Banque Hapoalim Luxembourg announces the loss of around 30 jobs: negotiation of a social plan

ALEBA has been invited to participate in negotiations on a social plan that could affect around 30 jobs. An initial meeting with management of the Israeli bank takes place tomorrow, Wednesday 29 November.

Based on our information it appears that the Board of Directors of the Israel-based group decided in September to cease all private banking activities in Switzerland and Luxembourg.

The group’s two entities with a presence in Luxembourg, i.e. Bank Hapoalim (Switzerland) Ltd, Luxembourg Branch and Banque Hapoalim (Luxembourg) S.A., are affected by this decision and around 30 employees out of a current workforce of 45 are at risk of losing their job. These employees have contributed to the Bank’s success in the Luxembourg financial marketplace, in some cases for decades.

This is the fifth social plan ALEBA has negotiated since the start of 2017 and 169 employees have been made redundant. The leading trade union in the financial sector regrets this sad record for 2017 – the main victims of which are, of course, the employees.

 

Press release of the 28th November 2017. 

Press contacts:

Laurent Mertz, Secretary General (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)

La Banque Hapoalim Luxembourg annonce la suppression d’une trentaine emplois : négociation d’un plan social

L’ALEBA a été invitée à participer aux négociations d’un plan social qui pourrait impacter une trentaine d’emplois. La première réunion avec la direction de la banque israélienne a lieu demain, mercredi 29 novembre.

D’après nos informations, il semble que le Conseil d’Administration du groupe basé en Israël ait décidé en septembre dernier de cesser tous les activités de private banking en Suisse et au Luxembourg.

Les deux entités du groupe présentes au Luxembourg, c-à-d Bank Hapoalim (Switzerland) Ltd, Luxembourg Branch et Banque Hapoalim (Luxembourg) S.A., sont impactées par cette décision et une trentaine de salariés sur les 45 actuels risquent de perdre leur emploi. Ces salariés ont, pour certains, contribué à la prospérité de la Banque sur la place financière luxembourgeoise depuis des décennies.

Depuis début 2017, c’est le cinquième plan social que l’ALEBA négocie et 169 salariés ont été licenciés. Le premier syndicat du secteur financier regrette ce triste bilan de 2017, dont les premières victimes sont bien sûr les salariés.

 

Communiqué de presse du 28 novembre 2017. 

Contacts presse :

Laurent Mertz, Secrétaire Général (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)