TULLETT PREBON Luxembourg: ALEBA refers the case to the Office National de Conciliation

On 6 October, the social partners met the Management of Tullett Prebon Luxembourg (brokerage firm) in connection with Tullett Prebon London’s planned closure of its Luxembourg offices. “The objective was to initiate discussions on establishing a social plan, but in the end the Tullett Prebon representatives attended only three of the eight planned meetings, which is not acceptable and demonstrates the firm’s lack of interest in the fate of its employees”, said ALEBA’s Félix Walisch.

“Accordingly, with the support of the firm’s employees, we had no choice but to refer the case to the Office National de Conciliation. The first meeting was held on Monday, 6 November”, he added.

The main, fully justified demand of the 14 employees, their representatives and ALEBA is that the social plan should reflect the current market conditions in Luxembourg, and the needs of the 14 employees who have become the victims of this strategic decision by Tullett Prebon London.

ALEBA’s key demands include, in particular, a realistic training budget that is sufficient to enable the 14 employees in question to remain competitive on the labour market and/or to facilitate their professional retraining, but also severance pay based on their age and length of service, with the possibility to convert this compensation into an extended notice period. “Moreover, many employees have worked for the firm for a significant length of time, in some cases as many as 30 years”, explained Félix Walisch.

A second meeting is due to be held on 14 November before the conciliator, and a third is scheduled for Tuesday, 21 November. ALEBA’s aim is to find a rapid solution for these 14 employees, so that they are in no way financially shortchanged and can reposition themselves for new job opportunities as quickly as possible.

Tullett Prebon Luxembourg still had around 40 employees in 2012, “but it is now clear that the constant pressure being placed by the Management on employees for the past few months to accept pay cuts to “save” their jobs and the Luxembourg offices of Tullett Prebon would have achieved nothing”, acknowledged Félix Walisch with regret, adding that the company now has only 14 employees.

 

Press contacts:

Laurent Mertz, Secretary General (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com/+352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu/+352 671 223 228)

 

Contacts for the Tullett Prebon case:

Alessandra Giuliano, Head of Coordination (Alessandra.GIULIANO@aleba.lu/+352 223 228 304)

Felix Walisch, Coordination (felix.walisch@aleba.lu/+352 223 228 1)

TULLETT PREBON Luxembourg: Die ALEBA ruft das Office National de Conciliation an!

Am 6. Oktober haben sich die Sozialpartner mit der Firmenleitung von Tullett Prebon Luxembourg (Trading-Unternehmen) im Zusammenhang der von Tullett Prebon London angekündigten Schließung der Büros in Luxemburg getroffen. „Ziel war es, eine Diskussion über die Aufstellung eines Sozialplans in Gang zu bringen, doch letztendlich erschienen die Vertreter von Tullett Prebon nur an 3 von 8 avisierten Treffen, was inakzeptabel ist und ihr fehlendes Interesse am Schicksal ihrer Arbeitnehmer verdeutlicht!“, erklärt Félix Walisch von der ALEBA.

„Wir haben nun keine andere Wahl, als – mit Unterstützung der Arbeitnehmer – die nationale Schlichtungsstelle, das Office National de Conciliation anzurufen. Das erste Treffen dort fand am Montag, 6. November, statt“, fügt er hinzu.

Die wichtigste und legitime Forderung der 14 Mitarbeiter, ihrer Vertreter und der ALEBA ist, dass der Sozialplan den derzeitigen und realen Gegebenheiten des Finanzplatzes sowie den Bedürfnissen der 14 Mitarbeiter betrifft, die Opfer dieser strategischen Entscheidung von Tullett Prebon London sind.

Ein realistisches und ausreichendes Weiterbildungsbudget, das es den 14 betroffenen Arbeitnehmern ermöglicht, auf dem Arbeitsmarkt wettbewerbsfähig zu bleiben und/oder ihre berufliche Umorientierung erlaubt, aber auch eine dem Alter und der Betriebszugehörigkeit entsprechende Abfindung, verbunden mit der Möglichkeit, diese Abfindung in eine verlängerte Kündigungsfrist umzuwandeln, sind unverzichtbare Forderungen der ALEBA. „Viele der Arbeitnehmer haben übrigens eine lange Betriebszugehörigkeit, die manchmal bei 30 Jahren liegt“, präzisiert Félix Walisch.

Ein zweites Treffen war für den 14. November vor der Schlichtungsstelle ONC anberaumt, eine dritte folgte am Dienstag, 21. November. Ziel der ALEBA ist es, schnell eine Lösung für die 14 betroffenen Arbeitnehmer zu finden, damit sie auf keinen Fall finanziell zu kurz kommen und sich so schnell wie möglich auf dem Arbeitsmarkt umsehen können.

Zur Erinnerung: Tullett Prebon Luxembourg zählte noch im Jahr 2012 an die vierzig Mitarbeiter, « doch seit mehreren Monaten wurde seitens der Firmenleitung Druck auf die Arbeitnehmer ausgeübt, damit sie Lohnkürzungen in Kauf nehmen, um ihre Jobs und den luxemburgischen Standort von Tullett Prebon zu ‚retten‘, doch heute sieht man, dass dies zu nichts geführt hätte“, bedauert Félix Walisch und fügt hinzu, dass das Unternehmen heute nur noch 14 Beschäftigte zählt.

 

Pressekontakte:

Laurent Mertz, Generalsekretär (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)

Hinsichtlich des Falls Tullett Prebon:

Alessandra Giuliano, Head of Coordination (Alessandra.GIULIANO@aleba.lu / +352 223 228 304)

Felix Walisch, Koordination (felix.walisch@aleba.lu / +352 223 228 1