NORDEA, a social tragedy in the making?

On Thursday, 25 January 2018, employees at the Swedish bank NORDEA were hit by the news of an unfolding social tragedy

Without warning, management announced that a part of the bank’s activities, including private banking and the back office, would shortly be transferred to UBS Luxembourg. This transfer was said to affect 150 people.

ALEBA is the major union at the bank, and its employee representatives and Coordination Service were immediately mobilised and present on the ground following this dreadful news.

On Friday, 26 January, ALEBA held meetings with the employee representatives, then with the Labour and Mines Inspectorate (ITM) and management, and finally with the Joint Works Council.

On Monday, 29 January, a second Joint Works Council meeting was called, with management, employee representatives and all ALEBA and OGBL unions. In fact it appears that 200 employees will not be taken over by UBS Luxembourg, and that NORDEA does not currently envisage a rescue package for these employees.

So today, these employees have no assurances whatsoever as to their future.

Today ALEBA’s priority is to reassure everyone, guaranteeing an on-site presence and substantial means to identify the most favourable solutions for employees via constructive social dialogue with the various parties.

In concrete terms, ALEBA is organising a plenary meeting to be held at the earliest opportunity for all of the bank’s personnel. In the meantime, employees can contact ALEBA’s Coordination Service by telephone (+352 671 223 203) or email (alessandra.giuliano@aleba.lu).

NORDEA, drame social en perspective ?

Le jeudi 25 janvier dernier un vent de drame social s’abat sur les salariés de la banque suédoise NORDEA. Sans prévenir, la Direction leur annonce en effet qu’une partie des activités de la banque, dont le Private Banking et le Back-Office, s’apprête à être transférée à UBS Luxembourg. Ce transfert concernerait 150 personnes.

Les Représentants du Personnel ALEBA, majoritaires au sein de la Banque, ainsi que l’équipe Coordination de l’ALEBA se sont directement mobilisés et étaient de suite sur le terrain suite à cette annonce terrible.

Le vendredi 26 janvier, l’ALEBA a tenu des entrevues avec la Délégation du Personnel, puis avec l’ITM et la Direction, et enfin avec le Comité Mixte d’Entreprise.

Le lundi 29 janvier, un second Comité Mixte d’Entreprise était au programme, avec la Direction, la Délégation du personnel et tous les syndicats ALEBA et OGBL. Finalement, il semble apparaitre que 200 salariés ne seront pas repris par UBS Luxembourg, et que la banque NORDEA n’envisage pas actuellement de plan de sauvetage pour ces salariés.

Les salariés sont donc aujourd’hui dans une incertitude totale quant à leur avenir. La priorité de l’ALEBA est aujourd’hui de rassurer chacun, en garantissant une présence sur place, et des moyens importants pour identifier les solutions les plus favorables pour les salariés au travers un dialogue social constructif avec les différentes parties.

Concrètement, l’ALEBA est occupée à organiser, dans les meilleurs délais, une assemblée plénière de tout le personnel de la Banque. En attendant, le service Coordination de l’ALEBA se tient à la disposition des salariés soit par téléphone (+352 671 223 203), soit par e-mail (alessandra.giuliano@aleba.lu).