employeur » précise Roberto SCOLATI, Président de l’ALEBA, qui indique que la réintégration du Délégué du Personnel ALEBA est désormais en cours.

 

Contacts presse:

Laurent MERTZ, Secrétaire Général (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra CARVALHO, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)

 

Contact dossier :

Safouane JAOUID, Head of Legal, safouane.jaouid@aleba.lu / +352 223 228-1)