ALEBA reassures married non-resident taxpayers

Last week, ALEBA initiated discussions with the Luxembourg tax authorities (Administration des Contributions Directes – ACD) in order to obtain an extension of the deadline of 31 October 2017 to allow married non-resident taxpayers (employees or pensioners) enough time to adequately respond to the ACD’s letter. ALEBA also reminded the ACD that many taxpayers had not yet received the said letter!

After several exchanges, the ACD has finally confirmed to ALEBA that every request will be taken into account, even if submitted after 31 October 2017.

ALEBA welcomes the authorities’ flexibility on this issue, and now invites taxpayers to visit to request the setting of a rate. ALEBA recommends responding to the ACD in every case, failing which tax class 1 will apply by default.

For its part, the ACD has indicated that requests submitted via the website will be given priority treatment, and that a confirmation email will be sent from the website to the taxpayer if the request was properly submitted (conversely, the ACD will not send confirmation of receipt of requests sent by post).

Pressrelease of the 26th October 2017


Press contacts:

Laurent Mertz, Secretary General ( 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy ( 671 223 228)

L’ALEBA rassure les contribuables mariés non-résidents

La semaine dernière, l’ALEBA avait entamé des démarches auprès de l’Administration des Contributions Directes (ACD) afin d’obtenir une prolongation du délai du 31 octobre 2017, de manière à ce que les contribuables mariés non-résidents (salariés ou pensionnés) disposent du temps nécessaire pour répondre adéquatement au courrier de l’ACD. L’ALEBA rappelait également à l’ACD que de nombreux contribuables n’avaient à ce jour toujours pas encore reçu ledit courrier !

Après plusieurs échanges, l’ACD vient finalement de confirmer à l’ALEBA que toute demande sera prise en considération, même si elle est déposée après le 31 octobre 2017.

L’ALEBA se réjouit de l’ouverture d’esprit de l’Administration sur ce dossier, et invite désormais les contribuables à se rendre sur guichet.lu pour demander l’établissement d’un taux. L’ALEBA conseille, dans tous les cas, de répondre à l’ACD, sans quoi la classe d’impôt 1 sera par défaut appliquée !

De son côté, l’ACD rappelle que les demandes introduites via le site guichet.lu sont traitées en priorité, et qu’un courriel de confirmation est envoyé via ce site au demandeur lorsque sa demande a été valablement déposée (à l’inverse, l’ACD n’envoie pas de confirmation de réception pour les dossiers reçus par voie postale).

 

Communiqué de presse du 26 octobre 2017

 

Contacts presse :

Laurent Mertz, Secrétaire Général (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)