NEW COLLECTIVE LABOUR AGREEMENT FOR BANK EMPLOYEES: UNACCEPTABLE!

To all banking sector employees,

On 24 November 2017, the ALEBA, OGBL-SBA and LCGB-SESF unions denounced the Collective Labour Agreement 2017 and called for negotiations to begin on a replacement. We also submitted a full, detailed list of our collective demands to ABBL. Lastly, we called for our first plenary meeting to be convened swiftly in order to update members on the official negotiations and discussions conducted since… December 2016.

This first meeting took place on 9 February 2018: where exactly does that leave us now?

Yes, the principle of a new classification system offering greater transparency and only four groups of roles, weighted via a clear matrix, was singled out for discussion and could enjoy union support, provided that the necessary checks and balances are implemented to prevent abuse.

Yes, the well-being, employability and training sections showed promise, particularly from the perspective of the unions, which view these as crucial matters.

However, inflexible management positions prevent us from finding common ground on two other highly important issues:

Remuneration: ABBL has negated the very principle of career progression by rejecting linear salary increases, and is proposing to do away with three-yearly guarantees, the June bonus and the seniority allowance. All three would be replaced by a single “loyalty” bonus, for a nominal amount. Lastly, they are advocating lower departure thresholds for half of all new roles.

Working hours: ABBL is refusing to apply the new law of December 2017 on the organisation of working hours.

Given the ongoing growth of the banking sector, the unions obviously view this as UNACCEPTABLE!

That is why we have called upon ABBL to reconsider its positions before the next meeting scheduled for 1 March 2018.

We will continue to keep you posted on all the details of seemingly endless – and yet essential – negotiations that affect you all, whether or not you are covered by the collective agreement.

Please be prepared: it will undoubtedly prove essential to show ABBL once and for all that we deserve better than a cut-price, bare bones, bargain basement Collective Labour Agreement in which salary guarantee mechanisms would be watered down to a strictly discretionary (purely merit-based) system.

If tangible progress is not made by the end of March 2018, ALEBA, OGBL-SBA and LCGB-SESF will see this as evidence of a lack of willingness on the part of ABBL to reach an agreement that would guarantee suitable working and salary conditions for employees in the sector, meet the pressing need to modernise our Collective Labour Agreement, and reflect the development of the Luxembourg financial market. Unfortunately, we will then be forced to draw our own conclusions.

Banking sector employees: the ALEBA, OGBL-SBA and LCGB-SESF unions are standing shoulder to shoulder as one, more determined than ever to negotiate and implement a fair and socially just new collective labour agreement, reflecting the realities and challenges of our business sector as well as the strength of the financial market.

However, we feel that it is important to make you aware that we are currently more concerned than we have been at any time in the social history of the financial sector by the trajectory of the negotiations and the nonsensical positions taken by ABBL. 

Nevertheless, we remain deeply committed to continuing to defend your rights and interests, trusting that we will be able to count on your support if we should call upon you in the near future.

 

Issued by the ALEBA, OGBL-SBA and LCGB-SESF unions

Luxembourg, 20 February 2018.

NOUVELLE CCT DES BANQUES : INACCEPTABLE !

Salariées et salariés du secteur bancaire,

Le 24 novembre 2017 nous, les syndicats ALEBA, OGBL-SBA et LCGB-SESF, avons dénoncé la Convention Collective de Travail 2017, et demandé l’ouverture de négociations en vue de son renouvellement. Nous avons également remis à l’ABBL notre catalogue de revendications commun, complet et détaillé. Nous avons enfin demandé l’organisation rapide d’une première réunion plénière, de manière à faire le point sur les négociations officielles et les discussions entamées depuis… décembre 2016.

Cette première réunion s’est tenue le 9 février 2018 : où en sommes-nous désormais concrètement ?

Oui, le principe d’un nouveau système de classifications davantage transparent, avec seulement 4 groupes de fonctions, pesées via une matrice claire, a été identifié et pourrait avoir le support syndical, pour autant encore qu’il soit rajouté les garde-fous nécessaires pour éviter les abus.

Oui, les volets well-being, employabilité et formation semblent sur la bonne voie, et notamment du côté syndical pour qui ces thèmes sont primordiaux.

Mais les positions dogmatiques patronales empêchent toute identification de convergence sur deux autres volets très importants :

rémunération : l’ABBL balaie tout principe de dynamisme de carrière en refusant toute augmentation linéaire, propose de supprimer garanties triennales, prime de juin et prime d’ancienneté en les remplaçant toutes les trois par une prime unique « de fidélité » d’une valeur moindre, et suggère enfin pour la moitié des nouvelles fonctions des seuils de départs rabaissés !

temps de travail : l’ABBL refuse d’appliquer la nouvelle loi de décembre 2017 relative à l’organisation du temps de travail !

Pour les syndicats, dans un secteur bancaire qui demeure florissant, c’est INACCEPTABLE !

C’est pourquoi nous avons demandé à l’ABBL de revoir ses positions en vue de la prochaine réunion prévue le 1er mars 2018.

Nous continuerons à vous informer, dans le détail, des résultats de ces négociations qui n’en finissent pas, alors qu’elles sont pourtant essentielles et vous concernent toutes et tous, salariées et salariés, conventionnés et HC.

Soyez également prêts : il faudra sans doute, une fois pour toutes, montrer à l’ABBL que tous nous méritons mieux qu’une Convention Collective de Travail bradée, dégradée, au rabais, sans plus de mécanismes de garantie de rémunération, seulement strictement discrétionnaire puisque basée principalement sur le mérite.

Pour l’ALEBA, l’OGBL-SBA et le LCGB-SESF, si des avancées concrètes devaient ne pas voir le jour avec fin mars 2018, cela prouverait qu’il n’y pas de volonté de la part de l’ABBL d’arriver à un accord garantissant des conditions de travail et de rémunération adéquats pour les salariés du secteur, tout en répondant au nécessaire souci de modernisation de notre Convention Collective de Travail, et en tenant compte des évolutions de la place financière au Luxembourg. Il faudrait alors malheureusement en tirer les enseignements.

Salariées et salariés du secteur bancaire, les syndicats ALEBA, OGBL-SBA et LCGB-SESF, dans un front commun uni et soudé, sont plus que jamais décidés à négocier et mettre en place un nouveau contrat collectif juste et social, qui tient compte des réalités et des défis de notre secteur d’activités, mais également la bonne santé de la Place financière.

Toutefois, comme jamais encore auparavant dans l’histoire sociale du secteur financier, nous sommes très inquiets du déroulement actuel des négociations et des positions insensées défendues par l’ABBL, et nous tenions à vous en faire part.

Nous réaffirmons néanmoins notre engagement très ferme à continuer à défendre vos droits et vos intérêts, en comptant sur votre solidarité si elle devait être très prochainement sollicitée.

 

Communiqué par les syndicats ALEBA, OGBL-SBA et LCGB-SESF

Luxembourg, le 20 février 2018