ALEBA united with the employees of the financial sector in the Czech Republic

ALEBA has been informed on Wednesday, 15th November 2017, from the trade union UNI europa that the Trade Union of Banking and Insurance Employees in the Czech Republic is currently facing some challenges with the negotiations of the new Collective Labour Agreement.

Roberto Scolati, President of ALEBA : “Of course, we support our Czech colleagues in their fight against employers who oppose social dialogue.” 

November 14, 2017 – Press release from the trade union OSPPP 

Are the banking and insurance sectors facing yet another crisis? In what condition are the health insurance companies? Why do employers not want to conclude a sectorial collective agreement?

The annual earnings of bank and insurance companies´ employees have been falling, which is why the trade unions are seeking redress!

Prague, November 14, 2017 – The Board of Trade Union of Banking and Insurance Employees decided to announce a strike alert across the banking, insurance and health insurance sectors.

Fourteen months of collective bargaining were long enough to make a deal. Employers were not willing to engage in constructive negotiations, focusing only on rejecting trade unions’ proposals for changes to the sectoral level collective agreement. This agreement had been prolonged for over 20 years with small variations. Given the dynamic of the development of new technologies and the situation in the labour market, trade unions are proposing changes that would help to stabilize personnel in this sector.

For the last two years, the financial sector has been experiencing a very high turnover of employees resulting in experienced staff leaving the sector. The main reasons are the disproportionately high pressure on performance and the ever increasing amount and pace of work. There are requirements for upgrading of qualification without providing leave for study. The financial sector is, according to Mobbing Free Institute, the fourth worst performing sector in the Czech Republic in terms of mobbing and bossing. The sector also faces the highest gender pay gap of over 40% to the detriment of women. Employees criticize the corporate culture and leave the sector in bulk, which is then reflected in the quality of client service, especially at the level of branches. Every day, businesses in this sector are in demand of more than 700 employees. In spite of this, companies have rising profits, which is at the expense of overburdened employees.

Employers’ representatives have no real interest in making beneficial changes in the sectoral collective agreement. The companies´ management has a vague idea of how the dialogue takes place at this level.

The Trade Union of Banking and Insurance Employees calls for a constructive social dialogue at all levels leading to the conclusion of the sectoral collective bargaining agreement. This should include measures for the stabilisation of personnel by the managers, investing in employee training and raising wages to match the profits or real business conditions.

Indeed are the mother companies faring  so badly that they will allow such an approach in our country? Do the shareholders really not care about their investments? This situation is not sustainable. What kind of mother companies does this concern? Erste, Société Générale, KBC, Unicredit, Vienna Insurance Group, Societe Beaujon (Axa), Generali.

If you have any questions, please contact the Head of OSPPP Union directly.

Bc. František Hupka
Telefon: +420 602 217 016
E-mail: hupka.frantisek@cmkos.cz

 

Trade Union of Banking and Insurance Employees | www.osppp.cz

L’ALEBA solidaire avec les salariés du secteur financier de la République tchèque

L’ALEBA a été informée mercredi 15 novembre 2017 à travers le syndicat UNI europa que le Syndicat des employés des banques et des assurances de la République tchèque (OSPPP) rencontre actuellement des difficultés dans les négociations de la nouvelle convention collective de travail.

Roberto Scolati, Président de l’ALEBA : « Nous soutenons bien entendu nos collègues tchèques dans cette lutte contre les employeurs qui refusent tout dialogue social. »

Communiqué de presse du syndicat OSPPP du 14 novembre 2017

Une nouvelle crise est-elle en train de s’annoncer pour les secteurs de la banque et des assurances ? En quel état les compagnies d’assurance-maladie se trouvent-elles ? Pourquoi les employeurs refusent-ils de conclure une convention collective sectorielle ?

Les revenus annuels des employés des banques et des compagnies d’assurance baissent : c’est pourquoi les syndicats cherchent à corriger le tir !

Prague, le 14 novembre 2017 – Le Conseil du Syndicat des employés des banques et des assurances vient d’annoncer un préavis de grève dans l’ensemble des secteurs de la banque, des assurances et des assurances-maladie.

Quatorze mois de négociations collectives, c’est assez long pour conclure un accord. Les employeurs ont refusé de s’engager dans des négociations constructives en se contentant de rejeter les propositions syndicales visant à modifier la convention collective sectorielle. Cette convention existe depuis plus de 20 ans et a été prorogée à plusieurs reprises avec des variations mineures. Vu la vitesse du progrès des nouvelles technologies et la situation du marché du travail, les syndicats proposent des changements qui aideraient à stabiliser le personnel dans ce secteur.

Depuis deux ans, le secteur financier connaît un taux de rotation des employés très élevé qui entraîne le départ de personnel chevronné. Cette situation s’explique surtout par les pressions disproportionnées exercées en vue d’augmenter les résultats ainsi que par l’accroissement constant du volume et du rythme de travail. Des exigences sont imposées afin de relever les qualifications sans offrir de congés d’études. Selon Mobbing Free Institute, le secteur financier arrive en quatrième position des secteurs ayant les moins bons résultats de la République tchèque sur le plan du mobbing et du harcèlement. C’est aussi le secteur où le différentiel salarial est le plus élevé, puisque les femmes y sont désavantagées à raison de plus de 40%. Les employés critiquent la culture d’entreprise et quittent ce secteur en masse, ce qui se répercute sur la qualité des services à la clientèle, surtout au niveau des succursales. Chaque jour, les entreprises du secteur sont à la recherche de plus de 700 employés. Malgré cela, les entreprises accroissent leurs bénéfices au détriment de leurs employés surchargés de travail.

Les représentants des employeurs n’ont pas d’intérêt véritable à améliorer la convention collective sectorielle. La direction des entreprises n’a qu’une vague idée de la manière dont le dialogue se déroule à ce niveau.

Le Syndicat des employés des banques et des assurances en appelle à un dialogue social constructif à tous les niveaux, aboutissant à la conclusion d’une convention collective sectorielle. Celle-ci devrait comporter des mesures à prendre par les cadres pour stabiliser le personnel, des investissements dans la formation des employés et des hausses de salaires afin que ceux-ci correspondent aux bénéfices ou à la réalité des conditions commerciales.

Les maisons mères s’en sortent-elles si mal qu’elles autorisent une telle approche dans notre pays ? Les actionnaires ne se soucient-ils vraiment pas de leurs investissements ? Cette situation ne peut pas durer. De quelles maisons mères parlons-nous ? Erste, Société Générale, KBC, Unicredit, Vienna Insurance Group, Société Beaujon (Axa), Generali.

Pour toute question, n’hésitez pas à contacter directement le responsable du syndicat OSPPP.

Bc. František Hupka
Téléphone : +420 602 217 016
E-mail : hupka.frantisek@cmkos.cz

Trade Union of Banking and Insurance Employees | www.osppp.cz